We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pisac Peru Retreat at Paz Y Luz”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Paz y Luz Guest, Healing and Conference Center
Ranked #12 of 18 Pisac B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pisac Peru Retreat at Paz Y Luz”
Reviewed October 25, 2011

Paz Y Luz is beautifully located near the Pisac Ruins which I personally enjoy and find magical. Hetty was terrific. She was always willing to do a little bit more to insure our retreat was successful. She also facilitated helping to blend our group with others at the retreat center so more opportunities to meet interesting people and experiences occurred. The staff and food was excellent. The accommodations where excellent..I am very thankful for the opportunity and the new friends I have met during my short visit to Paz Y Luz.

Room Tip: Make sure you sit in the rock shape like a heart facing the Pisac Mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steps_om
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    27
    4
    6
    6
See reviews for
7
27
33
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
Reviewed October 25, 2011

Paz y Luz is located in the Sacred Valley of Inkas, which is surrounded with beautiful and mysterious scenery. It gets even more magical at night time .I have not seen so many stars on the sky in my whole life. Paz y Liz is quite, clean, safe and people are very nice and friendly.

We were very much benefited from the healings of Hetty and Amerissis who were always available and very helpful. They are very nice people; good healers and we felt comfortable with them and enjoyed their company. Thank you.
The main purpose of our stay was to take part in the healing ceremonies with Javier Regueiro, and with the accommodation being about 2 minutes away it couldn’t be more convenient. I personally had a life/soul change experience, a new beginning in Pisac with the help of the Medicine and the great healer, Javier. The ceremonies were magical and Javier conducted them with great expertise and care. He looked after everyone and made sure that their experiences were safe and beneficial.
Javier was together with me in each step of my healing journey. I am really touched with his kindness and caring. He is a great healer and a real Shaman with a genteel and loving heart.

I can not say and thank him enough. Thank you very much Javier.
We definitely want to come back.

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank InciLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berthoud, Colorado, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 10, 2011

I have to say that I had one of the best experiences of my life at Paz y Luz. The people are amazing, the food was great and the rates super reasonable. When I return ro Peru - this is where I'll stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tysonelliott1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
Reviewed October 10, 2011

Every moment at PAZ Y LUZ was magic. The silence, the flowing, the whole staff had made it possible to join together 3 different countries in one and live a magical andean story. Story written in our hearts.
The time spent there, the walks to Pisac beside the river, everybody´s smile at Paz y Luz was what one expects to find everyday in our lives.
I am planning to come back! besos a todos, y que sean muy felices! LOLA

Room Tip: corner suites are large and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KALLPARI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 10, 2011

A great place to start my trip in the Sacred Valley - stunning location, welcome made me feel at home straight away, breakfasts were magical

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2011

We spent about 1 week in the Sacred Valley and used Paz y Luz as our base.The accommodation and facilities were very comfortable and every few rooms had a communal kitchen an space with a wonderful fireplace and every evening after dinner in the village or at Paz y Luz we lit a fire and just enjoyed the quite space. Diane, the owner, organised a guided tour of the area including Machu Picchu for us. Not only were the sites amazing but our guide was very knowledgeable about the physical and spiritual significance of all the places we went to. This allowed us not only to see the places, but more importantly t experience the energetic connection with them as well, and this was quite profound at times as we connected with the mountains, air, water and creatures around us. We enjoyed the , vitality and eclectic nature of the village Pisac, with it attracting lots of diverse cultures who intermingled with the local people in the marketplace.To end our trip, we also had a very meaningful Despacho led by Juanita, a local Q'ero shaman. A special thanks to Diane , Hettie and all the other staff for the most memorable time in my Peru trip

Room Tip: Ask for as view of the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tertia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2011

Our 1st problem no room: Our second night in Peru we reserved a one night stay in pisac at this retreat at the tune over 120 soles (Expensive by Peru standards) thinking a place run by English speaking Americans and Brits would ease the transition into Peru. We booked over 5 months in advance and requested a pick up from the cusco airport and thru email they happily obliged. 2 days prior to arrival we noted the airline changed the time (not date) of our flight 2 hours later than original so I emailed letting them know and requesting the taxi show up a few hours later. They responded and said no problem. We arrived in cusco and the taxi driver was there waiting for us and took us to Paz y luz but when we got there they had no room for us! Instead of immediately apologizing they Then claimed because we changed the arrival date (we did not!) That the reservations got messed up. Then it was because the manager got sick (which we believe ). However they sent the taxi at the right time and date!

So they offered us a pull out in the owners house but only at a 10% discount which was a crappy discount given the cost of the facilities. The worst part is through this entire process the staff and owner acted as if we were inconveniencing them! They repeatedly told us staying in the main house was not ideal (for them? because not having any place to sleep would have been not ideal for us given the choice). They did offer to arrange a stay at another facility but the reason we booked paz y luz in the first place was because the other 3 pisac hotels were booked when we made reservations. So of course we took the couch.

As a side note, this was the only place we stayed at in Peru where we ran out of hot water after 5 minutes in the shower. Our cheapest place of only 25 soles a night in Ollanta had more hot water!

What was most problematic however was the surly attitude we received, most likely a result of the fact that we did not fit their clientele model of hippy, hallucinogen consuming, workshop consumers. The owner is listed in the moon travel guide for shaman rituals likely using the san pedro cactus or ayahuasca (native hallucinogens). As we were your standard backpacking travelers we clearly stuck out and were not welcomed in the warmest sense.

On the flip side, the food prepared by the staff was excellent!

The Peruvian owner of Mulla (a pisac pub and highly recommended) upon hearing our plight immediately offered us a place to stay (we declined as we already paid paz y luz up front which is NOT a Peruvian business practice). The Peruvians and Peruvian businesses we have experienced have been miles ahead in their hospitality compared to the Americans we experienced at Paz y Luz.

Long story short, if you're a backpacker avoid this overpriced and pretentious facilities. Stick with the kind locals. If you wanna get all jiggy with hippies and hallucinogens at an exorbitant price this may be your place. Just don't expect hot water. Oh and don't change your flight hour or you'll confuse them.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank slm125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hettygd, Manager at Paz y Luz Guest, Healing and Conference Center, responded to this review, August 15, 2011
Our apologies for the double booking of your room.
You arrived the day after the owner came home, having just experienced the loss of her husband, which also had affected all the staff, including myself.
We had 2 big groups here filling up all rooms. All of them knew about the loss and respected the grieving space we were all in.
We did the best we could to rectify the problem, but it seems not to your satisfaction. I'm glad you enjoyed the meals though.
Again, I am so sorry that you felt you inconvenienced us and didn't feel like you could fit in.
I would like to set one thing straight though, the owner is trained in the ancient Andean way of shamanism never using " hallucinogens" as you assumed. We have very respectable, fully trained Plant Medicine people living next door who will guide people through their healing process using San Pedro and Ayahuasca.
Many blessings to you and I trust that the rest of your journey was pleasant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pisac hotels
0.0 mi away
Royal Inka Hotel Pisac
0.0 mi away
Melissa Wasi
Melissa Wasi
#4 of 18 in Pisac
158 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pisac Inn
Pisac Inn
#1 of 18 in Pisac
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
La Casa Del Conde
La Casa Del Conde
#2 of 18 in Pisac
199 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hospedaje Familiar Kitamayu
0.0 mi away
Hospedaje Chaska Pisac
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paz y Luz Guest, Healing and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paz y Luz Guest, Healing and Conference Center

Property: Paz y Luz Guest, Healing and Conference Center
Address: 1 kilometer from Pisac Bridge (to the right) | You Can Take a Taxi From Cusco Or Take a "Collectivo" Bus to Pisac. The Buses Leave From Calle Puputi Near the Rosas Pata Market in Cusco. The Drive Is Nearly 50 Minutes Form Cusco, Pisac, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Pisac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Pisac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paz y Luz means Peace and Light. It is a beautiful guest and conference center high up in the Andes where groups and individual travellers gather for workshops, to experience sacred healing sessions or simply to relax, while visiting the Pisac archeological site and famous market. Owner and healer Diane Dunn, a New Yorker, moved to Peru in 2000 and created this center where people from all over the world, with many spiritual and healing traditions can gather together in the powerful energy of the Andes. Paz y Luz offers 22 guest rooms, 3 two-bedroom bungalows, 2 dedicated healing rooms, heart centre with a spa,sauna,jaccuzi,yoga/activity room, a restaurant, relaxation spaces and a beautiful round glass conference room that is ideal for meditation, yoga, dance, art and other workshops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Paz y Luz Guest, Healing and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paz y Luz Guest, Healing And Conference Center Peru/Pisac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing