We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible ruins”

Archaeological Park Ollantaytambo
Book on TripAdvisor
More Info
$78.98*
and up
Sacred Valley, Pisac and Ollantaytambo Full-Day Tour from Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Incredible ruins”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

After staying in Olla we took a tour back to Cusco - starting with the temple in Olla. It was an amazing site and our guide had lot of interesting information. It is a slightly difficult walk after all the hiking around Macchu Picchu but in general not very tiring. You get a lot of knowledge about the Spanish advancement into different regions, the quarries, and how the Incas built and fortified their towns. A must see!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Apu D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,578 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,702
    813
    55
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Go in the morning to avoid the crowds!”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

These Inca ruins are second only to Macchu Pichu. Best time to visit is in the morning to avoid the busloads of tourists, and to get the clear views of the mountains.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank clive b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
253 reviews
172 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“Beautiful Ruins for the Region”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

I visited Ollantaytambo as part of a group on our way to Machu Picchu. The ruins themselves were fairly small but still a must-visit should you be in the area. If you've already seen several ruins in the country before visiting Ollantaytambo, you will definitely be in burnout mode.

Here are a few of my pointers: #1 If you're looking for something unique and non-commercialized, you've probably come to the wrong place. There is a market just outside the entrance to the ruins and homes literally just outside the walls. Obviously the town was built around the ruins, but the result is that the ruins feel urban rather than serene. #2 The market just outside looks like tourist central and can feel somewhat overwhelming at times. My hotel was within walking distance, but I watched as bus loads and bus loads of tourists were shuttled in and could feel the frenzy in the air. Some people wouldn't care, but it took away from my personal experience. #3 There are some interesting structures on the hill across from the ruins and I learned they are granaries where ancient Incas stored their food. You can access the granaries via a separate route and I highly recommend you do so, should you have the time. #4 There are a few other souvenir shops and restaurants within walking distance of the ruins. It wouldn't be a bad idea to walk around and see what else the area has to offer.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank appetite4trvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“a warm up for MP”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

This temple is a few hours from Machu Picchu and has simple access through the ancient town, but the roads can get clogged on busy days. It is a straightforward place to visit, lacking the complexity of Machu Picchu.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank rubybellissimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Bloody amazing.”
Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

I felt at peace & truly amazed when I visited this sight. Seeing it the next morning when no one was around was even more impressive.

Helpful?
Thank llanita84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Archaeological Park Ollantaytambo also viewed

Machu Picchu, Sacred Valley
Machu Picchu, Sacred Valley
 
Ollantaytambo, Sacred Valley
 

Been to Archaeological Park Ollantaytambo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing