We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay”
Review of Apu Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Apu Lodge
Ranked #2 of 30 Ollantaytambo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Boulder, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Apu lodge is a gem of a place, tucked away on a quiet pedestrian street in Ollantaytambo. Don't even think of staying in an expensive place down by the train station, those are on a street that virtually every tourist in Peru drives down at some point. Apu lodge is quiet, comfortable, clean, has a great breakfast, and feels like an oasis. Carlos, Ruth, and Louise are kind and attentive, and will make you feel right at home.

Room Tip: If you want a garden patio ask for a room on the first floor, if you want a view over the rooftops o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    101
    29
    8
    6
See reviews for
111
162
40
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We spent the weekend in Ollantaytambo and were glad to have chosen Apu Lodge. The location is superb, at the end of a sweet street with excellent views. They have a great garden where you can relax on a hammock. The rooms are simple, but clean and have nice views of the ruins. We enjoyed meeting the different employees and volunteers at Apu Lodge. They did an excellent job making us feel right at home.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarenT60864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed here for two days in late March in order to adapt a bit to the altitudes before heading to Cusco. What a great idea. Apu lodge has made our stay in Olly a great one. Very helpful staff (Monica, Michael, Ruth, Carlos), comfortable rooms with the best views of the city and the surroundings. Nice breakfast in the morning :-) I would stay here again without hesitation and wish these guys all the best.

Room Tip: they all have a good view but I would think that the ones on the top (where we were) have a better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lamax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

An excellent way to avoid altitude sickness is to spend 2-3 days in the Sacred Valley area and ideally at Apu Lodge in Ollantaytambo. The staff was friendly, hospitable and made us feel like home. Monica, Michael, Ruth, Carlos were all more than willing to answer our questions about the area or just chat. The lodge is at a good location, 10 min away from the main square and right across from the Ollantaytambo ruins. Our room was large with five beds and a balcony. Breakfast was cereal, eggs, fruit, bread, juice and coffee or tea. Drinking water was available in lounge area at no charge. Breakfast was prepared and left for us in breakfast area at 5:00 am for our early morning visit to Machu Picchu. Laundry can be done on request. The walls of the lodge are decorated with work from local artists. Beutiful views of surrounding mountains and Ollantaytambo ruins from our room and from the lodge yard. This lodge is a good find and value!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nomadtrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed in Ollantaytambo for 3 nights at the Apu Lodge B&B and had a wonderful time.
The staff there is amazing, they even train local volunteers so they learn English and as expected are also very nice. They arrange a taxi driver to pick us up at the Cusco airport for S100 (soles) and he was there waiting for us when we arrived, making the beginning of our stay in Perú unforgettable.

There is no car access to the Apu Lodge, so the cab driver has to leave the car at the central plaza and in our case helped us with the luggage to the lodge up the narrow cobbled stone street (or you can call the Lodge and they will carry the luggage for you - in our case, we didn't have a phone).

The breakfast is outstanding. Breads, coffee, coca tea, orange juice, jams, fruits, local cereals, and eggs (fried or scrambled). It was yummy, even my son - the pickiest of eaters was able to fill himself with breads and cereal. They keep teas in the lobby for you to help yourself any time you like, which is a great convenience and saves you S2-3 every time you crave a drink. They also sell other items in the menu per request.

The room we stayed at was a family suite with a super comfortable queen size bed and a twin. The bedding was high quality and very comfy. I have back problems and this bed was just heaven! The room was small in size and the bathrooms are tiny, but I guess they do for what you need. There are no hair dryers, so either bring one or I guess you can request for one. There is also no real storage area, only two hanging racks so you have to keep your clothes in the suitcase. One thing I definitely did not enjoy is that in all Perú you can't throw toilet paper in the toilet, so everything has to go in a garbage can. But it does get pick up daily with morning room service. :)

Our room was nice and quiet, decorated with fresh garden flowers and clean wood floors. Note that it was not in the peak of the high season, so only on Sunday night the town had loud music until late. If you are allergic to mold and pollen, make sure to take your meds, it is moist and if you are a hound like me you can definitely tell. Remember there is no A/C but you really do not need it, the air is fresh and cool at this time of year. Leaving the window open for a while cools down the room enough for the whole night. Do not leave lights on while you have window or door open, as plenty of moths will find their way in.

The hotel is right below the Pinkuylluna Ruins. It is a stunning place for hiking and striking views. It took us one hour plus up (with breaks in between) and about 45 minutes down. We did go all the way to the very top. But I do not recommend going alone if you are not a trained hiker, it is quite steep and dangerous as there is no 'formal' path. We were lucky to find Ruoy Peña Rojas with his son and dog that day, they not only guided us up and down safely but also explained the history of the place. He said he is an anthropologist and does tours of the local places, I highly recommend him! He is super nice and knowledgeable; but I think he only speaks Spanish. We gave them a good tip and many blessings for keeping us safe. He said if I knew anyone interested of visiting to spread the word, so you can contact him at taytarumi@hotmail.com

Overall this B&B was awesome and peaceful. After arriving back in Cusco, I wished we would have stayed there our entire vacation. The small town feel, the locals and the peaceful safe location made it a winner for me. I suggest you consider staying there and traveling to other places you may want to visit from there, it is worth it every penny. The train is a short walk away and the cab drivers can negotiate a good fare to nearby towns (they are located on a side street near the town bridge).

Key things to keep in mind:
*Be careful if you are coming from low altitude as you may feel a bit out of air as you walk to the lodge. Take medication for altitude sickness ahead of time just in case.
*Never pay full price for any souvenir at the town, everything is negotiable!
*Drink plenty of fluids and wear sunblock, the sun is strong!

Room Tip: If traveling with family pick room 1 or above 1. It is the farthest from the kitchen and no neighbor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trotterMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belize City, Belize
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

The Apu Lodge is not in the main center of town. It is just a few minutes walk on a cobblestone path. If you make prior arrangements the hotel will send someone to the town center to help with your luggage. As I opened the gate to the property I was amazed at the beauty of the grounds. There were flowers everywhere. The hotel itself was a beautiful cream color. The staff were amazing and spoke English. I was in my room in a matter of minutes. The lobby has an area for sitting around a fireplace and just chatting away the night. They have complimentary computer with internet services. My room was very clean and bright with two windows. It had plenty of hot water which was wonderful after a day of climbing the ruins. It had a chair outside with incredible views of the surrounding mountains. I had a wonderful evening there getting to know the people that were there.

Room Tip: I dont think there is a bad room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bren1125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsport, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayed in Ollantaytambo at the Apu Lodge for 5 nights and were extremely pleased and wouldn't hesitate to stay here if we return to the area. We used Apu Lodge as our base of operations for exploring Machu Picchu, Sacred Valley, and Cusco.
As everyone mentions, it is a bit of a hike up a cobblestone path to get to the hotel; however, we arranged a driver through the Lodge who picked us up when we landed in Cusco and he and another staff member helped the three of us get our bags to the hotel (which also showed us where it was!). I will highly recommend contacting the hotel in advance and let them help arrange your arrival, the drivers they use are good, reliable, and quite reasonable (100 Sol for the three of us for door to door service).
The owner and staff at the lodge were friendly and extremely helpful, can't say enough good things about all of them! They all gave great tips, hints, and answered any questions we had (and some we didn't know enough to ask) as well as helping arrange for tours and drivers.
This is an older building in a very old town, if you are looking for a sterile, modern resort, this is not going to be your flavor. Hot water is not always easy to come by later in the day or evening for showers, you are right next to the jungle and surrounded by gardens so there are bugs that may get in the room, and you may notice the power ebbs and flows a bit, but this is Peru and not the Vegas Strip!
From the Lodge, you can easily walk to many restaurants, markets, ATMs/Money Exchanges, and the train station. The train station is about 10-15 minutes for walking, but if you can't handle a little walk, Peru probably wasn't the best choice for your vacation in the first place.
We had a great experience from start to finish and definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor to get the best views from your windows. We had rooms 21 and 22...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldZombie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ollantaytambo hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Samanapaq
Hotel Samanapaq
#6 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
367 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal Iskay
Hostal Iskay
#2 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
247 reviews
0.7 mi away
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
#1 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
1,599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Casa del Abuelo
La Casa del Abuelo
#4 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
404 reviews
0.1 mi away
Intitambo Hotel
Intitambo Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
177 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pakaritampu Hotel
Pakaritampu Hotel
#5 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apu Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apu Lodge

Property: Apu Lodge
Address: Lari Calle s/n | Urubamba, Ollantaytambo 84, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Ollantaytambo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Ollantaytambo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Apu Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apu Lodge is a boutique bed-and-breakfast located in the pedestrian Inca streets of the village of Ollantaytambo and its position on a terrace gives it a fantastic view from all rooms. It has spacious gardens, visited by humming birds, hammocks to relax in after your hike to Machu Picchu or other ruins, and is very peaceful. All rooms have views, private bathrooms with excellent shower and are furnished with simple elegance. Dinner is served in our restaurant. English spoken and excellent advice given on local sites, tours and taxis can be arranged. Please call from the plaza for assistance with luggage as there is no vehicle access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Apu Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apu Hotel Ollantaytambo
Apu Lodge Ollantaytambo, Peru - Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing