We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feeling at home in Ollantaytambo”
Review of B&B Picaflor Tambo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
B&B Picaflor Tambo
Ranked #2 of 33 Ollantaytambo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 15, 2013

After hiking the Inca trail to Mach Pichu (4 days 3 nights), my friend and I decided to stay in Ollantaytambo rather than go all the way back to Cusco. We stayed at the Picaflor Tambo and absolutely loved it. The staff was so friendly and welcoming. It really felt like my home in Ollantaytambo. If I ever find myself in Ollantaytambo again, I will be sure to book a room a Picaflour again. The room and bathroom were large, clean, and comfortable, and there was plenty of hot water. I found that many of my accommodations in Peru ran out of hot water part way through my shower, that wasn’t the case at Picaflor and after that hike I really needed a nice long shower. The home cooked breakfast was fantastic. The location is wonderful. I would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Summer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Picaflor676, Director of Sales at B&B Picaflor Tambo, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Thank you so much for your honest and appreciative review. We are pleased that you felt at home with us, that is the best compliment we can hope to aspire towards. Please know that you are always welcome with us. Muchas Gracias!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (293)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

194 - 200 of 293 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2013

Unlike many of the small towns we stayed in on a trip through the Sacred Valley, Ollantaytambo
is quite lovely. The best part is the Old Town area which was laid out and has been lived in from
Inka times. The Picaflor Tambo is in this historic area North of the main Plaza. The cozy room we stayed in had a balcony facing the small ruins on the mountains on the East of town. Clean and comfortable, the room was nice, but the nicest thing about this hotel is the staff. When we had trouble getting our Machu Picchu online, I asked them if they could. They where waiting for us on arrival.We had some problems with a credit card, and they helped with that also. Antonio,
who speaks very good English, helped us plan a day of sightseeing and a good place for lunch
This a great small hotel with a big heart, we will return..

Room Tip: Ask for 2nd floor facing East.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Picaflor676, Director of Sales at B&B Picaflor Tambo, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Thank you so much for your endorsement and recognition of what makes Picaflor Tambo and Ollantaytambo special. We are particularly pleased you appreciate being immersed in our living culture and history. We like to make all our guests' arrivals and stays as smooth as possible so you can focus on the most important thing, enjoying yourselves. We look forward to your return. Nos vemos pronto!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I was planning a trip to Machu Picchu and found an absolute gem of a town nestled in the mountains about nearby. The town of Ollantaytambo is steeped in Mayan history and has a mystical quality to it that is hard to find anywhere else in Peru.
The streets are cobbled and the river flows freely down channels cut into the ground. To say town has character would be an understatement.

And Picaflor Tambo is no exception. The rooms are large and the beds comfortable, great looking building. The views from the upper rooms are fantastic and the sound of rushing water from the streams is soothing and lends itself to a deep, satisfying sleep. The staff are very warm, personable and knowledgable.
Also, breakfast is included and you can request it for any time in the morning you want. So if you are planning an early morning trip to Machu Picchu, you will awaken to a hot cup of tea and delicious huevos revuelto.

I extended my stay here from four days to eight as I had such a good time. Highly recommend having this unique Peruvian experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AirborneMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Picaflor676, Director of Sales at B&B Picaflor Tambo, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to stay with us and for writing such a nice review.It was a pleasure to host you, especially as you are so appreciative of the Picaflor Tambo experience. Please come again one day on your next journey. Bien Viaje!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

You have to spend a day in Ollantaytambo. So stop on your way back from Machu Picchu and spend the night here! You will be able to feel like the Inka lived thousands of years ago in this true ancestral still inhabited town. But the best part is going home to Picaflor and the owner. You will feel welcome and taken care of. Very trustworthy and with all the comfort necessary. What a beautiful hotel/home. The bathrooms and in and outdoor balconies are enough to just spend time indoors. Rest, walk, eat, walk, rest...Picaflor

Room Tip: No bad rooms!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Acuheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Picaflor676, Director of Sales at B&B Picaflor Tambo, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Thank you so much for your upbeat review. It was a pleasure to have you to stay. We found your positive energy to be positive and inspiring too...we hope your stay in Olly at Picaflor Tambo recharged your soul with tranquility to keep you being so vitalized! Please come again. Nos vemos.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

I have rarely felt so personally welcome at a guest house than I did at Picaflor Tambo.

The house is located right at the bottom of the Pinkaluna ruins – in fact, we could see them from our bed. The rooms are huge, spotless and have everything we could need, including a flask of hot water and tea – a lovely touch. The beds are slightly smaller than many Europeans would expect, but this is the case across Peru.

Most of all, the people at Picaflor Tambo are friendly and eager to help, particularly by making suggestions as to what we might like to do in and around Ollantaytambo. It was suggested that we take a trip to the salt mines, which was one of the most impressive and fascinating parts of our whole trip. Most memorably, the owner of the house invited us to have Pisco Sours and popcorn with the other guests in the evening. She is such a charming and sparkling person that, despite my dreadful Spanish, we had many laughs, and I felt more like a personal friend rather than just another Machu Picchu tourist.

I would definitely stop in Ollantaytambo again and I would definitely stay at Picaflor Tambo.

Room Tip: If you can, get the Chaska ("star") room for a view of the ruins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Picaflor676, Director of Sales at B&B Picaflor Tambo, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. It makes us very happy when we know our guests have appreciated our work and for that reason we make a big effort to extend a warm welcome to all. Please come again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed July 5 and 6, so a little late with my review. Picaflor Tambo was the prettiest accomodation of our entire 2 week trip in Peru. We stayed in one of the larger rooms facing the ruins and overlooking soothing the babbling "stream." It had fresh flowers and a hot tea pot waiting for us. The decor in the room and common areas, including fresh flowers, was just so lovely. Comfortable bed. Good breakfast (They must have upgraded from some of the early negative reviews). We had coffee, tea, eggs, the wonderful bread, butter jam, cheese, olives, and fresh juice. Antonio took such good care of us, including carrying our bags, flagging down a moto-taxi for us, packing us a breakfast, etc. His english is not perfect -- yet -- but we had no problem communicating. He is teaching himself with American music and TV. He and the rest of the staff and owner were very friendly and accomodating
All of this said, people need to understand that these are simple Peruvian-style accomodations. The room did not have heat and was cold at night, although there were plenty of blankets. The walls are not soundproof, so you can hear noise from downstairs and outside. We found this to be the case even in the high-priced hotel in Cuzco. There is a bit of a trick to the hot water. Also, when we were there (Sat and Sun night), there is an illegal disco nearby that the owners are trying to have shut down. I travel with earplugs, and my husband is a good sleeper, so this did not bother us.
I have three suggestions -- The large room we stayed in was big enough to accomodate a small couch to sit on. This would have been nice. Also, it would have been really great to have real coffee instead of Nescafe. Finally, the staff is so service oriented, it would have been nice to know all of the things they can do for you. For example, they can pack your breakfast, or for a fee and if you order in advance, make a packed lunch. These can be very helpful when setting off early for Machu Picchu. Also, the help with the luggage was great, as Picaflor is up a lovely side "street" where the taxi can't go. They also arranged a driver for us who picked us up at Cusco airport, and took us to three amazing sights before bringing us to Picaflor. His name was Jesus (and he also has a small restaurant and hostel on the square). (He doesn't speak enough English to provide a full "guide" service, but between him and our guide books, it was great.) We went to Chinchero (lovely little town with church and dye/weaving community -- be advised though -- I paid $40 for my sweater, and found the same one in many markets for 35-40 soles!), Maras/Moray (a small town with very cool agricultural experimentation Inca ruins), and Salineras (amazing salt ponds). For this, we paid $85 plus tip, well worth it. (Of course, getting to Ollanta via collectivo is very possible and really cheap.)
In closing, this really is a perfect town to acclimatize and enjoy -- two great ruins, lots of restaurants, and a wonderful place to stay on the way to, or even while visiting MP (i.e., back and forth from Ollanta).
While we did not do this, it would be very eary to to a day trip to MP from here -- frankly, easier than packing up and moving to Aguas Calientes. We found, in any event that MP was really crowded early in the morning, what wth people trying to catch sunrise and the 8 a.m. Huaynu Picchu crowd. Avoid the market days too! Just as an example, we left on about a 9 a.m. train for MP, dropped our bags at the hotel, and got to MP about noon. By the time we got going with our guide, it was about one. It was less crowded then than the next day when we got there earlier for our 10 a.m. HP climb. And, we stayed until closing, by which time i had many photo shots with no one in them.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank DougCapHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Picaflor676, Director of Sales at B&B Picaflor Tambo, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Thank you for your thoughtful review and suggestions. You astutely observe that travellers have to adapt to the Andes as life in the Sacred Valley does have some supply and logistic challenges that we have to manage. We are pleased that you identified an important tip: Visiting Macchu Picchu from Picaflor Tambo is much more viable than staying in Agua Calientes which sadly isn't very charming and continues to be crowded and expensive. Staying at Macchu Picchu ruins during lunch with one of our pre-ordered lunch boxes means you reguarly have a deserted site for photography and more tranquil enjoyment, while the tours go en mass to find something to eat.

Thank you for taking the time to review and please visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

What a pleasant surprise to arrive in Ollantaytambo and find beautiful accommodations waiting for us. The beds were comfortable, rooms were clean and we had plenty of hot water! It felt like home. The staff, Lilia and Alejandro did a great job making our breakfast, opening the door for us every time we went in/out, and making us feel pampered with hot tea whenever we wanted. We celebrated Independence Day with the owners and staff. Ollantaytambo and the Picaflor Tambo were our favorite part of our trip to Peru. What an experience!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Picaflor676, Director of Sales at B&B Picaflor Tambo, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

We are so pleased that we consider Picaflor Tambo to be a highlight of your trip to Peru. That is the greatest compliment we could expect. Thank you for taking the time to write this and share and please come back to see us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ollantaytambo hotels
0.6 mi away
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
#1 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
1,719 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal Iskay
Hostal Iskay
#2 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
276 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Casa del Abuelo
La Casa del Abuelo
#3 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Intitambo Hotel
Intitambo Hotel
#5 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
199 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Samanapaq
Hotel Samanapaq
#6 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
394 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pakaritampu Hotel
Pakaritampu Hotel
#4 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Picaflor Tambo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Picaflor Tambo

Address: Lari Calle 444 | a siete metro de la entrada de la montaña Pinkuylluna, Ollantaytambo 08676, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Ollantaytambo
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Ollantaytambo
Price Range: $47 - $62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — B&B Picaflor Tambo 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Picaflor Tambo, a charming "bijou" guest house nestled beneath the sacred mountain of Pinkuylluna with beautiful balcony views of the ruins above and a peaceful aqua lullaby from the Inca water channels below.The house is centrally located within the living Inca town of Ollantaytambo and offers you a perfect relaxing "sojourn" and break before or after your next adventure to Machu Picchu, Choquequirao, the beauty of our Sacred Valley, Cusco or into the nearby delights of the jungle.Our house provides the discerning guest a tranquil and unique experience of Perú and its rustic mountain countryside in a comfortable and cozy atmosphere. The house is beautifully furnished, showcasing local craftsmanship and wood carving in traditional style for a truly authentic experience of our heritage.We look forward to helping you with your booking and making your stay with us very special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your B&B Picaflor Tambo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
B&B Picaflor Tambo Ollantaytambo, Peru - Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing