We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great rest, staff very helpful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sacred Dreams Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sacred Dreams Lodge
Ranked #12 of 25 Hotels in Urubamba
Certificate of Excellence
Quindio Department, Colombia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great rest, staff very helpful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

We stayed there for 2 nights after doing all the touristic things in Cusco and Valle Sagrado. The staff was really nice, we arrived one day earlier just to drop our luggage as we were going to Machu Picchu, but they already had our room ready so they let us go in and take a shower and relax before going to the train station in Ollantaytambo. The next day we arrived in the hotel after MP to take our booking and the room was clean again, they didn't charge an additional night nor early checkin. Thplace is not ver y big but away from the highway and noise. We loved that peaceful place. Food we think is too overpriced, we understand they charge a lot for some food that might be difficult to find in the area or that is off season but for food that is available such as fish, which they get from a piscigranja 5 minutes away, charging so much we think is not ok. The flavor of the food was not that good either, they use too much pepper, I love spicy food but too much pepper will only hurt your throat and make you sneeze. Room was great, with a fireplace and warm.

Room Tip: Large suites have a nice fireplace but are on the first floow, I believe rooms on second floors have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoseCarlosVadlivia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    31
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
46
75
9
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

My family and I spent one much needed night at the Sacred Dreams Lodge a couple of weeks ago. We were exhausted from our travels when we arrived, and only spent one night at Sacred Dreams, but we loved it and were rejuvenated when we left. The grounds and buildings were beautiful, the lodges fit naturally into the landscape, with beautiful plants, and a nearby stream. The staff was also extremely welcoming. Marck, the Manager, made sure that we were settled in comfortably into our lodge, with a fire in our fireplace. The meals were also excellent. I wish we had more time to spend here. I think that the Lodge would be a great place to have a large extended family gathering.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

We stayed sacred valley resort for 6 nights. While urubamba is a rather run down this is an oasis at the bottom of the mountains. The lodge is clean, well kept, and Marco and the three gals that run it were pleasant, and very accommodating. The breakfast was awesome. Fresh fruit, eggs, bread, cereal if you wanted. The dinners were fresh made and the dinner area is lodge like, great wood flooring ,ceilings, and a fireplace. It's a great place to stay and is is close proximity to machu pichu. I would suggest this area over cusco as it is lower elevation and easier to deal with the lack of oxygen than cusco. Great service, great rooms, great price! Thanks Marco , and the three gals!
Drew

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Drew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, California
Level Contributor
91 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

I am so torn that I'm given this 4 instead of 5. I wish I could really given it 4.5.

The lodge itself is amazing! The entire lodge is beautifully built from locally resourced products. The wood is from the eucalyptus trees on the property, the bricks from the mud, and the decor from local handicrafts. The lodge is very tastefully decorated! The grounds and gardens are gorgeous.

There's a game room. They are working on building a spa.

I only spent one night here after the Inca hike but wish I could have stayed longer. It would be a perfect place to just come relax for a few days if you're looking for a relaxing retreat.

The staff is so nice and helpful! It's a very small place with only max capacity for about 25 and so they limited staff do everything from help out at the front desk to work in the kitchen. It really felt like a family run business.

The only reason I couldn't give this 5 stars because it is very secluded which is good and bad. Great because it provided beautiful scenery. Bad because there's nothing around and its difficult to get to town- 10-15 min down a dirt road. You'd need to have them call you a taxi to get out to town. In addition, you'd have to probably eat alot of your meals at the lodge. The food was good but limited menu and pricey. American prices for sure- beers were $4, soups/salads $8-10, entrees $15-25.

That being said though, I'd still recommend this place. The grounds and lodge itself were just so gorgeous that I felt like I was in a some celebrity's summer home. If you're looking for a hidden retreat to relax, this place would be great!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

Sacred Dreams Lodge is very delightful surprise. Coming through a countryside with fields of corn, small huts and narrow streets then rushing streams. The hotel is set backing a mountain, with separate wooden cabins and a main lodge. Stone paths lead up to the cabins with a profusion of flowers everywhere, with small lights leading the way. The staff is very eager to please and carry your luggage up the cabins which you will appreciate given the elevation. The rooms are different in that some have hot tubs, or small kitchens. The sheets are high count cotton and beds comfortable. Modern bathrooms, wood burning fireplaces in each room. The food is delicious, the only con being a little slow, but you are there to relax so why worry. Overall very enjoyable.

Room Tip: All rooms are very good, but closer to the lodge you would hear rushing streams all night. No gym bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

The story of this lodge starts out with a woman, a Stanford graduate who took to heart President Kennedy's request to go out there and change the world. So she joined the Peace Corps and went to Urubamba. She meets a man and ends up staying in Peru. One of her children grows up and has a dream to build a lodge that was slated to be this hidden retreat. Everything that was used to build this lodge was locally sourced.

We had the honor of meeting this fellow Bay Area woman (she now helps out with the gardening for the lodge). It's such an amazing story - I just had to share!

After hiking the Inca Trail and seeing Machu Picchu, we had plans to stay just one night here. I have to admit, we initially regretted not just continuing on the train to head back to Cusco where there was a warm bed and hot showers and we could move on to the next destination. Once we disembarked the train, we were picked up as planned and had a long drive through what appeared to be a tiny town which appeared slightly sketchy. I admit, I was a little afraid. However, once we arrived, all was right. The view of the stars against the Andean mountains was amazing. We were warmly greeted by the staff and their German Shepherd (Jacinto). I was looking forward to a soak in the jacuzzi, but we were informed that it would take a few hours to fill up and warm the tub. No matter, a hot shower was just as good. After washing up, we headed straight to the restaurant where we recounted memories on the Inca Trail. Our orders did take longer than expected, but there was only a few staff to take care of the six of our orders. I'm pretty sure we had the place all to ourselves. It was amazingly beautiful and serene here.

Now on to the rooms. The six of us stayed in a place with a common area. Bedroom 1 was accessed through the door which also led to the kitchen and common area with a fireplace. Bedroom 2 was accessed through another door and also had an extra single bed and looked down upon the common area below. Bedroom 3 was accessed through another door and had an upstairs balcony that was above the balcony of Bedroom 1. The beds were spacious. There were space heaters in case we got cold. There were hot showers at all hours. My only complaint was that our bathroom did not drain very well. Oh and the bugs (there's lots of them here) which is of course to be expected in this hidden retreat.

For breakfast, they honored our requests for a fried egg (it's the little things that matter)! They also had fresh fruits, yogurt with granola or quinoa pop, deli meat and cheese, and bread. They had fresh juice, coffee, and tea.

I wish we could have stayed in this hidden paradise a little longer. The staff was amazing! We even took a picture with them before we left. Although our stay was short, thank you for welcoming us into this hidden paradise! Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nutstarr02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, NH
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

We stayed just 1 night at this beautiful lodge to acclimate prior to hiking the Inca Trail. The grounds are truly beautiful with impressive stonework and gardens carved out of the side of the mountain. Our room was spacious and clean and the bed and linens are top quality. There was only 1 other couple that night so it was pretty quiet as it was the low season. Brian was very friendly and helpful.

We hired a taxi from the airport but I would recommend having Brian send a car. The taxi driver made many stops and phone calls in order to find the lodge. It is really off the beaten path!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Khabig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Urubamba hotels
1.1 mi away
Inti Nan Hotel
Inti Nan Hotel
#5 of 25 in Urubamba
5.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux
2.3 mi away
Tambo del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Aranwa Sacred Valley Hotel & Wellness
2.2 mi away
Casa Andina Private Collection Valle Sagrado
1.8 mi away
Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado
Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado
#1 of 25 in Urubamba
5.0 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sacred Dreams Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sacred Dreams Lodge

Property: Sacred Dreams Lodge
Address: Tacllancca-Pumahuanca, Urubamba 08661, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Urubamba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 25 Hotels in Urubamba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sacred Dreams Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sacred Dreams is a unique lodge built in the magical Peru’s Sacred Valley using the natural resources from this generous land to provide you with the highest comfort but always maintaining respect to the local customs and harmony with the environment. We are strategically located in the heart of the Valley. Just ten minutes away from all the facilities of Urubamba’s downtown and close to all the famous Inka’s archeological sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Sacred Dreams Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sacred Dreams Lodge Peru/Urubamba, Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing