We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just right - the right place - the right people!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Las Orquideas
Ranked #17 of 21 Hotels in Ollantaytambo
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We used the hotel as our base whilst in Peru for 3 weeks. The rooms are modest, very clean and perfectly located close to the train back from Machu Picchu - handy after hiking for 5 days. The team there are very helpful - always smiling and willing to do the extra little things if you ask. In the centre is a lovely garden to relax by at night as you complete your journal or have a quiet coca tea.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 83 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2013

Stayed here for a night before we set off on our Machu Picchu Inca Trek. Location is perfect to explore this gem of a village (so beautiful). The rooms were basic but just what we needed. The family that run this hotel was so helpful. A friend of mine had hurt her back and they filled and re filled a hot water bottle for her several times. They also kept some of our luggage while we did the trek and had them ready for us on our return a couple of days later. Definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerry870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

My Fam and I, stayed 2 days, in this hotel.
due to bad weather conditions, there was no power or water in town, but the hotel had their own water supply and generator.
This hotel is in a perfect location, close to train station, which was great because we were able to get our tickets on time to get to Machupicchu. The rooms were very spacious, nice and clean, Staff was wonderful, their breakfast was good enough to start your morning. Great time in Ollantaytambo and thank you to Hotel Las Orquideas for making are trip to Cusco a wonderful experience !!!!
Maribel Reyes de Ingles
East Haven, CT USA

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maribel I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

This hotel was booked for us by our travel agency for one night. Via the trip advisor we have read that we should ask a room on a upper floor, what we really did and we also received at reception by a friendly young man. The place of the hotel was very convenient and it was very quiet in the night. We could sleep with open window and it was fantastic. The rooms were modest and clean. The hotel had also wifi, but not in the room. I have got a signal only on the steps outside. It was raining and quite cold, so it was not very convenient place. At 8 p.m. it was centrally disconnected without any warning. I had written everal e-mails which have not been yet sent so in the morning I asked the woman who was serving us the breakfast what happened. She started than to swich on the very well covered computer and she did not look very happy with my request. Afterwards she gave us with angry face very poor breakfast and quickly closed the door to the kitchen and went to the garden. It was not very client friendly.

Room Tip: Upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eva O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

After the busy, narrow streets of the village the garden is a small oasis. OK, the rooms may not be the most modern and luxurious but they are perfectly adequate. No problems with hot water. Breakfast was basic but served with a smile, which goes a long way. Only stayed for one night but would have been happy to spend a few nights there.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PashWagMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

We only stayed one night on our way to the Inka Trail. It was a lovely simple room, but if you stay make sure they know what time you'd like breakfast. We were a bit disappointed because at 8:00 am there was still no sign of any person or breakfast even though it was supposed to be included.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laurenjoyous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

This is one of the only places on our three week trip where we staying for two nights and we were looking forward to chilling out in a nice hotel...

But, alas, what a disappointment! The room and bathroom were small and being on the ground floor made me nervous. Very basic and sparse furniture, made worse by the fact that the staff had gone into our room on our second day and taken a chair (replaced it with a stool!!) out of the room and moved all our things which I was not happy with.

The breakfast consisted of bread and jam, didn't bother on our second day and went out for breakfast. Downstairs garden tatty and sitting area full of locals giving us the beady eye with the odd ferrel cat roaming around.

The hotel was booked on our behalf by our tour company. Wish we had checked their choices more carefully and rejected this one.

On the plus side, it's on the road to the station and there is a fab restaurant next to the river about two minutes walk away, where we finally had our time to relax!!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClaireB7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ollantaytambo hotels
0.2 mi away
La Casa del Abuelo
La Casa del Abuelo
#3 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
419 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostel Andenes
Hostel Andenes
#9 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
203 reviews
0.2 mi away
Munay Tika
Munay Tika
#16 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Intitambo Hotel
Intitambo Hotel
#5 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
194 reviews
0.4 mi away
Inka Paradise Hotel
Inka Paradise Hotel
#19 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
154 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostal Iskay
Hostal Iskay
#2 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Las Orquideas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Orquideas

Address: Avda Ferrocarril s/n, Ollantaytambo, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Ollantaytambo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 21 Hotels in Ollantaytambo
Price Range: $38 - $54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Las Orquideas 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer you comfortable and clean rooms with private bathrooms and 24 hour hot water, beautiful gardens and the best views of Ollantaytambo, together with all our attention and experience at your service, to make your visit to Ollantaytambo a unique and unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Las Orquideas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Las Orquideas Ollantaytambo
Hotel Las Orquideas Ollantaytambo, Peru - Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing