We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cool Ruins” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Archaeological Park Ollantaytambo

Archaeological Park Ollantaytambo
Book In Advance
More Info
$184.00*
and up
Private Tour: Sacred Valley Biking Adventure Including Ollantaytambo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Cool Ruins”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

Due to a slight change of itinerary, we toured these ruins after our MP visit. Definitely try to get to these ruins as early as possible in the morning to beat out the big bus tour groups. Also consider a tour with a guide, as there is some very neat history about this site and there are no informational signs. Our private guide, Chino, was raised in Ollantaytambo and had some really cool insights into the stories and excavations of the ruins. The views of the town of Ollantaytambo were great from the top of the ruins. A thorough tour of the site will be about 2 hours. As a side note, the public restrooms at this site were not too clean.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank NBLAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,354 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,529
    770
    49
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Morristown, Tennessee
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“My favorite ruins after Machu Picchu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

I truly loved this place. I went alone, and without a guide, simply because I wanted alone time. This place was awesome - lots of climbing and the most beautiful views.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lisa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huaraz, Peru
Level Contributor
89 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Avoid going in the afternoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

...because it is too crowded then. However, it's always worth it; slightly less impressive as the Pisaq ruins maybe, but definitely cool.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank guidoinperu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
151 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Go here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

This was a great site, really fine stone work, but what is really interesting is the surrounding town. You can really get a feel for the alleyways and the the water system by taking a bit of time and walking around it the area below the ruins.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank WanderlustSal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silsbee, Texas
Level Contributor
165 reviews
127 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Another Spectacular Sight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

During a recent visit to Cusco, we had a guided day tour outside the city. One of the places that we visited was Ollantaytambo. It is not only a town but, also, an Inca archaeological site in southern Peru. Although not as spectacular as Machu Picchu, it was definitely worth the visit.

Our tour bus dropped us off in a square that was lined on one side by shops and on the other by open-air vendors. Both offered wide varieties of souvenirs, as well as, drinks and snacks. If you don't have a bottle of water, I would recommend buying one here before beginning the tour.

We followed our guide through an arched entrance to the base of the ruins. After a brief description/explanation of the terraced areas, we began the staircase ascent. The altitude will take a toll on the unsuspecting. Our guide was aware of this and stopped several times to let us catch "our breaths". And the higher we got, the more amazing the views, especially, of the steep mountainside opposite the ruins.
It was on this mountain where agricultural storehouses were built.

Arriving at the top of the terraces, is the temple sector. The main place of note here is the six gigantic blocks that belonged to the Temple of the Sun. These enormous stones stand vertically and perfectly aligned.

From the top is a narrow path that winds back down the ruins to the intihuatana or sundial. And at the base of the structure are Incan fountains.

A good place to tour if time in the Sacred Valley permits.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Texans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Archaeological Park Ollantaytambo also viewed

Machu Picchu, Sacred Valley
 
Machu Picchu, Sacred Valley
Ollantaytambo, Sacred Valley
 

Been to Archaeological Park Ollantaytambo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing