We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful grounds but horrible experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Hacienda del Valle
Ranked #6 of 25 Hotels in Urubamba
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful grounds but horrible experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed there a few weeks ago. Beautiful grounds - no doubt. Idyllic!

However, no hot water the next day. Waited 6 hours for repair - never came.

Toilet started backing up. Called them. Repair never came. Had to show them pictures of the tub full of gross green water for them to give us a new room.

Dinner was horrible - 3 waiters slaving away.

This hotel needs new management. It has so much potential.

You cannot treat your guests this way - not acceptable.

Some photos for you!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike8989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    142
    36
    17
    8
See reviews for
98
186
29
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed one night. Unfortunately, we got to the hotel late after the sun had gone down and our room was probably the furthest from the reception. The service was decent. The room was large but it was freezing and they only have a portable heater, which helped very little. The internet connection is poor, if not non-existent. The grounds are lovely but we did not have time to enjoy it. Even then, once you leave the hotel grounds, there is absolutely nothing to do as it is so far from anything else.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BBGSinMarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyoto, Japan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Very far from town..over a ridiculously AWFUL road.."we are trying to do something about it"..a bunch of BALONEY..Speaking of baloney, don't bother eating in the restaurant for dinner (the only thing within 30 minutes) since the food is below par and you have to beg for service..The three waiters spent the entire time staring at the computer screen..guess it beats waiting on tables!
Breakfast was above average..probably since I was so hungry after the prvious night's dinner! Everything is on the fritz..especially the three computers in their computer room..can' tell if they charge for this since they were all broken..I wasted a lot of valuable time trying to get them to work and taking to the front desk which insisted "they all work fine"..since it's "hotel policy" that everything works..again BALONEY. The hot water dispenser never gave out hot water even afte we begged them to "fix" it..unless you like very lukewarm tea! The taxi they arranged for me! They made me pay them directly and of course, overcharged me by about double..again, "hotel policy". Then at check out, they tried to charge me 10% more for using VISA, by manipulating the exchange rate..the ONLY hotel that tried to do this to me in three months in South America. After making an issue of it, the declared simply, "hotel policy"..so I asked them if it was hotel policy to rip off guests!? They just looked at me with their stupid grin! They also tried to charge me several dollars just to place a local call. I told them to forget it!
The good things..the hotel room is GREAT..very large..almost luxurious...great bathroom..veranda surrounded by beautiful flowers/gardens..but I felt like a prisoner in a botanical garden! They were very helpful in delivering my luggage since my room was a long way from the front desk. We booked on-line with a general booking agency and got a TERRIFIC price..just 25% of their rack rate..Their regular rate is about what a rip-off hotel would charge in the US...you could spend almost a week in Cusco at a hotel like "Pacha Museo" instead of paying their rack rate. If you had gotten the same greatly discounted rate, we would have spent 2 nights..we are truly thankful that they were FULL the second night and we had to go to Ollantan, which is where we should have stayed in the first place. I stayed here because I thought they had a great valley view..which they didn't..but the gardens/flowers were truly impressive. Just sorry that staff are on site..not that they do any "work" there..guess it's "HOTEL POLICY"

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jinbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paul_palacios, Gerente at Hotel Hacienda del Valle, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
españolfrancésinglésgood Afternoon
Sorry to hear that your stay at our hotel was not the best but I'd like to explain a few points:
The Sacred Valley of Peru is located in the Peruvian Andes, is composed by numerous rivers which descend through canyons and valleys why the entry is not paved, yet admission to our hotel is the best in the area.

On the attention of our waiter, I have knowledge that his orders were pending entering the why you command were concentrated on the computer to make your bill.
We have a high level of occupancy of National and foreign tourists which make archaeological monuments tours in the morning and return in the evening did not see why guests.
We have never received complaints about our food. Always freshly prepared.
Similarly our bussines center is fully operational.
I do not understand the reason for your comments but I think it is based on truth
regards
Zendy Manzaneda Cipriani
MKTG MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

The reviews on this site are pretty accurate. The good things about this hotel are the grounds and the rooms. It's like being in a resort on a few acres of land and lots of beautiful flora. It seemed that there was construction of new houses which somewhat dampened the beauty but that wasn't the weird part. The weird thing is that they were building more rooms when the major problem seemed to be that no one was staying at this place. We were there for two nights and it felt totally abandoned. There was nothing to do except sit around; the wifi barely worked even in the lobby; the computers did not work at all. The on site restaurant was pretty awful and out of all desserts. most everything was reheated in a microwave and tasted like a bad version of a Peruvian Denny's. The breakfast was the best but still rather basic fare. Unfortunately, however, it's nearly impossible to get out of the hotel to go anywhere else to eat. On one night there it was clear that the other folks had figured out to leave for dinner b/c we were the only ones in the restaurant. Also - the bar NEVER opened. We asked when it opened and it was advertised as being open - but it NEVER opened. I don't even drink and would have killed to have had some liquor to knock myself out. We managed to arrange a taxi for a day trip to Pisac. It was agreed that it would be 150 soles round trip. We got in the taxi and asked to be taken to the top of the Pisac ruins and were charged an extra 60 soles - that was somewhat reasonable though it seemed overpriced. However - after hiking the ruins and shopping in the market at Pisac and returning to the taxi, he stopped at the bottom of the 2 km hill up to the hotel and refused to take us any further. He did not explain why but refused to acknowledge that the agreement for 150 soles included a trip back to the hotel. Some phone call was made and he eventually took us up after we refused to pay and threatened to walk the rest of the way. I only blame the hotel because they arranged the transportation and the payment with the taxi driver. I can imagine that if the hotel provided shuttle runs to the nearby (10 minute drive) town of Urubamba or ANY entertainment (a pool or hot tub) or decent food or alcohol on the grounds that this could be a more pleasant place to stay but as it was we were dying to get out as soon as possible. I would not recommend this hotel - you are far better off staying in urubamba at a place with a palatable restaurant and the ability to leave if only for a walk around town.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed one night at this hotel and I wish I would have had the opportunity to spend more time. The hotel is just beautiful with birds and flowers. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. We also enjoyed the restaurant where we had dinner and breakfast. I would definitely recommend staying there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naturetravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paul_palacios, Director of Sales at Hotel Hacienda del Valle, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Natureta,

Thank you for your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

7 of us stayed in this hotel in a tour organised by Intrepid. It was very average and we wouldn't have stayed here by choice. Staff weren't particularly helpful. We were virtually the only ones staying but had to battle to get them to serve us beers before the bar officially opened at 7pm. The rooms weren't bad. the evening meal was good but breakfast was appalling, inadequate and inedible.
The grounds, gardens and setting were beautiful and well kept however.
I think there are probably better options than this hotel.

Room Tip: All room locations seemed quite good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robbieinhighbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iquitos
Level Contributor
105 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

What a wonderful hotel in the middle of nowhere! Taking the trails till the hotel is a real adventure, but when you arrive it's luxury in a quiet environment. Everything is clean and the service is really perfect.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CedricG_69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paul_palacios, Director of Sales at Hotel Hacienda del Valle, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Cedric,

Thank your for your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Urubamba hotels
3.8 mi away
Inti Nan Hotel
Inti Nan Hotel
#5 of 25 in Urubamba
5.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
5.2 mi away
Tambo del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
Casa Andina Premium Valle Sagrado
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Aranwa Sacred Valley Hotel & Wellness
4.0 mi away
Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux
5.9 mi away
San Agustin Urubamba Hotel
San Agustin Urubamba Hotel
#15 of 25 in Urubamba
3.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hacienda del Valle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hacienda del Valle

Property: Hotel Hacienda del Valle
Address: Sector Pucara s/n Yanahuara, Urubamba 84, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Urubamba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Urubamba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Hacienda del Valle 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family hotel chain with operations in 2 of the most important tourism destinies of Peru. One of our locations is Puno where it is Titicaca Lake (the highest navigable lake in the world) and the other one is in the Sacred Valley in Cuzco. Our hotel in Cuzco it's located in Yanahuara between Urubamba and Ollantaytambo city. The first one is the main city of the sacred valley and in the other one is located the biggest train station to go to Machu Picchu's ruins. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Hacienda del Valle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hacienda Del Valle Peru/Urubamba, Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing