We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding hotel with an incredible view....staff and rooms!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Urubamba
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 23, 2012

My wife and I just returned from spending two nights at the Rio Sagrado and can simply say it was one of the most beautiful hotels with outstanding food and service we have ever stayed at .....and we have traveled all over Europe and North America.

Nestled in one of the most beautiful spots overlooking the river, our room was beautifully appointed as were all the other rooms throughout the hotel.

We were very pleased with every aspect of our stay and highly commend Floris (the General Manager) for his excellent job in hiring and training an outstanding staff!

We highly recommend Rio Sagrado to anyone who wants to avoid the crowds in Cusco and stay at one of the finest hotels in Peru.

Room Tip: Junior Suites are larger than regular rooms and have spectacular views and private patios as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Randy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Dear RandyG
Thank you for contributing and for your recommendation.
I enjoyed meeting you and look forward to receiving you again with us.

Warm regards
Floris Boyen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (788)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

456 - 462 of 788 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2012

I have just spent three nights at Rio Sagrado in a Junior Suite overlooking the stunning river and it was just incredible. The staff were consistently delightful: attentive but not at all intrusive. I actually was quite ill with altitude sickness at first and I indulged in the spa with hot stone massages, salt exfoliations, acclimatizing head & shoulder massages, and a reflexology treatment. The masseurs had magic hands and the treatments were divine! When I mentioned I'd been sick the staff responded immediately and I found a tank of oxygen and a llama hot water bottle on my bed when I returned from the spa. The nightly turndown service is a nice extra. We had zero bugs and really I don't see how they could get in when there are screens to pull down. The shower was luxurious and the bath and body products were lovely. The meals were really tasty though my appetite wasn't really up to eating much so I missed out on the Friday evening BBQ and Pisco tasting :-( Everything was perfect. I've already said to my friend I absolutely will be back again!! Thank you!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leigh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Estimado Leigh M,
I do hope to have you back with us, any time.
As allways, these great reviews keep us going the extra mile to exceed and anticipate our guests needs, thank you!
Looking forward to meet during your next visit.

With best regards
Floris Boyen
Gerente General

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

The Hotel is located in a gorgeous valley along the Urubamba river with spectacular views. It is recommended to stay in the sacred valley to acclimatize before your tour in Cusco. We arrived at around 6pm and were swiftly checked in by the friendly staff. During our stay of 2 nights we noticed that this hotel stands out for 2 reasons - the fantastic service and the spectacular view. It has only 21 rooms so is very private and you can't help but feel like this is your own little heaven. We chose to stay in the Queen suites which are Junior suites with a private garden deck overlooking the valley and river. It was just lovely waking up and sitting in this patio sipping coca tea (good for altitude sickness). The whole design of the rooms and hotel premises are well thought out. (except the 2-3 flights of stairs you have to climb to get back to the rooms from the restaurant). There is however, a buggy that you can call if needs be. The rooms are modern and clean and very comfortable. The toilet has wonderful amenities. The spa has a jacuzzi and steam room which are free to use. The masseuse was professional. The food featuring local produce was very, very good! There is a starter made of corn which was recommended by the staff which was delicious. There are plenty of areas to relax overlooking the river, even a pair of hammocks for couples. I noticed some negative reviews regarding bugs. Yes, the bugs are there OUTSIDE, not on our beds or our food. I see they have taken many steps to keep them out. Bravo, because the bugs didn't bother us! You can feed milk to an Alpaca and a baby Alpaca at 8am and 3pm. There are local village folk who knit on the premises. 1 Soles (about 40 cents US) is the usual tip anywhere in the valley for taking a picture of the folk in the traditional wear. Everyone in the region knows this is the best hotel to stay in the Sacred valley and now so do you!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank slowmo74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Dear Slowmo74
Thank you for your review on trip advisor, very complete and usefull.
I am pleased to hear you had a wonderfull time at Rio Sagrado, especially to read that the fruit flies did not bother you. A sign that our measures are resulting in a considerable reduction in their population around our grounds.
Hope to have you back with us shortly.

With best regards
Floris Boyen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

This place is truly breathtaking! Our room was beautiful and our deck totally spacious. My husband and I also loved that our room did not have a TV (one could have been delivered upon request) so that we could really enjoy the beauty around us without getting distracted by a television screen. The bathroom was absolutely gorgeous with a giant shower overlooking the property. The spa provides two jacuzzis, one inside and the other outside, that are wonderfully relaxing after a long day of touring. The service was personable, the food delicious (they even have a small garden on site!) and the property itself just magical. The only downside to this property is all the stairs, especially in light of the elevation, but that is one tiny tiny downside to what is a truly fantastic hotel. This is a gem of a hotel.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank shellster3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Dear Shellster3
I am happy to read you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for sharing.
Aldough I regret there was a downside, despite the golf cart that we have available. We have recently started to "promote" this service more explicitly to make sure our guests are aware we have the cart available and that they are encouraged to call us for a pick up.
I hope at least the steps prepared you for Machu Picchu.
We hope to have you back whenever your time permits, it will be a pleasure.

With best regards
Floris Boyen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

What a beautiful and scenic resort to ease yourself into acclimatization of the sacred valley of the Incas. We took full advantage ot this place by scheduling massages within the first hour of our arrival. The spa is a beautiful and restful place to remove all the stresses of our recent long journey and to begin a most restful vacation. The staff was most accomodating. They arranged a full day of touring and shopping, starting with the ruins and the markets of Pisac, followed by an afternoon in Ollytaytambo. On our last day they arranged a morning horseback riding trip to Salinas de Maras. The restaurant and wait staff was top notch. From there we were heading to Machu Picchu via Peru Rail,because we were unable to bring all our luggage with us, they arranged transport of our luggage to our next destination in Cusco. My only regret is that we just had 3 days to spend, we could have easily spent a week. We eagerly await a return visit.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Thank you for your great review on Trip Advisor
I am pleased to hear you discovered the Maras Salt mines, one of my favourites, especially on horse back...
We all look forward to having you back with us for a week stay, that would be fenomenal!

All the best from Rio Sagrado
Floris Boyen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

My three nights at Rio Sagrado and its world class spa gave me the tranquility I needed, it was Orient Express at its best.. After a superb breakfast I was driven to a spectacular weaving centre in Chincheros which has some of the finest weavings in the World. A finely restored colonial church and Inca ruins are in the town. Later that day, I visited the ancient salt mines of Maras - like a pearl necklace spread out on the adobe mountainside.

Rio Sagrado's staff were immensely helpful. I will return.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank haciendacusin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Dear Haciendacusin,
Algough late in my reply, I thank you for sharing your comment here.
It was a great pleasure to meet you and I am happy you were able to leave restored from your stay. I am sure Daneri's trip to Cusco was able to extend your spa experience away from Rio Sagrado
Thanks to your recommendations, we now have Nilda's book on The traditional weaving in our shop.

Hope t see you back very soon in Peru
With best regards
Floris Boyen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Stayed @ 3 Orient Express hotels (Rio Sagrado, Sanctuary & Monasterio) & the Rio Sagrado was by far the best! Received 5 * attention in an outstanding location AND the cuisine was excellent. Wish I could have stayed far longer.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, General Manager at Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2012

Dear JohnG
Thank you for sharing your experience at Rio Sagrado
Again, to be named the best hotel is absolutely amazing and rewarding for the team and myself.
I regret you did not manage to extend your stay but in any case, you will always be more than welcome on your next trip to Peru.
With best regards and thank you once more
Floris Boyen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urubamba
2.3 mi away
Tambo del Inka, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Valle Sagrado
1.2 mi away
Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux
3.1 mi away
Casa Andina Premium Valle Sagrado Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Explora Valle Sagrado
Explora Valle Sagrado
#1 of 29 in Urubamba
203 reviews
7.0 mi away
Aranwa Sacred Valley Hotel & Wellness
19.2 mi away
Belmond Palacio Nazarenas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado

Address: | Km. 75. 8 Carretera Urubamba-Ollantaytambo, Urubamba, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Urubamba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Urubamba
#2 Spa Hotel in Urubamba
#2 Luxury Hotel in Urubamba
#3 Family Hotel in Urubamba
Price Range: $216 - $424 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Sacred Valley of the Incas, among verdant fields and towering mountains, lies Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado. Set on the banks of the rushing Urubamba River, all rooms offer an incredible view. Situated at a lower altitude than nearby Cusco, the hotel provides the perfect environment in which to acclimatize. Enjoy nature and a range of activities available in order to slip into the spirit of Peruvian life. So relax in our spa and savour the very best of the local and international gastronomy in our hotel's restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado Peru/Urubamba, Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing