We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could be better” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aranwa Sacred Valley Hotel & Wellness

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aranwa Sacred Valley Hotel & Wellness
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Urubamba
Certificate of Excellence
Union City, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Could be better”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

The hotel is beautiful, spacious, comfortable, but not quality of service my husband and I were limited to consulting on all services and we could do and where we could,the manager was recently requested the information, we had to consult employees, people are good but not dominate the service compared to the Rio Sagrado Hotel.
The food was excellent, the drinks varied, the lord of management did not appear when we call, we wanted to give constructive criticism, I thought it was bad tempered, although it was early more or less 10:15 and 11:00 in the morning.
 where we were waiting, after that everything was fine, not to detract from the hotel's infrastructure. I hope to improve in quality and service

Room Tip: Having quality service
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank nicole z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CESAR O, Gerente at Aranwa Sacred Valley Hotel & Wellness, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Guest, Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you experienced at our hotel. We regret not having met your expectations on this occasion.

We appreciate your feedback and the opportunity it gives us to identify our weaknesses to improve our service.

We look forward to give you a warm welcome in your next visit to Peru.

Kind regards,
Operations Manager
Cesar Oliart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    944
    198
    66
    26
    13
See reviews for
314
519
39
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

Driving down a lonely dirt road late at night in a remote area after a great day at Machu Picchu we wondered what our accommodation was going to be like.
We came across two large magnificent wooden gates blocking the road and what lay behind exceeded all our expectations.It was a bit of paradise in a very remote area.
The grounds are simply beautiful and the rooms excellent - staff were so helpful we wished we could have stayed longer than one night. Breakfast was excellent also.
The garden lanterns around the paths and ponds gave it a very welcoming atmosphere on our night time arrival.
We did not get a chance to try the spa.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a few days while visiting the Sacred Valley, and everything about it was wonderful. From the warm greeting upon arrival, to the rooms, the grounds and the food. The service all the way around was excellent and everyone we encountered was friendly. One day at lunch my husband ordered the club sandwich, generally a pretty ordinary sandwich but this was amazing. How they made such a simple sandwich so good is beyond me but I consider myself lucky that my husband agreed to share it with me so I was able to experience it as well. The rooms were spotless and very comfortable. We hope to return again someday.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shayob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

I probably can't say enough good things about this hotel--the rooms were spic and span clean, great bathroom, plenty of space, comfortable furniture. The bar and restaurant were also excellent. The food, no matter what one ordered, was outstanding, and they had a great wine list. The wait staff was kind and pleasant and worked very hard to please. After a long day in the valley, this was a great place stay, sleep and eat. My only complaint would be that it is completely isolated in the country at the end of dirt road, which for some might be a plus. There was no noise at night, the breakfast buffet was delightful, and bags were handled in a totally professional way. I hear that the spa was outstanding, so if you want a place to rest, eat, and sleep while visiting the Urubamba area, this is a perfect oasis for you, your family, or your group.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Spanishmedievalist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
104 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

We spent a night here as part of an excursion to Machu Picchu. Arrived in the dark after a journey down a long, winding, bumpy road. Not knowing what to expect, we arrived at a large wooden gate set into stone pillars, giving no indication of what lay beyond. When the gate opened we were in for quite a pleasant surprise. Who expected to find such a large, beautifully maintained resort.

Our room was huge, with two king sized beds, sitting area, large bathroom and closet, minibar and nice little touches such as robes, slippers and towel warmers. The room was in great condition and immaculately maintained. Exploring the resort we found an attractive dining room, huge breakfast room and a well stocked bar complete with very friendly and efficient staff. There is also a spa, wedding chapel, pools and various retail shops on the grounds.

After a restful sleep we enjoyed an excellent breakfast buffet. Our only disappointment was that it was time to leave. If we had occasion to return to this area we would definitely spend a few days at this resort to take advantage of all that it offers.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room with a patio giving direct access to the grounds. Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SMSLMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

The most surprising feature about this property is that you have absolutely no clue where it's a when you enter on the muddy rough road until you get to a big wooden gate . Once you come in it is like a small little other world that offers it self to you .Nothing too shocking but very down to nature . I felt very amused to see all the animals roaming around it is kind a unique feature. The hotel itself is very spread out very nicely . The rooms are quite nice cozy user friendly and the nicely decorated. Staff is great,friendly wants to show you around the different parts of the hotel. I tried the Spa , I suggest to try their signature Spa , It is to die for ! So relaxing and the masseuses are quite experienced . The Spa Itself is big a bit confusing but it has everything you could ask ask for .Breakfast was nice simple and correct.Overall if you are looking for a more get away from everything and relaxing experience Thats the place for you to be !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Skaffm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed at Aranwa Sacred Valley at the end of our trip to relax. It was a beautiful location and the best place to end our trip. We stayed at the Aranwa in Cusco so we knew what to expect, but our expectations were exceeded. The llamas, peacocks, and parrots on the grounds were a fun surprise.

The only drawback is that the cabfare to go anywhere is at least $40 to leave. It is very much set back and away. If you want to explore, I would stay somewhere else and save on the cabfare, but if you want to relax, walk the grounds, walk the river, and enjoy the spa then this is the place and won't disappoint.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Savery_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urubamba
4.1 mi away
Tambo del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
5.2 mi away
Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux
4.0 mi away
Casa Andina Private Collection Valle Sagrado
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado
Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado
#1 of 25 in Urubamba
5.0 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
5.5 mi away
Inti Nan Hotel
Inti Nan Hotel
#5 of 25 in Urubamba
5.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sonesta Posadas del Inca Yucay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aranwa Sacred Valley Hotel & Wellness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aranwa Sacred Valley Hotel & Wellness

Property: Aranwa Sacred Valley Hotel & Wellness
Address: Antigua Hacienda Yaravilca | Huayllabamba, Urubamba 08471, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Urubamba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Urubamba
#4 Spa Hotel in Urubamba
#4 Family Hotel in Urubamba
#4 Romantic Hotel in Urubamba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aranwa Sacred Valley Hotel & Wellness 3.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The riverside lands of an 18-century colonial hacienda have been restored into an exclusive 115-room hotel, comprising rural elegance within the hacienda and minimalist design in the modern deluxe rooms. Replete with three restaurants including a vegetarian cove, a 2500 sq meter spa & wellness centre with three hydrotherapy pools, meeting and conferences facilities, art gallery, on-site museum, orchid pyramid and movie room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Aranwa Sacred Valley Hotel & Wellness reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aranwa Sacred Valley Hotel And Wellness
Aranwa Sacred Valley Urubamba
Aranwa Sacred Valley Hotel & Wellness Peru/Urubamba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing