We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A charming hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tierra Viva Valle Sagrado Urubamba
Ranked #15 of 26 Hotels in Urubamba
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
199 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“A charming hotel”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

First impressions were that it was a bit small and basic, and the safe was really awkward, but it is such a lovely oasis away from the madding crowd and the waterfall showers are amazing. It has lovely gardens with wild flowers and it is well lit. There is a spa, the staff are really nice and the service is good. There is a happy hour at the bar from 5-7 so that made up for the remote location and it was reasonably priced anyway. There was an adequate choice of food for vegetarian

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CathieO3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandra M, Propietario at Tierra Viva Valle Sagrado Urubamba, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Cathie,

Thank you very much for your comment, we are really happy to know that you had a great time with us. We will continue to work to keep up our service and infrastructure. We hope to see you soon.

Best regards,
La Familia Inkallpa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    138
    49
    11
    10
See reviews for
94
192
26
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Level Contributor
161 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We had a very nice room, with a lot of space on an upper floor. The only problem we encountered was our downstairs neighbors were ridiculously inconsiderate and were yelling and having a little party late into the night. We did not call the front desk, so not sure how they would have handled the situation.

The happy hour was nice, as it was usually just our family in the area, and we could take an hour to relax, while enjoying some pisco drinks!!

We used the spa one day, and it was nice, not what we experience in American spas, but still good.

The front staff would call to see if we were coming to breakfast or dinner before closing the restaurant, which I thought was pretty cool, considering that was above and beyond what most places would do.

Dinner was good, breakfast was ok.....

The hotel was difficult for our taxi drivers to find, as they think it is in Ollyantantambo, but it is more in the countryside. The road getting to the entrance was rough, and the little Toyota Corolla taxis kept bottoming out.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank getawaygirlDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandra M, Propietario at Tierra Viva Valle Sagrado Urubamba, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for leaving your comment. We really appreciated every word. Inkallpa is a family business and we want that all of our passangers feel well attended, we would have like to recieve your call, so we could help you with the noisy neighbors. We hope to see you soon.

Best regards,
La Familia Inkallpa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We enjoyed one night here between Cusco and Macchu Pichu - after a tour of the Sacred Valley and climbing around the ruins at Ollantaytambo it was a nice peaceful rest. It was a little challenging to get to on the bumpy road down from the highway but the bus and later the taxi just took it slowly guess they are used to those rough spots. Didn't have time to look around the area much but the hotel itself was very nice with a unique design. Dinner was good - didn't feel like going back in to town - breakfast was minimal but we were leaving to catch the train to Aqua Calientes so didn't need much. The room was ground level - large comfortable bed - nice rainshower and sink area -clean and nicely decorated. In the middle of a busy holiday it was a nice calm retreat.

Room Tip: Might be good to request a room on the upper level if you want a view of the valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Franandkelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandra M, Propietario at Tierra Viva Valle Sagrado Urubamba, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for leaving your comment. Inkallpa is a family business and we want that all of our passangers feel well attended, we really like when we know that we are doing a good job. You are wellcome to visit us again.


Best regards,
La Familia Inkallpa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aventura, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I had an amazing and remarkable vacation in this hotel. Even though we didn't have any kind of recommendation abouth Inkallpa hotel, we decided to spend our vacation here. The design of hotel is just amazing because it combines perfectly with the natural environment. Our room was wonderful, big, peaceful, comfortable, and warm. The hotel staff was very friendly and professional people as the team of the restaurant as well. Also, they have an excellent spa where we went to take some massages after we returned from the Inca trail. I loved this place, and I hope to return someday.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danitza M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandra M, Propietario at Tierra Viva Valle Sagrado Urubamba, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Danitza,

On behalf of the entire Inkallpa family, we thank you for your comment. We really like when we know that we are doing a good job. We promise to continue improving our service. You are wellcome to visit us again.


Best regards,
La Familia Inkallpa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Price – part of a package.
Cleanliness - excellent.
Quietness – excellent.
Comfort - excellent.
Location – beautiful scenery; a taxi ride to anything else.
Parking – do not drive in Peru.
Friendliness - excellent.
Breakfast – ok buffet. Evening meal was ok (preferred eating in town).
Classiness - good.
Room Size - splendid.
Room included – shower, balcony.
Facilities included – gardens, restaurant, bar.
Nice touch – free tea, computers & internet.
At first, shocked to find we had two nights here - one full day with nothing included in our tour and nothing to do other than look at the garden and mountains. With the advice of other guests and staff, we got a list of places to visit, hired a taxi for the day and had the best tour of our holiday. The taxi driver (Heimie?) was brilliant.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dfkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandra M, Propietario at Tierra Viva Valle Sagrado Urubamba, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

We really like and appreciate your review. On behalf of the entire Inkallpa family, we thank you for your comment. We will extend your comment to Jaime, our driver. You are wellcome to visit us always.


Best regards,
La Familia Inkallpa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aventura, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We spend three days with my wife at the hotel, we love the area and like other reports say is in a Valley with no much around and that's what it makes it special, is very quiet and relaxing, great after the Inka Trail. We decided to booked the tours at the hotel and no through a travel agency, that was a big savings !. The girls at the front desk arrange a local driver to take us to Maras y Morais and the Salinas for a lot less than a travel agency, the other day we took advantage of the SPA, it was great ! very relaxing and the steam bath were great also, great service !. The next day we took a horse back ride through town and up a mountain with great views, since we have no experience riding horses they gave us two horses very easy going, we loved them !.
Breakfast is complementary and very good, eggs, spinach, juices, bread, jelly, jogurt, cereal and more, starts at 5am wich is good for those early excursions.
We ate everynight at the restaurant the menu has an option of tipical peruvian food and hot sandwiches, we try them both and were delicius ! and for desert you must try the lemon pie with ice cream on top....THE BEST I EVER HAD ! ! !
Overall was a great experience, from the nice rooms, beautiful hotel, the amazing Valley, the unique garden, the awesome sky at night, I can only say good things about the hotel but what really made the difference was the hotel staff, they're all so nice, from the security at the front gate, the front desk girls, the bartender, the waiters, the maids and the gardener, all provide unique service that make you fell at home, thank you to all of you ! ! !
One last point, there's wi-fi at the front desk for the cell phone and two computers for those who want to check the e-mails.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aventura_FloridaDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandra M, Propietario at Tierra Viva Valle Sagrado Urubamba, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. We are really happy to know that you have a great time with us. Inkallpa is a family business and we love when our job is reflected in comments like yours. We promise we will continue improving, so when you come back you'll see that we are better.

Hope to see you soon.

Best regards,
La Familia Inkallpa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinsdale, Illinois
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

This is a remote hotel and "spa" with spectacular views and very serene. Something we were ready for after going non-stop for days on end. Since they call themselves a spa I decided to have a massage while my husband and son took a walk along the Urubamba river. They enjoyed their walk immensely, but be aware there is no path or walkway there, my guys love a hike. My spa was a bit unsatisfying. I speak very limited Spanish and the masseuse spoke no English. She brought me into the room and with hand gestures told me to disrobe, while she stood there and watched. May be a cultural thing, but I am not used to that. I purchased a one hour massage followed by 15 minutes in the steam room and 15 in a dry sauna. The massage was not very satisfying as she was to gentle and was unable to identify any tension areas and only massaged the back side of my body. Again, this may be the way they do it in Peru but I am used to a massage in back an front.

I proceeded to the steam room and she came back in the 15 minutes and moved me to the dry sauna and then proceeded to leave me there at least 45 minutes, maybe longer. I actually went out to the desk looking for someone who could give me supplies for a shower. There was no one there and I started looking around myself to no avail. About 10 minutes later, my masseuse came out from another massage room. We did a lot of hand gesturing again with me trying to get things for a shower. She gave me soap and shampoo and gestured that I should shower, dress and then leave. I kept gesturing that I need a towel to dry off, while she repeated her gesturing that I should shower and leave. Eventually she got it and had to rummage herself for a towel.

As another review mentioned, you are pretty much stuck eating there because you're in the middle of nowhere. The food is average. Don't expect anything spectacular. I ordered a toasted ham and cheese thinking it would be panini like and the cheese melted. The sandwich was on a basic white bread barely toasted, more like day old bread with a slice of cold cheese and a slice of cold ham.

Our room was very nice again with beautiful views and very clean. It seems to be customary that the rooms are not heated and you are supplied with a mobile radiator that barely takes the chill off. We experienced this throughout Peru. The beds have down comforters so sleeping is not an issue, just chilly in the morning.

There are no televisions or wi-fi in the rooms.

Great place for meditation and contemplation. It was a welcome feature for us.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Regina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandra M, Propietario at Tierra Viva Valle Sagrado Urubamba, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

We really appreciate your comment, it has many important details for us to improve. We want you know that we are taking action in all the things we can do better. We are really sorry that your experience wasn't the best. We promise that in another visit you will have a great experience.

Thank you again for your comment it help us to improve.

Hope to see you soon.

Best regards,
La Familia Inkallpa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Urubamba hotels
3.3 mi away
Inti Nan Hotel
Inti Nan Hotel
#5 of 26 in Urubamba
5.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.7 mi away
Casa Andina Premium Valle Sagrado
1.0 mi away
Hotel Hacienda del Valle
Hotel Hacienda del Valle
#7 of 26 in Urubamba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Tambo del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
3.4 mi away
Sacred Dreams Lodge
Sacred Dreams Lodge
#13 of 26 in Urubamba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
9.4 mi away
Aranwa Sacred Valley Hotel & Wellness
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tierra Viva Valle Sagrado Urubamba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tierra Viva Valle Sagrado Urubamba

Property: Tierra Viva Valle Sagrado Urubamba
Address: 5to paradero Yanahura | Centro poblado menor, Urubamba, Peru (Formerly Inkallpa Valle Sagrado)
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Urubamba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Urubamba
#9 Spa Hotel in Urubamba
#10 Romantic Hotel in Urubamba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tierra Viva Valle Sagrado Urubamba 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tierra Viva Valle Sagrado Urubamba Hotel is located in the heart of the Sacred Valley, 50 minutes from the center of Cusco and only 10 minutes from Ollantaytambo. The hotel offers 36 weel equipped rooms with balcony/terrace, Wi Fi and buffet brekfast included. Guests can enjoy the restaurant, spa and gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tierra Viva Valle Sagrado Urubamba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inkallpa Valle Sagrado Hotel Urubamba
Tierra Viva Valle Sagrado Urubamba Peru - Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing