We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place, but.......”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Urubamba
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
116 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“A great place, but.......”
Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

The location is wonderful, the rooms are great, the food is fresh and inventive ( the hotel has its own vegetable garden), the staff is unbelievably kind and helpful, but...... The hotel is actually a building site, they are renovating half of the rooms and building a swimming pool. So I couldn't enjoy the spa the way I was supposed to, even if they had fixed a room into an occasional spa, the steam room and whirlpool were not accessible. The therapist is very very good though. With all these inconvenients, the management spoilt me with a free massage, and I mention it again, the staff is extremely kind. So, why Orient Express doesn't mention on the website that the hotel is actually in renovation, so clients would know that they are not getting 100% what they are looking for?
We are in February, they say that the renovation is going to be finished for the dry season! Check it out.

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Fpny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards,

Patricia Pinillos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    626
    75
    19
    6
    3
See reviews for
146
414
20
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two days during our recent trip to Peru. The room was beautiful, very comfortable bed, great bathroom with a shower (private) overlooking the incredible scenery. The grounds are beautiful, with a view of the (seasonally) raging Urubamba River, and the mountains beyond. With our binoculars, we could observe people making the "walk" up to the top of the mountain just beyond the river with their donkeys and loads of provisions. Amazing. The staff was helpful at all times. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MassTraveler85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Guest:

We are pleased that your stay was memorable; and that both services and infrastructure of the Hotel have met or exceeded your expectations.

If you have any suggestion or comment, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Best Regards,


Patricia Pinillos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed here in July 2012 for 2 nights at the start of our honeymoon. From the moment we arrived nothing was too much trouble for the Nigel staff. We had an upgrade on our room, which really was out of this world, with breathtaking views over the valley. The gardens were sublime to relax in, as was the spa / jacuzzi area. We ate in the grounds one lunchtime - a barbecue style lunch, which was delicious. The food was good, perhaps not up to the standard of the rest of the hotel, but definitely nothing to complain about. We would definitely recommend and wish we had stayed longer.

Room Tip: Make sure you tell the staff if you are on your honeymoon!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Guest:

It is a pleasure for us that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and know that all accomodations and services we offer have been achieved our main objective: Your satisfaction.

If you have any suggestion or comment, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Best Regards,

Patricia Pinillos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

What a treat if you go there . . . The scenery and ambience are absolutely wonderful but its the staff that makes the stay so worthwhile. Humble, yet funny. Spot on service without trying, accessible yet not there when you want serenity. Man, they understand service at rio sagrado!

Peru is a great place to visit and this was our last stop on a great trip. Mellow but vibrant at the same time. Can't really explain it, just take a chance and go visit. Patricia is the GM and she will make sure all is well. Try the cuy while there!

Room Tip: Go horse back riding and enjoy a dinner at huacatay
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theleiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, General Manager at Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Guest:

We are pleased that your stay was memorable; and that both services and infrastructure of the Hotel have met or exceeded your expectations.

If you have any suggestion or comment, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Best Regards,

Patricia Pinillos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandys Parish, Bermuda
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

The hotel is a perfect retreat, nestled among lush gardens next to rushing Urubamba river. Tall rocky and grassy mountains on the other side of the river envelope the property, creating a feeling of a hidden piece of paradise. We had a Junior Suite at the top of the property, its a stand alone unit with bedroom, living room and 1,5 bathroom. Just like all units in this hotel, all walls facing the river are floor-to-ceiling glass walls, even in the bathroom and shower. The view is beautiful, over the whole property and river and mountains. Two types of shades are available for any desired privacy: lighter day shades and thicker night shades. But the planning of the property is such that using shades is almost a psychological thing; the way units are situated makes it hardly possible for anyone (other guests or hotel staff) to sneak a peek into other units. We were there for the New Year and we were told that most of the hotel is occupied. But we hardly saw other people, except on New year celebration when everybody gathered together. We found that type of privacy very refreshing and relaxing!
Food is delicious and restaurant is very nice and open all days long. Amazing spa on the property features steam room where they use eucalyptus and some other branches for inhalation therapy, Inca shower for fans of pouring a bucket of cold water over oneselves (I love it!), indoor and outdoor jacuzzi, and really good massage therapists!
Any additional services in the hotel are very expensive compared to other hotels (laundry was 4 times more expensive than the next 5 star hotel we stayed in, for example). Taxi was $80 for a 30 min ride one way, 1 hour waiting for one and 30 min ride back. While we would probably pay less than $20 if we used local taxi. Also I exchanged some money on reception, but the lady said she did not have enough to give me, so she gave me what she had available and told me she would give me the rest later. I never saw that money again.
Other than that we totally loved this hotel! Would definitely come back one day :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Youralana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your compliments. We will keep working on our service to deliver fantastic travel experiences and charm that will always prevail in our guests' memories.

Once again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards,

Patricia Pinillos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in a beautiful casita overlooking the Urubamba River. Our room was huge with floor to ceiling windows/french doors that opened to a slate patio and beautiful grassy lawn that looked out over the river. We had a huge marble bathroom with a shower that had glass walls along the outside walls. This is a very quiet and peaceful place to stay along the river. The next day we decided to hike to the Maras salt mines and walked by a small village. The hike was strenuous so we enjoyed using the small spa. Food was very good and so were the pisco sours. I highly recommend this place to stay. Service was top notch!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldly2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Peru.

Best regards

Patricia Pinillos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
133 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed here one night but wished we would have booked them for at least two nights. It is an Orient Express establishement with gorgeous and spacious grounds a meandering river nearby. The staff were well trained and could not do enough for you. I used the spa jacuzzi which was free and was treated like royalty with tea, reading material, fruit. The area is surrounded by flowers. Near the river are some lounge chairs and an umbrella where you can sit and contemplate. The room looked out onto the beautiful grounds where llamas were eating the grass. It had every amenity including a rainfall shower with a glass wall to the outside covered by shrubbery. Our friends room had mosquitoes in the room which the staff proceeded to remove. They informed us that we should keep the door to the patio outside the room closed to prevent mosquitoes from entering the room. We ate at the restaurant that evening which was in another building with a wood fire out on the patio of the restaurant. The service was attentive and professional and the food was excellent. In the morning I looked out onto the mountains across from the river to see a balloon silently moving along the tree lines. This hotel was a highlight of our trip and we would clearly return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KUFBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, General Manager at Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Guest:

We are pleased that your stay was memorable; and that both services and infrastructure of the Hotel have met or exceeded your expectations.

If you have any suggestion or comment, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Best Regards,

Patricia Pinillos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urubamba
2.3 mi away
Tambo del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux
19.2 mi away
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Aranwa Sacred Valley Hotel & Wellness
3.1 mi away
Casa Andina Premium Valle Sagrado
0.9 mi away
Inti Nan Hotel
Inti Nan Hotel
#5 of 26 in Urubamba
5.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado

Property: Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado
Address: | Km. 75. 8 Carretera Urubamba-Ollantaytambo, Urubamba, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Urubamba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Urubamba
#2 Spa Hotel in Urubamba
#2 Luxury Hotel in Urubamba
#3 Family Hotel in Urubamba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Sacred Valley of the Incas, among verdant fields and towering mountains, lies Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado. Set on the banks of the rushing Urubamba River, all rooms offer an incredible view. Situated at a lower altitude than nearby Cusco, the hotel provides the perfect environment in which to acclimatize. Enjoy nature and a range of activities available in order to slip into the spirit of Peruvian life. So relax in our spa and savour the very best of the local and international gastronomy in our hotel's restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Belmond, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado Peru/Urubamba, Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing