We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the decor and location”
Review of SAUCE Hostal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
SAUCE Hostal
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Ollantaytambo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Sauce hotel is quite small and no elevator but the décor and rooms were just wonderful. The knit hats in the lobby were very cute. Breakfast was great. The staff were nice and some spoke English. It was a fun place to stay to watch all the folks walk by in the morning on their way to school or work. The wifi worked out in the middle of nowhere. Nice short walk to the train station. It was very nice of them to keep our big luggage for our overnight trek to MP.

Room Tip: More quiet off the street but you can see the world go by on the street side.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gfarmer668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (214)
There are newer reviews for SAUCE Hostal
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

81 - 87 of 214 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Sauce Hostal. We were there for only a night, but found the accommodations to be very clean and comfortable and the staff were extremely friendly.

The hotel is located across from the ruins in Ollantaytambo, so offers good views and a great location.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank richardsmyname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We were two families with 4 kids who stayed for one night at this inn which is conveniently located close to the ruins, train station and the market square. On our way to Aquas Calientes from Cusco we left behind some luggage that was properly cared for till we returned the next day in the evening. The evening we were there was a festive one in town since it was the full moon and there was a festival to the Lord of the Towers. There was singing and dancing in the square and processions through the town. Our children made friends with kids of people who worked in the inn and walked around this safe town till late in the night. The Innkeeper was extremely friendly and hospitable and made this place feel just like home. Breakfast in the morning was fried eggs and cereal and was good. There was a lady selling amazing beef and chicken skewers right outside the hotel. Don't miss this pre ruin climb snack !

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chulsoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Excellent location. Close to the train station, market place, ruins. Small hotel,6-8 rooms, clean leanings, heaters in the rooms. Shower was good, but had to give a little time for the water to get worm. Stayed in room 15, our friends - in 13. Internet slow. Took the train to MP and back. Juvista and her husband were very friendly and helpful. Ollyantaytambo is a small town (village) with a lot of homeless dogs.
The rate for the room is a little too high for this kind of hotel/hostal. We paid 330s/$132.94 for 2 nights.
Good restaurans in Ollanta: Puka Rumi, hearts cafe

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We were happy to have chosen this hotel as our home-base in the Sacred Valley and would recommend it again highly. Ollyan is a lovely little town with shops, restaraunts, bars and RUINS to explore. I thought it much nicer than near-by Urubamba. STAY HERE
Llubitza and Ephraim are hands-on owners running the hotel and it's like you are in their home. Nice to come home at end of day to sit in the front parlor and have some mate de coca. The breakfast buffet was nice each morning. The rooms and beds were clean and comfortable and bathrooms just fine- plenty of hot water, working toilets, clean. It was easy to book this- Llubitza answers e-mails quickly! Price is reasonable. The location is perfect- near the ruins (our window in our room overlooked the ruins-cool) and near lots of restaraunts. The "Old Town" area and plaza are close. It can be noisey at times as it is off the main drag to ruins and plaza- just take earplugs if you're a light sleeper. The train station to Aguas Calientes is near-by. The hosts helped us with transfers from Cusco, taxis to other places. They are just nice, genuine people who care about their guests! I would choose it again!

Room Tip: away from the main street, overlooking the ruins is perfect
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caymama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed here for two nights on our way and returning from Manchu Picchu. This property is a nice small hotel. The owners are helpful and made us feel welcome. Normally breakfast is starts at 7. We were to catch an early trains to MP, and they laid out an early breakfast.

There is internet, albeit slow at times, and no television in the rooms. Rooms are clean. The street side rooms can be noisy until about 10 PM. There are several excellent restaurants within walking distance.

Room Tip: Rooms without a view are quieter.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WisRiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Sauce is not a hostel but a 3* Hotel. Many rooms have direct view on Ollantaytambo Ruins and this is avery good reason to stay here. Rooms are clean and customer service perfect. The only minus is the rate as is double than other BB in the same village (you pay the view and the 3* facilities). Ollantaytambo is a beatifull village. recomended if you have the budget of 50$ (low season) or 100$ high season. The view on the ruins is unique

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spanishca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ollantaytambo hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Samanapaq
Hotel Samanapaq
#6 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
376 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Casa del Abuelo
La Casa del Abuelo
#4 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
409 reviews
0.5 mi away
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
#1 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
1,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hostal Iskay
Hostal Iskay
#2 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
257 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pakaritampu Hotel
Pakaritampu Hotel
#5 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
635 reviews
0.2 mi away
Intitambo Hotel
Intitambo Hotel
#3 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SAUCE Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SAUCE Hostal

Address: Ventiderio 248, Ollantaytambo, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Ollantaytambo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Ollantaytambo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ollantaytambo
Price Range: $88 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — SAUCE Hostal 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia and Hotwire so you can book your SAUCE Hostal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sauce Hostal Hotel Ollantaytambo
Sauce Hotel Ollantaytambo
SAUCE Hostal Ollantaytambo, Peru - Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing