We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Earthy, Good-to-the-bones cuisine”
Review of Il Piccolo Forno

Il Piccolo Forno
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $5
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Il Piccolo Forno T'antaruaq, is a little pizzeria-lasagneria, the baker (T'antaruaq in Quechua)is Italian. We have a lot of products home made, food to go and to stay, we have also gluten free opcion like pizzas, lasagnas and cookies. We have also locals organic products, like cafe', chocolate, marmelades, olive oil. Our day off is Monday
Dallas, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Earthy, Good-to-the-bones cuisine”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Definitely try the green lasagna! I haven't ever had anything like it. The pizza crust was also delicious and a departure from the typical "kind-of pizza" that you find in Peru. I wish they had a location in the States!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Samuel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    69
    26
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great Food, Great People”
Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

We were recommended this restaurant by our hotel and wound up going a total of 3 times in 5 days for the food and even more so for the people. Great pizzas, salads (perfectly dressed), baked goods, etc. But the people top it all! Very friendly, warm, and helpful. They even went out of their way to help us with the alteration/pick up of a satchel we purchased there. Highly recommend this place :)

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sonia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Maryland
1 review
“Excellent little eatery with great service”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

As someone who is gluten free living in Peru this was the first place that offered homemade gf goodies. The woman who served us made great suggestions and the gf lasagna was amazing, as was the salad- very different but the best salad I've had in Peru. We also bought some jams to bring home which were amazing. Also the homemade ice cream was divine. I will definitely be making the trip back (from cusco) just to get some more gf delights!!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cutest place”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Loved this little place, especially the crispy chicken salad! The service was excellent, we returned several times!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank greenpointers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Excellent pizza and ice cream”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

The person who rated this lovely place "terrible" must have eaten at a different place: the waitress "yacked away" in Spanish? Perhaps this traveler did not notice that it is the official language of Peru? The owner, Mino, is Italian and makes very good pizza: the dough is friable and crusty, not elastic and chewy, but nonetheless very very good, and the cheese he has managed to find in Ollantaytambo substitutes adequately for mozzarella. The prosciutto is really good, and Sabrina, his wife, makes a great chocolate ice cream --I was told so by some other Italian friends because I was still on my "traveler's disease" diet. Locals come to il Piccolo Forno and there was no dog around. As for Sonia, the waitress, she was lovely and helpful. She brought me hot "mate de munia" which is good for the intestine. I am Italian and I grew up in South America. I can vouch that this place is genuine and the pizza is excellent. I wish I had had room in my only piece of luggage to take home some of Sabrina's jams. Both Mino and Sabrina are "graduates" of the Hearts Cafe (Sabrina was the manager) and that is a badge of concern with hygiene and sustainable development. I wish I had been able to stay longer in Ollanta and tasted all the things that they make.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MagaPhiladelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Piccolo Forno also viewed

Ollantaytambo, Sacred Valley
Ollantaytambo, Sacred Valley
 
Ollantaytambo, Sacred Valley
 

Been to Il Piccolo Forno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing