We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“neat to see him working”

Ceramicas Seminario
Ranked #1 of 3 Shopping in Urubamba
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Orange County, California
Level Contributor
232 reviews
137 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“neat to see him working”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

This is his studio and he is apparenlty often there working, including the day we visited. Very gracious and talented. He gave our group a nice short talk. If you have a short time to kill worth a visit, although there is not much else to do here that I could see. He had some very affordable souviners that they wrapped beautifully to take home, or they will ship larger pieces. You start by seeign a video than can walk around, see the studio and ladies painting and lastly shop. If you dont' like shopping. dont' worry it's not THAT much shopping.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank bubbles911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    49
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the tour and studio”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Our guide to Macchu Picchu and the Sacred Valley told us that while in Urubamba we should go to the Seminario. We had no idea what is was. We thought we were going into an old church. So to our surprise we rang the bell and entered this oasis of an art/ceramic studio and workshop. we got a tour of the workshop and a little history of ceramics. We met the artist in his studio, Paul Seminario. It was really fascinating to see him and his works. If you like art and are in the Sacred Valley, you should check it out. We ending up purchasing a few pieces, but there is no pressure and it's a great little tour.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank rubedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
120 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Loved the tour of the ceramics studio”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Tucked away on a beautiful street in Urubamba is this treasure. We were taken on a guided tour through the ceramics studio seeing all stages of production for the ceramics. At the end, we went through the shop and were able to purchase several beautiful pieces of pottery. This place reminded me of the rich guy's house in a no name town in "Romancing the Stone" who had the little mule (truck) called Pepe. Like his, the property is unassuming on the outside but is beautiful and expansive on the inside. Quite a treasure in the unassuming town of Urubamba.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gone2TheBeachPhoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baguio, Philippines
Level Contributor
118 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the workshop tour”
Reviewed April 24, 2012

We walked into the place from the main square of Urubamba. We were greeted when we came in their door and a guide toured us to the different steps of the ceramics production. A parrot and a monkey owl greeted us, too, on our way to the workshop. The guide was very fluent and explained to us how their products were made, complete with the actual workers doing their crafts. There were llamas and geese in their compound, too. At the end, you can buy their products in their shop. No entrance fees.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank noleaveswilltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
90 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Absolutely The Best!!”
Reviewed February 21, 2012

My wife & I were here on our trip to Peru last year and I never realized until just now that Senior Seminario’s ceramic studio was reviewed on “Trip Advisor”. Well as has been said “better late than never.

My wife and I were just wandering down Berriozabal Street in Urubamba and came upon this place. It looked so neat that we decided to go in. We were asked did we want to join a tour that was just starting, and we did. It is really one of the most interesting places we were in Urubamba.

The short tour took you around the entire complex showing you all the processes involved in the work through the 1st level and then to the 2nd floor to be shown the finishing work, AND THEM we got to meet the artist Senior Seminario!

After the short tour which was conducted by Senior Seminario’s daughter-in-law who was from the USA, we went down to the show rooms where Senior Seminario continued to explain his work. We then were left to browse the show rooms and if we chose to purchase things we were helped making selections. We found there was no pressure to buy anything and that they would even ship it back to your home if you chose to do that.

The whole building complex is wonderful. There are native trees around the courtyards, patriots in various trees and llamas in the central courtyard. The place was an entire package!

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ceramicas Seminario also viewed

 
Urubamba, Sacred Valley
Urubamba, Sacred Valley
 

Been to Ceramicas Seminario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing