We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secluded, family-friendly ecolodge, awesome food, gorgeous garden”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa Colibri eco-Lodge
Reviewed December 24, 2010

We spent 2 nights at Casa Colibri with our 9 month old twins, as part of our 10 day trip from Cusco to MP and back. We are experienced travelers and look to get off the beaten path. Casa Colibri is outstanding!! It is secluded, with great walks to secluded Inca Ruins right from the front door. It is also a short 20 min walk to the center of Urubamba which has a fantastic central market, as well as a short drive to Ollataytambo and Pisac and the surrounding ruins. The grounds at Casa Colibri are breathtaking. Barbara and Robert made us feel right at home, as they spent time playing with our boys. They are phenomenal cooks, and invite the guests into their home for all the meals. The meals are homemade and gourmet, and certainly the best we had in Peru ( which in general has excellent cuisine). The bungalows are comfortable and spacious. Barbara and Robert are very serious about making this a true "ecolodge," where they grow their own organic vegetables, get eggs from their chickens, buy locally grown grains and produce for their meals, and conserve and recycle their precious water. They also make it a priority to teach English to and employ local people. Very comfortable and laid back. Maybe the best place we have ever stayed, and at a fantastic value. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Herethereverywhere11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 93 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2010

We arrived there at night on the way down from Machu Pichu. The first image we got was Bob's smile and his warm welcome. The bungalow was charming and nicely decorated. After the noisy and ugly city of Aguas Calientes, the contrast was striking. Excellent sleep. Waken up by the birds. In a morning light, we could really appreciate the charm of Barbara's wonderful garden. While having breakfast with Barbara and Bob, we had the impression to be sitting with amigos de siempre...It was very hard to leave when the driver came to take us. Barbara and Bob's Casa Colibri is one of these places where you would like to stay longer .
Claire-Marie et Philippe

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maie53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2010

The charm of this lodge away from the hastle and bustle of the peruvian roads lies in this recipe : excellent and friendly service by Barbara and Robert / cleanness and quietness of the bungalows in adobe / beauty of the garden where nothing moves but colibris and a rabbit. Excellent familial food prepared by Barbara with products from her garden and local selected farmers. I definitely recommend this hotel for all kind of travelers ..

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank attilaetius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2010

I was recently a member of large group of Australians that stayed at the Casa Colibri Ecolodge. We arrived at the lodge exhausted after a 2 day trek. We were in desperate need of a hot shower and comfy bed. We certainly got all of this and more at Casa Colibri Ecolodge. Our hosts, Barbara and Robert were warm and welcoming. The BBQ dinner they put on for us was absolutely delicious. With full stomachs we retreated to our cosy adobe lodge for much needed sleep.

If you are in this part of the world, I recommend you stay here as a very comfortable base to explore the Sacred Valley and Machu Picchu. The accommodation, gardens and hosts were perfect, I wish I could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DHWhisperer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2010

Pleasedon't mind if i adress this message directly to the owners :
Dear Barbara and Robert,
It was just amazing to stay in your beautifull lodge, not only because, despite the fact that ourreservation was not confirmed ,you managed to keep us there , but for all the reasons that follows :
- you have a nice life story to tell your guest , i wish you can fullfill all your dreams in sacred valley, even i advise you to get out some time to civilization.
- the place you choosed is just perfect, mountains, colibris , flowers, stars in the night everything is there to let you start dreaming well .
- Dreaming well? yes the rooms are beautifull, the beds are perfect, the linens choosen with good taste (tks Barbara)
- the breakfast (even served at 5h30 am ..yes they woke up to serve us ...do you believe?) was delightfull.
- One regret: if known in advance we would have stayed there much more...
tks again Barbara and Robert, with our best regards Olivier/Roseline and children

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank olruBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2010

I have just returned from a stay at Casa Colibri Ecolodge with 19 undergraduate students. We only stayed 2 nights but Robert and Barbara couldn't have been more helpful. This included getting up in the middle of the night to make sure that we all had a good breakfast before touring for the day. The lodge is a quiet and safe place where you can relax and be comfortable. The gardens are a delight and the owner's eco-philosophy can only be admired. I only wish we had more time there.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg255068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2009

I stayed in Casa Colibri for an amazing few days. This place in Urubamba is ideal as a base to travel around the Sacred Valley.
Getting up in the mornings and wandering through the gardens was a real tonic, my stressful job was left behind.
This new hotel is more of a warm and friendly house open to guests. I had my own private casita with a terrace, surrounded by lovely gardens.
The rooms are spacious, very comfortable and elegantly furnished. The food and drink were very good.
The owners helped me organize my own transport and guide to tour around the valley. The drivers I had were safe and efficient. I travelled alone everywhere and felt very safe.
I can recommend Casa Colibri without reservation.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank capulies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Urubamba hotels
1.5 mi away
Tambo del Inka, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Valle Sagrado
3.9 mi away
Casa Andina Premium Valle Sagrado Hotel & Villas
0.3 mi away
Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Valle Sagrado Urubamba
6.1 mi away
Aranwa Sacred Valley Hotel & Wellness
0.8 mi away
Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado
Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado
#2 of 29 in Urubamba
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Colibri eco-Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Colibri eco-Lodge

Address: 2.5 km Urubamba-Ollantaytambo Road, Urubamba, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Urubamba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 58 Specialty Lodging in Urubamba
Hotel Class:2 star — Casa Colibri eco-Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Colibri eco-Lodge is centrally located just outside Urubamba, close to all the archeological sites in the Sacred Valley. Trains to Machu Picchu are only 20 minutes away. It's at a much lower altitude, (2900 mtrs) than Cuzco, (3400 mtrs) so it's perfect for your acclimatization. The casitas are sited around a large central garden with native trees, winding paths and scented pergolas. The lodge is our project in sustainable living. For us this means doing our best to conserve resources for future generations, avoiding waste and living in harmony with our environment. We have created a series of thriving organic kitchen and flower gardens hosting wildlife from hummingbirds and parrots to bees and butterflies! Special interest groups are more than welcome... Our yoga groups appreciate the purpose-built meditation room and the tranquility of the gardens, and foodies always leave wishing they'd booked a longer stay :)Above all Casa Colibri aims to be a relaxing and homely base, from which to explore all the wonderful sites around the Sacred Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Casa Colibri eco-Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Colibri Eco-Lodge Peru/Urubamba, Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing