We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Much More Than You Expect!!”
Review of Willka T'ika

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Urubamba
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Willka T'ika
Ranked #11 of 26 Hotels in Urubamba
Certificate of Excellence
Grosse Pointe Farms, Michigan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“So Much More Than You Expect!!”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

The beautiful place IS completely magical! The grounds the FLOWERS the wonderful food and the people who live and work there as well as the people that will arrive to share your Magical Journey in this amazing country will all be more then you hoped for. This is a very authentic place. Carol Cumes is and original adventure woman. She and her staff and advisors have created this retreat for your spiritual growth. Go enjoy this beautiful special place.

Room Tip: All rooms are very comfortable and nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CheriCarl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markhe1, Owner at Willka T'ika, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Thank you .
Marita, it was a pleasure to have you as a guest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
24
32
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stellenbosch, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Although I travelled solo to Willka T'ika I met up with a group of people on a magical journey. Carol seems to be able to collect the most wonderful and caring people around her as staff, healers and the best tour guide to make this a life changing experience. Highly recommended. This experience will restore your faith in humanity.

Room Tip: all the rooms are fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marita_Nell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Lakes, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Returning for my third visit to Willka T'ika in the Scared Valley of Peru is statement enough that I find the place fantastic. It is a tranquil oasis, a vegetarian's delight, a traveler's respite, a seeker's solace. Carol Cumes has created a unique place to revitalize one's spirit. The staff could not be more accommodating. The day trips to the surrounding areas and to Machu Picchu in particular are all part of the enjoyment. A visit to one of the schools Carol sponsors is an experience to savour. Perhaps you'll want to return over and over, as I do.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carolyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

My wife and I recently returned from our first visit to Peru. We began our trip with the idea of visiting Machu Picchu as the headline of the itinerary with the added goal of learning something about the local culture and history. Based on recommendations of some friends we chose to make our trip with an organized tour called “The Magical Journey to Machu Picchu” guided by Carol Cumes. This trip included time at the Willka T’ika resort as a home base. The resort is operated by Carol Cumes and Mark Hennessy.

Machu Picchu was miraculous but we have to admit that other aspects of the trip were equally great. We visited many Inca ruins/sites in the Sacred Valley and each had its own interest. The visits were enhanced beyond just site-seeing by the knowledge and perspectives shared with us by our guides. We had the chance to visit a remote mountain school supported by Willka Ti’ka were we interacted with the children and teachers – it was very special! We spent time in the cities of Cusco and Aguas Calientes exploring sites, enjoying the culture, shopping and tasting new foods – accommodations at city hotels were good.

The Willka Ti’ka resort is beautiful. The facilities, the views, the staff and the food are all first class. It is a place open to whatever you want to get out of it, with lots of opportunity to relax, explore, socialize and learn. The gardens that have been created on the grounds are full of meaning and spirituality, they are equally beautiful to relax in or wander through. While at the resort we participated in local ceremonies, we took solar baths and enjoyed yoga sessions with a very talented instructor. We are not vegetarians, but we loved the all vegetarian meals served at Willka Ti’ka – the food was diverse, tasty, and obviously prepared with great care.

We would summarize this trip as a very unique balance of learning, relaxation and fun – made possible by the experience and professional nature of our guides and the one-of-a-kind Willka Ti’ka resort.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rich V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, NM
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Thanks for the wonderful accomodations, we loved this place even more then we dreamed. Four of us fun-loving women from ND spent several nights there. The staff was accomodating and friendly and were flexible to our needs. They opened the gift shop when we wanted it open when it was not their regular hours. We made several requests and they were all met. The water bottle in our bed at night was just the best. The gardens were so beautiful and peaceful. We took many pictures including a little tour through the entire garden using a GoPro, a camera that you wear on your head to take it all in.

Room Tip: Choose this place, you will never regret it. We had rooms near the computer room and we had wi-fi se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fagerham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lago Vista, Texas
1 review
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We recently visited Willka Tika for a 10 day Magical Journey. I was drawn to this trip through an ad in Yoga Journal. It included my 3 loves: yoga, gardens, and a school. I just knew it was the trip of a lifetime for me. The room was superb, large and airy, and the view of the gardens from the room was spectacular. The vegetarian meals were purely delicious. The staff was caring and met every need. We especially loved the hot water bottle lovingly placed under our covers each night. It would be impossible to say what I liked the most, each day was filled with wonderful adventures. Yoga, gardens, visiting a school, and daily trips to archaeological sites... a dream come true. Next time, I'll stay longer.

Room Tip: We paid extra for the upgraded room. It was well worth it. All the rooms were lovely, but, this on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We have just returned from our 2nd visit to Willka T'ika in two years. My son and I visited Willka T'ika in 2010 and I just had to go back and take my husband so he could experience this paradise.
It is the most wonderul place to spend a few days after trekking around the Sacred Valley and Macchu Pichu. Carol Cumes has created an oasis in the Sacred Valley. The food is incredibile, the staff are fanstastic and the rooms and the gardens are unbelieveable. It is perfectly located which makes it an ideal base to visit all the sites in the Sacred Valley and return "home" at night to a delicious meal, followed by a solar bath under the stars. Absolute bliss. The Chakra gardens and just amazing.
Willka T'ika is the place to stay if you are visiing Macchu Pichu and the Sacred Valley

Room Tip: all the rooms are superb, the one thing we appreciated was that every detail in the room was attende...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joburger985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Urubamba hotels
1.7 mi away
Tambo del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux
0.3 mi away
Inti Nan Hotel
Inti Nan Hotel
#6 of 26 in Urubamba
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Aranwa Sacred Valley Hotel & Wellness
0.2 mi away
Villa Urubamba Sacred Valley
0.6 mi away
Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado
Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado
#1 of 26 in Urubamba
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Willka T'ika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willka T'ika

Property: Willka T'ika
Address: Paradero Rumichaka 2 km | Sacred Valley, Urubamba 08660, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Urubamba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Urubamba
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Willka T'ika is a luxury wellness retreat and boutique hotel, located in Peru's Sacred Valley between Cusco and Machu Picchu. Ancient Inkan ruins, ceremonial sites and temples, & an abundance of cultural activities are nearby. Hikers can explore winding rivers, charming villages and high mountain meadows where llama and alpaca graze. Guest packages include organic gourmet vegetarian cuisine, Andean spa services, authentic Andean rituals, & guided adventures to Inkan sites. Willka T'ika is home to the renowned Chakra Gardens, filled with exotic plants and native Andean medicinal plants, that are designed to correspond to the seven chakras of the human body. The gardens are ideal for meditation and reflection in the energies of nature. Set within the gardens are two magnificent fully-equipped, state-of-the-art yoga studios. Willka T'ika is environmentally conscious and is professionally staffed by dedicated local Quechua. The non-profit Willka T'ika Children's Fund supports the local children of several schools in remote mountain villages, providing facilities and wonderful education. Advance reservations required with two-night minimum stay. Guests are further welcome to join scheduled Magical Journey or Essential Wellness Retreats throughout the year that are led by various retreat leaders; and group leaders are invited to book exceptional fully-inclusive retreat programs for their guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Willka T'Ika Peru/Urubamba, Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing