We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely idyllic . Peace, beauty and comfort.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Urubamba
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Absolutely idyllic . Peace, beauty and comfort.”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

This hotel hidden behind an unimpressive wall opens into the most amazing and beautiful setting.
A wall of flowers leads you to a building set on a hillside overlooking the river as it meanders through the Sacred Valley.
A llama or alpaca may be seen grazing on the lush but well tended lawns. Deck chairs or a hammock strung between trees invite you to stop and watch the Torrent Ducks as they swim effortlessly against the flow.
The rooms are beautifully decorated to allow maximum light and blend into the landscape so cleverly covered in bushes and foliage. The mountains all around make this a majestic sight.
Our shower had a glass roof so it was just like having a shower in a mountain waterfall.
There is only one TV in the reception but if you want they will supply a DVD and screen to your room.
The restaurant was clean and the buffet breaks fast will meet all tastes. The dinner was excellent and the service first class.
We found this to be a first class place to stay and relak

Room Tip: We had a mountain view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hmlhhf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, General Manager at Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado, responded to this review, September 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing the Rio Sagrado Hotel and for sharing your experience with others.

We concur that our location is fantastic with stunning river views especially if you could enjoy them from your room. A must, should I say, is to overnight here for at least 2 nights.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Until then, we remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Patricia Pinillos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    654
    79
    19
    6
    3
See reviews for
153
430
20
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2014

The staff is very friendly and accommodating. But, as alluded to by the previous reviewer, the hotel will look for every opportunity to overcharge you. For example, we asked the front desk how much it would be for a ride to the airport in Cusco. They said it would cost $75 (through their own transport service). We had to press them further about how much it would cost to take a cab and found out that it was less than 100 soles. The driveway was being worked on the entire time we were there, so the taxi driver could not turn in. And the electricity went out the first night we were there. But what I found most annoying was how kid-friendly this place is. I was on vacation with my boyfriend and expected to have a quiet and relaxing stay. What I found was that this hotel caters to families and there were lots of small children that were right outside our room every day we were there, screaming and playing in the hammocks. The hammocks were located right outside our room, so we asked that they be moved. The staff moved them for one morning, but put them back up by the afternoon. So, for couples that are looking for a quiet place to relax, stay somewhere else. This is not that place.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Brett E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, General Manager at Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

I appreciate the time you took to post your comment in Tripadvisor. Comments like yours make us to improve our service.

I regret to learn your disappointment with the transportation rate from the hotel to Cusco Airport. The price of it, is on par with others similar hotels on this area. In addition, we provide this service through the best company in town, this are not our own transportation.

Despite that fact that we are open to welcome all Belmond guests, we hope that you had enjoy your stay with us.

Sincerely,

Patricia Pinillos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2014

The setting was lovely. The breakfast good. Dinner mediocre at best and slow. They cut off the water to our room when plumbers were fixing the plumbing in another room. When I asked the plumbers to turn it back on so I could shower, they answered that I could use it when they were done. I had to call the manager to complain, and then it was turned back on. This place is a work in progress. They were working on the driveway, so even the taxi drivers could not approach the hotel. It is in an isolated location, so they need activities there. But they charge multiples of what the charges are in town for renting a horse, and it is not their horse, they just organize it through someone in town. They charge a price for a family of four of $440/hour, and then you can only walk on the horse, no cantering or galloping. Same with kayaking and rafting --it is organized through someone in town and then they overcharge you for organizing it. They were never successful in organizing any activities for our family, so the only thing left to do is the spa (which is in fact lovely and reasonably priced). To grab a taxi from Ulluntaytamba costs 20 soles ($8). I asked them to organize a cab fro me to pick us up at the station and they said they would charge me $75 (ten times the actual price). Most good hotels provide the transfer service for free. Their staff really do not GET it when it comes to the quality of services expected of a top hotel. They charge top hotel prices, but the services are not to standard yet and yet they try to gouge clients with outrageous prices for additional services like taxis, horseback riding and rafting.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank krisliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, General Manager at Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comment with the Trip Advisor community. We would like to express our most sincere apologies for the incident that you experienced in our property, concerning our staff, I am very proud to say that most reviews that we get refers to our staff friendly and very professional.

Concerning the cut off water, please rest assured that we already took actions to avoid any similar incident. In addition, the transportation rate that you mentioned of $75.00 is from the hotel to the Cusco´s airport, 1 hour and a half ride, it is not to the Urubamba Town.
Regarding our activities, we work whit the best adventures companies at the area and prices are on par with others hotels of the same high category.

Definitely this is not the image we will like our customer to take home and we will do everything to avoid the recurrence of incidents of this nature in the future. We hope to be able to have the chance to welcoming you and your family back to demonstrate our high level of service that you were expected.

Sincerely,

Patricia Pinillos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2014

This was the perfect place to spend a few days upon arrival in the high Andes and before Machu Picchu! Such a lovely setting, the view from our balcony was just fabulous. Flowers everywhere, birds singing, the soft sounds of the Urubamba River...
Probably the best part was the kind and welcoming staff, who made sure we had everything we needed. Well run, beautiful food and setting.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank HappyTravellersTw0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, General Manager at Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for choosing Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado for your Machu Picchu pre stay.
We appreciate your kind comments about our property and staff. We work hard to exceed your expectations. This is the paradise, with the nature sound surrounding your room.

Thank you again for staying with us and we hope that you can come back to the Sacred Valley on the near future.

Sincerely,

Patricia Pinillos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2014

we recently stayed at the Rio Sagrado before our trip to Machu Picchu. This hotel is located in a very picturesque region with views of the Urubamba river running through it. The staff here are very helpful, and the food in the restaurant is outstanding. At the spa, they have an indoor and outdoor heated jacuzzi , and the steam bath is one of the best I have ever used. They scent the room with some sort of peruvian palm leaves----and following the steam bath, the cold Inca shower is an experience. In the mornings, you can pat any of 3 lovely Llamas they have on the property, and there are ofter 2-3 local Peruvian women selling their lovely local arts and crafts outside the reception area. I would consider going back to the sacred valley just to stay at this place again.

Room Tip: the higher the location of the rooms, the better the view of the Urubamba river
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drkblim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, General Manager at Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado.

Our goal is to offer you the very highest standard of comfort and service and you help us to achieve it with your comments. It is a pleasure to read about your feelings with the service of our staff and, obviously, your comments about the Mayu Wilka Spa that is well known for using in-house eucalyptus leaves at the steam room.

Please do not hesitate to contact me when your holidays bring you back to Cusco – Sacred Valley.

Cordially,

Patricia Pinillos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
2 reviews
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Everything was just perfect... great welcome, room, restuarant... Congratulations!!!
We went to the SPA and enjoyed the great treat of the personnel.
The place is gorgeous, they have beautiful garden and it is very convenient to visit the great surroundings.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jose Ignacio Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, General Manager at Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your post and for choosing Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado for your recent visit to the Sacred Valley in Cusco.

I am very glad that you enjoyed all our outlets, especially the calm garden surroundings.

Best regards,

Patricia Pinillos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayside, New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2014

It was the most amazing and peaceful hotel with all the luxury of beauty and comfort. My son and I had a garden terrace room which overlooked the amazing grounds, surrounded by beautiful mountains and in view of the churning Urubamba river. I would sit and stare each morning to breathe in all the natural elements in the midst of this hotel. The rooms were very comfortable and cozy. On a cool evening we returned after a long day and found a bed warmer under the sheets that just made my insides tingle. The staff also left us petite pastries that were totally decadent. In the morning my niece and I went to the Llama feeding and was able to give them a bottle. It was adorable. We sat and had a leisurely breakfast and was once again mesmerized by the natural beauty as we enjoyed fresh fruits and coffee. Later we went swimming in the infinity pool. It felt strangely surreal as we swam with all the natural elements surrounding us in this amazing valley. The staff was gracious and courteous and I would most definitely recommend visiting on your way to Machu Picchu. The only downside was the mountain bike trail my niece and her father took. It was a bit expensive and if not a experienced mountain biker it could be dangerous as they rolled down steep hills with boulders in their path.

Room Tip: The garden terraces are so lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helfish38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, General Manager at Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments with others in TripAdvisor.
It is a pleasure to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that our team has created memorable experiences for you.

Concerning the mountain bike tour, I regret to read that they rolled down since we all are aware that this is an adventure activity where we have to be very careful.

Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado will always be your home away from home.
Receive our greetings from this magical spot of the Sacred Valley of the Incas.

Patricia Pinillos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urubamba
2.3 mi away
Tambo del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux
19.2 mi away
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Aranwa Sacred Valley Hotel & Wellness
3.1 mi away
Casa Andina Premium Valle Sagrado Hotel & Villas
19.2 mi away
Belmond Palacio Nazarenas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado

Property: Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado
Address: | Km. 75. 8 Carretera Urubamba-Ollantaytambo, Urubamba, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Urubamba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Urubamba
#2 Luxury Hotel in Urubamba
#2 Spa Hotel in Urubamba
#3 Family Hotel in Urubamba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Sacred Valley of the Incas, among verdant fields and towering mountains, lies Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado. Set on the banks of the rushing Urubamba River, all rooms offer an incredible view. Situated at a lower altitude than nearby Cusco, the hotel provides the perfect environment in which to acclimatize. Enjoy nature and a range of activities available in order to slip into the spirit of Peruvian life. So relax in our spa and savour the very best of the local and international gastronomy in our hotel's restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Belmond, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado Peru/Urubamba, Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing