We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay and very helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sacred Dreams Lodge
Ranked #11 of 26 Hotels in Urubamba
Certificate of Excellence
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent stay and very helpful staff”
Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

The first impression as we came to the Lodge was the beautiful surrounding area with trees and flowers and a well which purls through the garden. Especially because we were in the mountains before and saw only grass and stones for days.
As we got into our Lodge it was very beautiful and individually styled. We had the Lodge with the fireplace which can be seen from the living room as well as from bedroom. The whole Lodge was very cosy and had a nice view into the beautiful garden and to the surrounding mountains.
Also the restaurant is good and Barbecues can be done at the fireplace in the garden.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. Especially the hotel manager Marck Rojas rescued our holiday as we had some troubles with a Peruvian travel agency. Many thanks again for your help!

To put it in a nutshell we had a very good time in the Lodge and hope to be able to come back soon.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Denis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    33
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
49
77
9
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed July 23, 2014

My girlfriend and I arrived at Sacred Dreams Lodge on the third leg of our trip and spent an incredible 3 days and 2 nights at the lodge. We had spent 2 nights in Cusco, 2 nights in Aguas Calientes, and had just arrived after a day stop in Ollantaytambo. Upon arrival, Marc and Lizette welcomed us and helped us with our bags up to our gorgeous room, complete with bedroom area and living area which was separated by a beautiful fireplace. The room had a large and modern bathroom and shower area off the bedroom, and the living room space provided a panoramic view of the surrounding mountains and scenery from our hill top suite. After making sure we were happy with the room, Marc and Lizette started a blazing fire for us and let us get settled. We were instantly blown away with how nice the lodge and our room was, and how friendly and eager to help Marc and Lizette were.

The lodge has a large restaurant and bar off of the main building, and after settling in we ventured down to find Marc and Lizette had started a fire in the lounge area of the bar and we enjoyed a few drinks and a great meal. We highly recommend both the Quinoa Soup and the Chicken Soup for a warm appetizer, and the Chicken dish for a main course - all of them were excellent. Throughout dinner, we spoke with Marc about our plans for the next day to do a day trip to Pisaq to see the ruins there, and he kindly arranged for us to have a taxi waiting in the morning to take us from the lodge to Pisaq, wait for us while we were exploring the ruins, and then drive us back to the lodge afterward. He also offered to take us on a hike up one of the nearby mountains one morning if we were interested, and we gladly agreed to head up our last morning at the lodge.

After a good nights sleep in our comfortable bed, we ventured off to Pisaq. After a long but amazing day there, we returned to the lodge that evening and cleaned up for the barbecue the lodge was putting on that night. We enjoyed some drinks around the fire near the barbecue pit and then everyone staying at the lodge met up in the restaurant / bar for dinner. The food, once again, was fantastic.

Our final morning we got up early with a small group and Marc and Lizette brought us all on a hike up one of the mountains which provided some spectacular views of Urubamba, and if you go far enough, a great view of the lodge below. In no hurry to leave after the hike, and after remarking that we wished we could stay longer, Marc told us there was no rush for us to check out. We returned to our room for a nap and a fire, and then afterwards packed up our stuff and headed down to the restaurant for a quick lunch and drinks out on the patio, before sadly having to leave for Cusco. Marc again arranged for our transportation, which was always reliable.

The entire time we were at the lodge, we were struck by not only the beauty and serenity of the place, but by how friendly and accommodating Marc, Lizette and the rest of the staff were - they truly couldn't do enough for us and made sure we were always comfortable and happy. While some other reviews have mentioned the location being away from the Urubamba core as a negative, we thought the exact opposite in the sense that it allows you to really get away from it all and relax in a gorgeous setting, surrounded by mountains and great people. This was far and away our favorite place we stayed in during our trip, and wouldn't hesitate for a second to go back - we would just stay longer next time! If you're going to be traveling in the area, do yourself a favour and stay at Sacred Dreams Lodge.

Thanks Marc, Lizette and all the staff, for an incredible experience!

Room Tip: The additional cost of a suite is more than worth it - you won't be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KSimpson14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014

I was in touch with the Lodge staff from way before our arrival, coordinating transportation and picking the right room for our group of 6.
Lizette set up transportation for us (Señor Valerio) from the airport in Cuzco to the hotel. Valerio was there on time, picked us up and drove us promptly to the hotel, where we arrived after making a short stop at a restaurant in Ollantaytambo for dinner.
Marcos, the manager, and Lizette greeted us upon arrival and, before we knew, our luggage was already in our villa. Check-in took no more than 5 minutes.
THE VILLA
We were a group of 6 (4 adults and 2 teenagers), so we stayed at a 3-bedroom villa (1 room was not internally connected to the other 2, but it was in the same building). Three full bathrooms, a fully equipped kitchen and a fireplace in the living room. Everything was clean and, even though the hot water in the shower was a bit unreliable at times, it was nice to HAVE hot water. The main bedroom bed was very comfortable and it was nice to wake up every morning contemplating the beautiful view from the balcony.

THE RESTAURANT
Breakfast was included and I must say that it was a good breakfast! Fresh fruit, fresh juice, bread, eggs to order and great coffee... what else can you ask for! There were always a couple of local dishes for breakfast, which you should try for the experience.
We had dinner twice at the hotel restaurant and we really enjoyed it. But what was the highlight of the week was the pizza night. They have an outside oven which was used to make pizzas that night. We all (a total of 10 people) sat by the fire pit drinking wine while pizzas were being prepared by the hotel staff. A night to be remembered.

The lodge is beautiful and there a lots of places for tours in the area. Lizette was a great help when I was trying to figure out how to get to Machu Picchu. She provided all the information, from how to get the tickets to MP to how to book our train ride to Aguas Calientes.

This trip was one of my wife's dreams and, with the help and the outstanding service provided by Marcos, Lizette and the rest of the staff, I was able to make her dream a reality. THANKS A LOT!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlvaroLuis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

I loved the lodge and location and staff were lovely...food was great. Just average for service as power was out both afternoons that i was there which made it very dark and cold in rooms and impossible to shower and no explanation was given either time...so I dont know if this is usual or not. Also 1 driver organised by the lodge to take me around was not good...rushing me and unable to communicate with me and on 2 occasions did not have change for me the first time i left as a tip but not the second as he was expensive and as mentioned verging on rude and did not get me to all places i needed to see...however next driver next day was much better. On my last morning they prepared a lunch box without my asking as i would miss breakfast and they personally drove me to the train station which was lovely of them. Overall i loved it...service is personal though not always standard to match the pricing of the lodge. I also understand the drivers are not part of the lodge....however they organise them so it is in their best interest to make sure the driver understands where and what the tourist wants to do. My favourite meal was the quinoa soup and cerviche was prepared fresh.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank heleymarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quindio Department, Colombia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We stayed there for 2 nights after doing all the touristic things in Cusco and Valle Sagrado. The staff was really nice, we arrived one day earlier just to drop our luggage as we were going to Machu Picchu, but they already had our room ready so they let us go in and take a shower and relax before going to the train station in Ollantaytambo. The next day we arrived in the hotel after MP to take our booking and the room was clean again, they didn't charge an additional night nor early checkin. Thplace is not ver y big but away from the highway and noise. We loved that peaceful place. Food we think is too overpriced, we understand they charge a lot for some food that might be difficult to find in the area or that is off season but for food that is available such as fish, which they get from a piscigranja 5 minutes away, charging so much we think is not ok. The flavor of the food was not that good either, they use too much pepper, I love spicy food but too much pepper will only hurt your throat and make you sneeze. Room was great, with a fireplace and warm.

Room Tip: Large suites have a nice fireplace but are on the first floow, I believe rooms on second floors have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoseCarlosVadlivia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2014

My family and I spent one much needed night at the Sacred Dreams Lodge a couple of weeks ago. We were exhausted from our travels when we arrived, and only spent one night at Sacred Dreams, but we loved it and were rejuvenated when we left. The grounds and buildings were beautiful, the lodges fit naturally into the landscape, with beautiful plants, and a nearby stream. The staff was also extremely welcoming. Marck, the Manager, made sure that we were settled in comfortably into our lodge, with a fire in our fireplace. The meals were also excellent. I wish we had more time to spend here. I think that the Lodge would be a great place to have a large extended family gathering.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2014

We stayed sacred valley resort for 6 nights. While urubamba is a rather run down this is an oasis at the bottom of the mountains. The lodge is clean, well kept, and Marco and the three gals that run it were pleasant, and very accommodating. The breakfast was awesome. Fresh fruit, eggs, bread, cereal if you wanted. The dinners were fresh made and the dinner area is lodge like, great wood flooring ,ceilings, and a fireplace. It's a great place to stay and is is close proximity to machu pichu. I would suggest this area over cusco as it is lower elevation and easier to deal with the lack of oxygen than cusco. Great service, great rooms, great price! Thanks Marco , and the three gals!
Drew

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Drew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Urubamba hotels
2.2 mi away
Tambo del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
1.1 mi away
Inti Nan Hotel
Inti Nan Hotel
#5 of 26 in Urubamba
5.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Aranwa Sacred Valley Hotel & Wellness
3.9 mi away
Casa Andina Premium Valle Sagrado
1.3 mi away
Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado
Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado
#2 of 26 in Urubamba
5.0 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sacred Dreams Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sacred Dreams Lodge

Property: Sacred Dreams Lodge
Address: Tacllancca-Pumahuanca, Urubamba 08661, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Urubamba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 26 Hotels in Urubamba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sacred Dreams Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sacred Dreams is a unique lodge built in the magical Peru’s Sacred Valley using the natural resources from this generous land to provide you with the highest comfort but always maintaining respect to the local customs and harmony with the environment. We are strategically located in the heart of the Valley. Just ten minutes away from all the facilities of Urubamba’s downtown and close to all the famous Inka’s archeological sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Sacred Dreams Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sacred Dreams Lodge Peru/Urubamba, Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing