We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay Elsewhere! Management Is Dishonest and Abusive!”
Review of Eco Andina Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Urubamba
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Eco Andina Hotel
Ranked #27 of 29 Hotels in Urubamba
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We recently had an awful stay at Eco Andina. The hotel ran out of hot water repeatedly, the amenities are wildly overpriced, the managers lied to us repeatedly about their willingness to accept credit card payments, and -- worst of all -- we witnessed them turn away other guests with confirmed reservations because the management had overbooked the hotel! Can you imagine showing up in the Sacred Valley believing you had a hotel room to sleep in, but then being turned out into the night? In our case, the managers repeatedly claimed that their credit card machine was "temporarily" broken, and insisted that every guest pay in dollars. When it became clear that some guests were not carrying enough dollars, and the ATMs in town were out of cash, the managers refused to take a credit card imprint that they could process when the system was supposedly fixed. Instead, they threatened to call the police unless we and at least 6 other guests begged to borrow money from acquaintances in the same tour group! It was truly abominable. There were other minor annoyances, like the moment the hotel restaurant ran out of bread even though there were only about 10 people in the whole dining room. But it was Eco Andina's abusive attitude on payment issues and incompetent overbooking that really demonstrated the mismanagement of this place. There are lots of other beautiful places in the Sacred Valley, why risk it – stay elsewhere!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank haiku42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (25)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 25 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

Worst experience in Peru to date. Expensive, marginal facility and terrible service. Don't eat there and don't believe them when they say their credit card machine won't work...they are lying...just don't want to take card.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MDitto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

We went here on an Overseas Adventure Travel trip in December 2012. The 15 of us were the only guests. Despite the fact that we were all on the same wake up/dining schedule, we didn't experience any problems with hot water or noise as some other reviews suggested. Wifi was fine in 2nd floor rooms, but not so much in first floor rooms. Very comfortable, large rooms with garden views. Nice buffet breakfast with eggs, cereal fresh fruit good coffee. Wine could be bought at the bar and it ws reasonable priced. No safes or phones or TV in rooms, but there is a safe in the reception area. Hair dryer In bathroom, attached to wall.

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms are probably quieter as you won't have someone walking above you. Wifi is bette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

The hotel has very unique rooms with beautifull gardens and view. excellent food. tranquility and good service.near sacred valley and macupichu. special local food.The decoration and furnitures are speial. very recomended to stay and have rest.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reliwitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We spent two nights at the Eco Andina hotel in late April as part of an Overseas Adventure Travel tour to Machu Picchu and the Galapagos. The hotel is in a somewhat remote location, but its setting is very pleasant and relaxing - gardens abound among its various buildings. The hotel restaurant is nice, as is its lobby. Our room was spacious and well furnished, but be aware that there is no heat provided -- just warm blankets.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ColumbiaTrekkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I recently stayed at the Eco Andina with my family and friends for 3 nights. Since it was July, which is considered one of the coldest winter months in Peru, we definitely felt the winter chill at night. Though there's no heat in the rooms, they do provide extra alpaca blankets and if you really need a heater, they'll stick a portable heater in the room for you.

There was no vent in the bathroom, which got very steamy after a hot shower. I tried to open the bathroom window to let out some of the steam but instead I let in a few mosquitoes and a very large spider. The windows stayed closed for the rest of the trip.

The food was good and the service in the dining room was wonderful. The same waiter will be with you for breakfast, lunch, and dinner.

One nice thing about the hotel is that they try to go out of their way for their guests. My husband had a bad head cold and decided to stay put one day while the rest of us went sightseeing. They brought him food and checked in on him to make sure he was okay. Also, when the maid saw that we had hung up our laundry to dry in the bathroom, she took it upon herself to take our laundry outside and dry it on some bushes, which is where they dry some of their linens. Our laundry dried in half the time! Of course, she didn't tell my husband she was doing this, so he did go out searching for the laundry, but was happy to find it out back.

All-in-all, it was a nice stay at the Eco Andina, however I prefer certain luxuries that they didn't have, which is why I likened it to "glamping," (i.e. Glamorous Camping). For instance, I didn't bring a blow dryer so I borrowed the one in the room. After a few minutes on the high setting, the blow dryer blew a fuse and I had to make do with a wet head. The staff more than make up for it.

Room Tip: There are multiple buildings you can stay in, each with 2 floors. If you have a lot of luggage or h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyGoLuckyNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Set in lovely gardens this is an extrememly pleasant place to stay. The owner Liz is a wonderful host and advocate for the experiences her country provides. She sources all provisions locally, supporting local farmers and suppliers.
Rooms are large, quiet and well furnished (no tv). Staff are superb, we even had brollies brought over to us by staff when a shower made our route to dinner wet. The chief waiter is just outstanding.
A lovely place to come back to after a day in the Sacred valley with the Incas.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heathraven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Urubamba hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Hatun Valley
Hotel Hatun Valley
#22 of 29 in Urubamba
35 reviews
0 mi away
Ecoandina Hotel
Ecoandina Hotel
#26 of 29 in Urubamba
4 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Hacienda del Valle
Hotel Hacienda del Valle
#8 of 29 in Urubamba
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Tierra Viva Valle Sagrado Urubamba
0 mi away
Hotel Mabey Urubamba
Hotel Mabey Urubamba
#18 of 29 in Urubamba
168 reviews
0 mi away
Villa Urubamba Sacred Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eco Andina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eco Andina Hotel

Address: Sector Rumichaka s/n, Urubamba 08471, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Urubamba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 29 Hotels in Urubamba
Price Range: $70 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Eco Andina Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eco Andina Hotel located in the Sacred Valley of the Incas has 50 standard rooms and 4 suites Andean beautiful gardens and a eucalyptus forest that gives the magic and natural toke. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Eco Andina Hotel Peru/Urubamba, Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing