We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Urubamba
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Wow”
Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

This Hotel was a complete surprise. It is near the Ollantatambo ruins and located overlooking the Urubamba River. The rooms are in units and you are taken to them in a golf cart. The rooms are spacious with large windows giving the guests unobstructed views of the large front lawn and the river with the Andes rising up on all sides. The bathrooms have huge walk-in marble showers with glass ceilings and glass fronts with vegetation concealing you from prying eyes. The dinner and drink options in the restaurant are varied and excellent. I want to travel back just to stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathrynandTerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are pleased that your stay was memorable; and that both services and infrastructure of the Hotel have met or exceeded your expectations.

Best Regards,

Patricia Pinillos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    654
    79
    19
    6
    3
See reviews for
153
430
20
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire, UK
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 438 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Just one night here and we could have stayed longer. We were greeted by a member of staff with a golf buggy waiting for us by the roadside entrance and whisked down the road, as we turned the corner we were delighted to see the hotel in such a lovely location with gardens running down to the river.

Having first our welcome drink while checking in we were then given a tour of the grounds in the golf buggy on the way to our room.

The room was spacious, light and airy with large patio doors leading onto the balcony with two comfortable lounger chairs and a table, ideal for sundowners with a fantastic view.

The bedroom was tastefully furnished in the Peruvian style, comfy bed, chairs, desk/table, mini bar, tea/coffee making, electronic safe and good lighting. Very modern bathroom with separate toilet and bidet. The shower area was all glass and gave the feel of being outside although the shrubbery around it provided privacy as it overlooked the river. Plenty of towels, bathrobes and slippers provided. The underfloor heating in the bathroom was lovely.

Dinner was excellent and very reasonably priced. We loved the extra touches, complimentary amuse bouche and petit fours with the coffee. Service very good indeed.

Breakfast was very good and excellent attentive service as at dinner. Buffet selection was good with juices, cereals, fruits and bread/pastries etc. Cooked items to order off a menu.

Check out was speedy but note that if paying with a credit card charges are in USD. No problem for us. Yes there is building work going on but we did not notice it at all apart for on the way to breakfast. Certainly nothing can be heard in the rooms, lounge/bar or restaurant. The swimming pool is under construction so no swimming available but we noted that there were sunbeds by the river for those who wanted to relax in the sunshine.

This is a lovely small hotel and wouldn't hesitate to come here again and recommend it wholeheartedly. If peace and quiet after a day's sightseeing is what you are after then here is the place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mazza-500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your compliments. We will keep working on our service to deliver fantastic travel experiences and charm that will always prevail in our guests' memories.


Kind regards,

Patricia Pinillos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My 13 year old son and I stayed for 3 nights in March for our trip to Machu Pichu and Sacred Valley. The grounds are just incredibly beautiful, and the rooms with the private lanais are great. We especially loved the bathroom shower with the entire window of glass. Our first day, My son thought this was so amazing, he took 3 showers. Because this is an Orient Express hotel, amenities are fairly expensive, like massages, the restaurant, and hotel arranged taxis. However, the service is fantastic which in my opinion distinguishes a 4 star from a 5 star hotel. Valeria was wonderful, and arranged taxis for us. One night, I ordered take out pizza from a restaurant in town I had read about on trip adviser, and when I went up to the lobby to wait for it, Valeria actually called the restaurant to make sure they had my order right (she knew I didn't speak Spanish) and waited with me and made sure I had the correct change, etc. We had early morning tickets to MP and the hotel boxed up breakfasts for us to take it. My son had been sick the entire night before due to the altitude, and they brought an oxygen tank to the room for him ( helped him immensely- what helped even more is when we got to the lower elevations on our way to MP.). Upon our return, he needed it again (as did I) and Valeria followed up to make sure he didn't need a doctor. That night, we ordered room service because we both felt so sick, I had the chicken consommé and seriously, it was one of the top 10 things I have ever eaten in my life--it just hit the spot. The kitchen made plain egg noodles for my son, which he raved about. I have read other reviews here that the hotel is very spread out with a lot of stairs, and that is very true-it is also one of the reasons why it is so beautiful. By the end of our stay, I was huffing and puffing and had to rest on the stairs, but golf carts are available. As I said, taxis arranged through the hotel are expensive, but sometimes you have no other option (like coming from the airport). We arranged for a taxi from the hotel to Ollantaymbo one morning and he just dropped us off. We then found our own driver, and arranged scheduled pick ups after that from the hotel.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room here-they all seem beautiful. Maybe if you have mobility prob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate123215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for your complete review here on Trip Advisor.
We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards,

Patricia Pinillos
General Manage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

The Rio Sagrado is a very beautiful place to spend a couple of days. The grounds sloping down to the river are as pretty as we've ever seen. The staff will literally run to get something for you. The rooms are very comfortable, and oddly enough have the best lighting that we have every had in a hotel. The restaurant is very pleasant, food is great, service is very friendly.

We felt like we had been sandbagged a bit when we realized that half the place was under construction, including next door to us, but it really wasn't a problem. This is the kind of place that makes you smile.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomtx45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your compliments. We will keep working on our service to deliver fantastic travel experiences and charm that will always prevail in our guests' memories.

Once again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards,

Patricia Pinillos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Plus:
• Great location, very relaxing and in harmony with nature, close to the Urubamba river
• Very nice private houses, very well decorated and furnished
• They are building a pool
Minus:
• Poor service: although people are very nice and friendly (all around Peru) they are not prepared to high level standard of international luxury hospitality and they barely understand English. The last day we also had to wait 15 min at breakfast time for someone to show up (and we were tight with time schedule as we had to catch the train to Macchu Picchu)
• Poor food: I had a meal which was good (a sort of smashed corn with creamy cheese) and also a good dessert (hoover baked strawberries with thyme) but my boyfriend had sea bass which was cooked in such a bad way it was impossible to eat (there was fish water all around and the fish was smelling bad) and all other things we tried were not good.
• Double bed are very small compared to the size of the apartment we had.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TripNatureLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Peru.

Best regards

Patricia Pinillos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union City, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Lovely Resort, warmth, everyone is attentive to your needs, multiple entertainment options, the river view is beautiful, relaxing, definitely back my husband and I.
From the welcome reception and everything is wonderful, the ride on the golf cart, everything everything more than perfect, 100% recommended

Room Tip: Keep everything as this
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicole z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your compliments. We will keep working on our service to deliver fantastic travel experiences and charm that will always prevail in our guests' memories.

Once again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards,

Patricia Pinillos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level 6 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

This is a lovely hotel with fantastic staff. I must mention Tracy especially in that regard - lovely girl and so friendly and helpful.

Yes there are building works but they did not bother me at all. I really cannot see what all the fuss is about and I am very hard to please. The rooms are lovely and beautifully equipped. To me the point about the building works is if the hotel does not carry out maintenance, eventually the rooms fall below the standard that you expect for this quality of hotel.

The view from the hotel is awesome. I do not think that I have every had a better view. The grounds are vast and face the river. The restaurant was busy and had a really nice atmosphere.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 0n0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Guest:

We are pleased that your stay was memorable; and that both services and infrastructure of the Hotel have met or exceeded your expectations.

If you have any suggestion or comment, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Best Regards,


Patricia Pinillos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urubamba
2.3 mi away
Tambo del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux
19.2 mi away
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Aranwa Sacred Valley Hotel & Wellness
3.1 mi away
Casa Andina Premium Valle Sagrado Hotel & Villas
19.2 mi away
Belmond Palacio Nazarenas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado

Property: Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado
Address: | Km. 75. 8 Carretera Urubamba-Ollantaytambo, Urubamba, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Urubamba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Urubamba
#2 Spa Hotel in Urubamba
#2 Luxury Hotel in Urubamba
#3 Family Hotel in Urubamba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Sacred Valley of the Incas, among verdant fields and towering mountains, lies Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado. Set on the banks of the rushing Urubamba River, all rooms offer an incredible view. Situated at a lower altitude than nearby Cusco, the hotel provides the perfect environment in which to acclimatize. Enjoy nature and a range of activities available in order to slip into the spirit of Peruvian life. So relax in our spa and savour the very best of the local and international gastronomy in our hotel's restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Belmond, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado Peru/Urubamba, Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing