We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Behind barbed wire” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paz y Luz Guest, Healing and Conference Center

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Paz y Luz Guest, Healing and Conference Center
Ranked #7 of 19 Pisac B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Behind barbed wire”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Unlike other reviews, I will not comment on spiritual experiences as those are subjective. Rather I would like to review Paz y Luz as a place to stay during a visit to the sacred Valley. As such, it is an overpriced hostal (even drinking water refills are twice more expensive than other places in Pisaq) with some tired, often dirty elements of interior and exterior (see pictures attached).

On “relaxation.” The property is surrounded by barbed wire, which does not contribute to the peaceful relaxation experience. The only outside sitting option were the plastic chairs covered in birds' droppings. You can see the mountains from anywhere in the Sacred Valley, and they look much nicer without the barbed wire in sight.

The room itself was very cold at night and a heater was not available, not even for an extra fee. I had to pile up four(!) heavy woolen blankets to stay warm. Their combined weight made sleeping very uncomfortable.

You have to wash your teacups if you want to have some tea in the common area (a first in my Peru travels). At breakfast, you have to choose either eggs or serial, can’t have both. No lunch or dinner was served during my stay. Other services (massage, astrological readings) are advertised at US/European prices.

The walk to town is a 20-minute ordeal on an extremely dusty road. Picture two inches of powdery dust. At some point the road ends and you find yourself facing a busy construction site. Turns out, you have to walk through the construction site, maneuvering between workers, pipes and cement. I can’t imagine walking there after dark as it would be extremely unsafe.

Finally, Paz y Luz was less than commendable in terms of their customer service. As I don’t speak much Spanish, I needed help in arranging my taxi ride to Cuzco. I specifically asked the receptionist--in advance--to convey to the driver (in Spanish) that I wanted to make sightseeing stops on my way to Cuzco, but that wasn't done. Normally, you can and should negotiate you terms with taxis in Peru, which are plentiful. However, the hostal would only call taxis owned by one particular company, which made negotiation impossible. For the rest of the day, I had to adhere to my taxi driver’s schedule which apparently involved trying to pick up a fare for the return journey at Cuzco airport.

Overall, there is plenty of quaint hostals in Pisaq to justify having to deal with all the Paz y Luz drawbacks. Unless you have to attend one of its retreats.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank danetus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dianepyl, Owner at Paz y Luz Guest, Healing and Conference Center, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
The photos of the barbed wire in this review do not belong to Paz y Luz. We have a wall made of stone and mud on one side of the property and a cypress hedge on the other. We have 2.5 acres of open property, gardens and meditation spaces, surrounded by beautiful mountains.

Our manager assisted this guest by calling him a taxi and translating what the guest wanted. The taxi driver (who sets his own rates) told the guest what he would charge the guest. Our manager translated. The guest did not want to pay what the driver was asking.

We are very sorry that the guest did not enjoy his stay at Paz y Luz.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    27
    4
    6
    4
See reviews for
7
27
31
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

I stayed at Paz y Luz three times. The first time was this year in March after I came across Diane´s second book at Lima airport. I felt that I NEEDED to go there and was really hoping to meet Diane. The place is located so beautifully and as soon as I got there I felt this beautiful energy, saw a kolibri and the wonderful flowers in the garden. A friend of Diane´s who was there for some time showed me around and I was deeply moved by the heart-shaped place at a very special place of the area. I slept well and in the middle of the night had the feeling that I am so guided and protected. The next day at breakfast I met Diane, just as I hoped that it will happen. The second time I came to Paz y Luz a few weeks later as I needed time to write, be with nature and enjoy the beauty of Pisac. Within these few days I had a lot of beautiful insights about what to do next in my life. The third time was for the "Deepening of the Munay-Ki" and since then a lot has happened. I returned to Austria three months ago, taught the Munay-Ki and will hold other courses within the next few months. Paz y Luz, the wonderful people I met there and the beautiful energy stays with me and I know that I will return soon. Gracias y Munay - martha from Austria

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WMartha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

I stayed 10 days in Paz y Luz and was a wonderful experience.The staff was every moment very heplful and friendly. Breakfast, lunch and dinner was very healthy and good.The place is sorrounded by mountains that inspired you and on night you see the sky full of stairs!!! A great , inspirational place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rllm_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navarre, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Paz y Luz and loved it. The staff was very friendly and made us feel welcome. Our cabin was clean and we had hot water. The food at Paz y Luz was very good, both breakfast and dinner. We were able to walk to town without any problems. Waking up to the beautiful mountains outside your window is a real treat. I would stay at Paz y Luz again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shanti_seeker8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

I stayed at Paz y Luz with a group of travelers from Sacred Pathways. The quaint adobe buildings; the area for ceremonial bonfires; the wholesome Peruvian food, especially the trout dinner and bread; and community areas are nestled in Pisar Valley surrounded by towering mountains holding ancient structures on its vertical paths. This is a magical place filled with healing energy in a peaceful setting.

Room Tip: All rooms are somewhat the same and quite charming, but to ensure a good night's sleep when the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

What a wonderful, inspiring location for this retreat center. Looking up to the Temple of the Sun, high above PazYLuz, carries the soul as on the wings of an eagle. Loving, sharing staff, and wonderful food. Diane was available, and greeted us with her special, warm and nurturing enthusiasm. A great, inspirational stop on a very special trip with Sacred Pathways through the Sacred Valley. I look forward to a return visit.

Room Tip: If the nights are cold, there are great hot water bottles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah92_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

Paz y Luz is more than a place, it is an experience.
Yes, the setting is magnificent, the rooms are well-decorated and comfortable, and the caring and attentive staff will give you a sense of home.
But then there is the aspect of the diversity of the people who are drawn there, those breathtaking mountains, the places to meditate, and the helpful staff that goes beyond guest comfort and into the realm of helping arrange plans and transportation for traveling in Peru.
Kudos to owner Diane Dunn, who is also a creative and adventurous teacher. if you are able to take a workshop with this Master Shaman, it will make your time at Paz y Luz a truly complete experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pisac
0.0 mi away
Casa Andina Private Collection Valle Sagrado
0.0 mi away
Royal Inka Hotel Pisac
0.0 mi away
Pisac Inn
Pisac Inn
#1 of 19 in Pisac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
La Chakana Pisac
La Chakana Pisac
#1 of 10 in Pisac
5.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
0.0 mi away
Melissa Wasi
Melissa Wasi
#4 of 19 in Pisac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Casa Del Conde
La Casa Del Conde
#2 of 19 in Pisac
5.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paz y Luz Guest, Healing and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paz y Luz Guest, Healing and Conference Center

Property: Paz y Luz Guest, Healing and Conference Center
Address: 1 kilometer from Pisac Bridge (to the right) | You Can Take a Taxi From Cusco Or Take a "Collectivo" Bus to Pisac. The Buses Leave From Calle Puputi Near the Rosas Pata Market in Cusco. The Drive Is Nearly 50 Minutes Form Cusco, Pisac, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Pisac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Pisac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paz y Luz means Peace and Light. It is a beautiful guest and conference center high up in the Andes where groups and individual travellers gather for workshops, to experience sacred healing sessions or simply to relax, while visiting the Pisac archeological site and famous market.Owner and healer Diane Dunn, a New Yorker, moved to Peru in 2000 and created this center where people from all over the world, with many spiritual and healing traditions can gather together in the powerful energy of the Andes. Paz y Luz offers 22 guest rooms, 3 two-bedroom bungalows, 2 dedicated healing rooms, a restaurant, relaxation spaces and a beautiful round glass conference room that is ideal for yoga, dance, art and other workshops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Paz y Luz Guest, Healing and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paz y Luz Guest, Healing And Conference Center Peru/Pisac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing