We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extraordinaire”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Urubamba
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 30, 2007

We (family of 5) spent 2 nights in August... It is an extraordinary memory. The bungalow was superb, restaurant delicious, spa excellent and mountainbike activities in the local area (loved Chinchero) with Moises and our patient driver unique and sensational !

One of the best souvenir of our stay in Sacred Valley.

Worth 5 stars!!!!! We definitely recommend this lovely hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank CAWED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,454)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,209 - 1,215 of 1,454 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2007

My wife and I recently returned from an 8 day trip to Peru. Except for a 2 night stay at Sol Y Luna, we stayed at all three of the Orient Express Hotels (Miraflores Park, Monasterio & Sanctuary Lodge). Sol Y Luna is easily at the same standard of these five star hotels.

We travelled on our own, and were not a part of a group. We prearranged to have a guide take us to Ollantaytumbo, Pisac and the salt mines. I highly recommend those side trips. However, I also highly recommend structuring your visit so that you have at least one day to just chill out at Sol Y Luna and read, go horseback riding or spend time in the spa. My wife had a facial and massage in their spa and loved both treatments.

The grounds are stunningly beautiful. The cottages are perfect. We stayed in a suite which was nice because it had a loft from which we watched movies at night. The restaurant is fabulous!

I can't wait to go back.

dan
long beach, ca

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank dlowen7861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2007

We stayed in the family bungalow for 4 nights which was perfect for our family of 5. The property is an oasis in an otherwise unremarkable and strikingly poor area. Covered with flowers, the bungalows pop out of the garden like silos. For us, there were three beds on an upstairs level and a large king size bed on the ground floor. The accommodations were stylish, warm and modern. Our only grips were the relative lack of lighting and closet space and the tepid “hot” water in our particular bungalow. Wireless internet which we find essential in our travels was inconsistent in our room but available at a common area. I don’t know if accommodations for a family of five can otherwise be any more ideal for the cost. There is little activity at night which would be of interest to a tourist in Urubamba so we found ourselves spending quite a bit of time in the grounds and took many of our meals at the very nice but pricey hotel restaurant in spite of the available restaurants a short cab ride away. The variety at breakfast will please most anyone but can become tiresome at the end of a longer stay.

  • Stayed: November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank 5fortravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2007

We stayed there two days and one night.
Rooms, food and Spa were good. The stay could have been fantastic if we weren't had a trouble with the invonce.
Before to pay, when we checked the invoice, we discovered that meal and drink prices were not the same as those displayed on the menu.
As they didn't want to apply the correct prices, we asked for the complaint book. They told us there were no complaint book but we could write the complaint in the visitor guests book (amazing!).
Try to avoid to stay here: you will not have defense if something went wrong.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank JGBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Sol y Luna 3 days and 2 nights...what a beautiful experience. The mountains, valleys, people, and weather ... words cannot express how wonderful our stay was at the Sol y Luna. Moises and Louis were the best tour guides ever. Thanks so much for the trip of a lifetime!
Jim and Jolene Johnson, Russell, PA USA

Stayed: September 2007
Thank RN-Realtor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2007

We stayed at Sol Y Luna three days and two nights. This is truly the most spiritual place I've ever visited. The hotel gardens were beautiful and the honey-scent of sweat pea followed us as we made our way around the grounds. Petite, Moises, and Felix were the most hospitable, gracious hosts ever. The hotel staff welcomed us like family. The horseback riding cannot be missed and the food was divine. I highly recommend scheduling a bbq at the ranch complete the theatrical performances by local artists. I can't rest until I find a way to return to Sol Y Luna.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TobaccoFreeMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2007

We LOVED Sol y Luna.

The grounds were beautiful and charming. The food was great and the service was stellar.

We liked it so much when we were placed by our agent in a different hotel on our return from Machu Picchu through the Sacred Valley - we paid extra to move back to Sol y Luna.

Like a magical village in a magical land. I often imagine myself back there. Our favorite place in all of Peru.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank DCPAgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urubamba
1.2 mi away
Tambo del Inka, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Valle Sagrado
1.2 mi away
Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado
Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado
#2 of 29 in Urubamba
793 reviews
4.2 mi away
Casa Andina Premium Valle Sagrado Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Aranwa Sacred Valley Hotel & Wellness
18.4 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
6.3 mi away
Explora Valle Sagrado
Explora Valle Sagrado
#1 of 29 in Urubamba
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux

Address: Fundo Huincho Lote A-5, Urubamba 069, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Urubamba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Urubamba
#2 Business Hotel in Urubamba
#3 Romantic Hotel in Urubamba
#4 Spa Hotel in Urubamba
#4 Luxury Hotel in Urubamba
Price Range: $187 - $760 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our unique property is an intimate 43-casitas hotel within 328,000 square feet of beautiful gardens surrounded by archaeological attractions, and many opportunities of outdoor activities.We have 15 high end luxury casitas like that one which have private terraces and plunge pools overlooking the gardens. They all have an entry porch, foyer, living room and are equipped with heating floor system and fireplace.All the decoration of the casitas is based on the art work of renowned Peruvian artists such as Jaime Leibane and the beautiful frescoed murals by acclaimed artist, Federico Bauer which makes them all really special and unique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol And Luna Lodge & Spa
Sol & Luna Hotel Urubamba
Sol Luna Urubamba
Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux Peru/Urubamba, Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing