We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Spectacular Sight”

Archaeological Park Ollantaytambo
Book In Advance
More Info
$78.98*
and up
Sacred Valley, Pisac and Ollantaytambo Full-Day Tour from Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Silsbee, Texas
Level Contributor
167 reviews
127 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Another Spectacular Sight”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

During a recent visit to Cusco, we had a guided day tour outside the city. One of the places that we visited was Ollantaytambo. It is not only a town but, also, an Inca archaeological site in southern Peru. Although not as spectacular as Machu Picchu, it was definitely worth the visit.

Our tour bus dropped us off in a square that was lined on one side by shops and on the other by open-air vendors. Both offered wide varieties of souvenirs, as well as, drinks and snacks. If you don't have a bottle of water, I would recommend buying one here before beginning the tour.

We followed our guide through an arched entrance to the base of the ruins. After a brief description/explanation of the terraced areas, we began the staircase ascent. The altitude will take a toll on the unsuspecting. Our guide was aware of this and stopped several times to let us catch "our breaths". And the higher we got, the more amazing the views, especially, of the steep mountainside opposite the ruins.
It was on this mountain where agricultural storehouses were built.

Arriving at the top of the terraces, is the temple sector. The main place of note here is the six gigantic blocks that belonged to the Temple of the Sun. These enormous stones stand vertically and perfectly aligned.

From the top is a narrow path that winds back down the ruins to the intihuatana or sundial. And at the base of the structure are Incan fountains.

A good place to tour if time in the Sacred Valley permits.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Texans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,570 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,695
    812
    55
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Queensbury, New York
Level Contributor
77 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fascinating ruins. Must see.”
Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Although Ollaytantambo was not our main destination (Machu Picchu was), I am so glad we visited. It's quite different, lesser in size than Machu Picchu, but a site to be truly appreciated nonetheless. Be prepared to be out of breath climbing to the top and bring a walking stick if you have one. Plenty of vendors sell walking sticks at the entrance.
In fact, you must go through a marketplace to get to and from your bus to the ruins. Locals are VERY pushy trying to sell their wares and will swarm your bus and follow you around until inside the ruins. Oh yes, bring your own toilet paper and hand sanitizers. Sometimes TP and hand soap ate not available. And, sometimes there is a charge to use the toilets.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TessiR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A must-see but go early”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

My sister and I stayed in Ollantaytambo for a few days and this was one of our favorite things there. I liked this better than Machu Picchu. We listened to what other reviewers said and got there early and the place was pretty much empty. I really recommend doing this because by the time we left it was getting much more crowded from the tour groups. We chose not to hire a guide and instead wandered around on our own for several hours. The site itself is very impressive and MUCH larger than I was expecting. You have a great view of the town from the top and we took some great pictures. This is included in the Cusco Boleto Turistico.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank SarahA27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gracias Pablo!”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Thanks to Pablo Cesar Tapia of Condor Travel for his insightful tour of Ollantaytambo and the Sacred Valley,and also to Escape To Latin America for arranging the tours whle i visited Peru. Timely pick ups, confirmation calls, a complete ease of travel.
Pablo gracias por compartir de tus experiencias en este bello lugar. Pablo and Condor Travel made this an unforgettable experience.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank hncirie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
327 reviews
150 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Go early to avoid crowds”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We stayed in Ollantaytambo and woke up early so we could go see the ruins. At 7:30 it opens and we were the only ones there. For about 1 hour as we walked around we only saw two other people. The actually ruins are huge, and we were glad we beat all the tour buses that arrive around 9.30

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ironian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Archaeological Park Ollantaytambo also viewed

Machu Picchu, Sacred Valley
Machu Picchu, Sacred Valley
 
Ollantaytambo, Sacred Valley
 

Been to Archaeological Park Ollantaytambo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing