We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we could have stayed longer”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Casa Colibri eco-Lodge
Reviewed July 28, 2010

I have just returned from a stay at Casa Colibri Ecolodge with 19 undergraduate students. We only stayed 2 nights but Robert and Barbara couldn't have been more helpful. This included getting up in the middle of the night to make sure that we all had a good breakfast before touring for the day. The lodge is a quiet and safe place where you can relax and be comfortable. The gardens are a delight and the owner's eco-philosophy can only be admired. I only wish we had more time there.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg255068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
There are newer reviews for Casa Colibri eco-Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 89 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2009

I stayed in Casa Colibri for an amazing few days. This place in Urubamba is ideal as a base to travel around the Sacred Valley.
Getting up in the mornings and wandering through the gardens was a real tonic, my stressful job was left behind.
This new hotel is more of a warm and friendly house open to guests. I had my own private casita with a terrace, surrounded by lovely gardens.
The rooms are spacious, very comfortable and elegantly furnished. The food and drink were very good.
The owners helped me organize my own transport and guide to tour around the valley. The drivers I had were safe and efficient. I travelled alone everywhere and felt very safe.
I can recommend Casa Colibri without reservation.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank capulies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2009

This is a truly exquisite place to stay - marvellous gardens, excellent service, comfortable and spacious rooms!
Thank you very much Robert & Barbara, hope to be back soon!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oliviajjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2009

Casa Colibri is the place to go if you want to be looked after with great care and warmth in somewhere that does far more than pay lip service to being an Ecolodge. From the choice of materials used to build and decorate the casitas, to the fantastic range of flowers in the gardens and the home-grown vegetables and herbs, this place does all it can to blend in with the Sacred Valley around it. The food and accommodation could not be faulted, and the warmth and interest in the attention for those staying there was genuine throughout, making it an extremely relaxing place to be. This place caters only for small numbers at any one time, and has a very individual and boutique feel to it, while also being cozy and rustic, not an easy combination to pull off, but one that Barbara and Robert achieve with room to spare. They also helped us to arrange trips to nearby Inca sites, and a memorable day trip to Abra Malaga, a renowned site for some very special birds, where we saw Royal Cinclodes, Vilcabamba Tapaculo and Red-rumped Bush-Tyrant, among many others. The driver for all of these was extremely courteous, helpful and safe. However, if you didn't want to venture beyond the walls of those superb gardens, they alone pull in numerous hummingbirds, including - for those interested - the endemic Green and White, White-bellied, Giant, Sparkling Violetear and Green-tailed Trainbearer, with Bearded Mountaineer not far away. All in all, somewhere I'd thoroughly recommend. I know my stay there will live with me for years to come.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HummerSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2009

Don´t look any further than Casa Colibri - this is the ultimate place for a getaway holiday!
Perfectly located in the center of the Sacred Valley, it is only a short drive from all the major cultural and archeological sites.
Returning here after an exhausting day of sightseeing, it´s a marvellous place to relax and recharge your batteries. The hosts couldn´t be more attentive and at the same time more unobtrusive - always there when you need them, and yet at all times you feel like you´ve got the place all to yourselves. They helped us a great deal with planning our trips, organizing transportation and choosing the best guides around - unbeatable!
The clean and cozy casitas, and especially the beautiful gardens make every day a new and unforgettable experience - and great value for your money!
We enjoyed our stay immensely and will definitely come back!!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HERBYandINA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2009

I’ve just had a great break in the Valle Sagrado, stayed at Casa Colibri Eco Lodge, and can thoroughly recommend it if you’re looking for a comfortable, green alternative.
I stayed 4 days, just the time I needed to visit the sites in the Sacred Valley. The hotel is on the Urubamba-Ollantaytambo Road. The gardens and birdlife are fabulous, and you really do feel you are in another world. It was the complete holiday – excellent food, spotlessly clean, eco friendly, unbeatable scenery, reasonably priced and if you’ve ever had a Gite Holiday in France, you’ll find this is the nearest thing in terms of friendliness and cordiality, without having your space invaded. The big difference is you don’t have to cater for yourself, although like the typical Gite, the accommodation aptly combines the social atmosphere of the Clubhouse with the independent comfort of your chalet at the end of your day. The owners helped me arrange a driver and guide for my trips to Moray, Maras and Pisac. Both were local people and the service was very good, safe driver and clean vehicle in good condition.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank IndianaLima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2009

The Casa Colibri Eco lodge is the best place to stay while exploring the Sacred Valley. The lodge is quiet, beautiful and well equipted. The small size and the very friendly hosts make this an ideal place for a lovely getaway. The host are fluent English and Spanish speakers and have a great knowledge of the surronding sites. During our visit, Barbara and Robert helped us arrange a local guide to take us on a day hike. The guide and the hike was fabulous and something we could have never arranged without their help. This was our fourth trip to Peru and our third to the Sacred Valley and the Casa Colibri this trip the highlight of all of them. It was a perfect sanctuary from which to viist all that the Sacred Valley has to offer. We could not have asked for better host or a more lovely experience.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank travelswithspot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Urubamba hotels
1.5 mi away
Tambo del Inka, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Valle Sagrado
3.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Valle Sagrado Urubamba
3.9 mi away
Casa Andina Premium Valle Sagrado Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sacred Dreams Lodge
Sacred Dreams Lodge
#14 of 28 in Urubamba
192 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inti Nan Hotel
Inti Nan Hotel
#5 of 28 in Urubamba
199 reviews
6.1 mi away
Aranwa Sacred Valley Hotel & Wellness
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Colibri eco-Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Colibri eco-Lodge

Address: 2.5 km Urubamba-Ollantaytambo Road, Urubamba, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Urubamba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Urubamba
Price Range: $133 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Casa Colibri eco-Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Colibri eco-Lodge is centrally located just outside Urubamba, close to all the archeological sites in the Sacred Valley. Trains to Machu Picchu are only 20 minutes away. It's at a much lower altitude, (2900 mtrs) than Cuzco, (3400 mtrs) so it's perfect for your acclimatization. The casitas are sited around a large central garden with native trees, winding paths and scented pergolas. The lodge is our project in sustainable living. For us this means doing our best to conserve resources for future generations, avoiding waste and living in harmony with our environment. We have created a series of thriving organic kitchen and flower gardens hosting wildlife from hummingbirds and parrots to bees and butterflies! Special interest groups are more than welcome... Our yoga groups appreciate the purpose-built meditation room and the tranquility of the gardens, and foodies always leave wishing they'd booked a longer stay :)Above all Casa Colibri aims to be a relaxing and homely base, from which to explore all the wonderful sites around the Sacred Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Casa Colibri eco-Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Colibri Eco-Lodge Peru/Urubamba, Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing