We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”
Review of Pakaritampu Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pakaritampu Hotel
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Ollantaytambo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 5, 2009

What a wonderful hotel, wonderful views, great rooms. An unexpected jewel in the middle of know where.

Was here as part of a Gap Adventure comfort tour. Would recommend this to anyone wanting to see Ollantaytambo.

We ate at the blue puppy and had a great meal

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JuneMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (652)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

430 - 436 of 652 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2009

Beautiful grounds; nice landscaping, pretty flowers, cute llamas.....Service leaves much to be desired! Okay, it's an attractive hotel, but that's about it. The front-desk staff (with the exception of one friendly staff member who we met in the morning) are aloof and very UNaccomodating. Our room was clean, but we were awakened at 5 a.m. with laughing and loud talking from people close to our room (thin walls, I suppose). This was our last choice, anyway, because the other two hotels we desired were booked. Dont' waste your money. Instead, check out El Abergue and KB Tambo Hostal. We took a look at both of these grounds, and the staff were quite welcoming and friendly, although booked. However, we were able to have lunch at KB Tambo, and it was tasty!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nikkolilycody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2009

I was a bit concerned when we arrived in Ollantaytambo that our hotel stay would be much more basic than anticipated, however we were pleasantly surprised when we pulled up to the hotel.. Pakaritampu is a very nice hotel in a beautiful setting. The gardens were amazing, room are spacious and comfortable, and there are several balconies and sitting areas in/around each building. The only issues we had here are water related - very little hot water, and no running water overnight. I don't know if any other hotels in Ollantaytambo would be much better. It would have been nice to take one last hot shower before hiking the Inca Trail, however given the charm of this place we'd still give it an excellent rating.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mkchicago1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed our 1 night at Hotel Pakaritampu en route to Machu Picchu. The hotel grounds are beautifully maintained with flowers throughout. Our room was lovely and offered a wonderful view. The town of Ollantaytambo, while quite small, possesses some charm - at least enough for a day or two, but that's likely all. As others have mentioned, the train station is just down the road from the hotel which is another point in the hotel's favor. We would absolutely return to Hotel Pakaritampu.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kirby3b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2009

The hotel had a beautiful garden with flowers and birds and comprised several separate buildings. We chose this hotel because it had good reviews and because it was the only available three days before our trip to Ollantaytambo. No wonder, as it was quite expensive as compared to any other hotels around. Its location was perfect to take the train to Machu Picchu.

However the young lady at reception was a little bit too authoritative and opinionated. That was a bit of a shock as compared to the kindness and helpfulness of the personel we had encountered in all the other Peru hotels. It seemed that she thougth she was "very important" just because she worked in one of the most expensive hotel in town.
As soon as we arrived she insisted in having the exact details of our train tickets to Aguas Calientes (and we had not even got them!!!). We might not even want to go to Machu Picchu but just stay in Ollantaytambo (OK, unlikely but...). Of course we ignored her. Then we asked her about an alternative route to go to Aguas calientes instead of the train. A friend of us, from Cusco, had told us about it. It is quite a long trip involving buses or taxis but apparently the views were wonderful and as we were not in a hurry to arrive, so we wanted to explore this possibility before going to MP. She strongly ruled out this and said that it was not possible bla, bla, etc, etc, she claimed that, as the hotel was responsible for us, she could not advise us to do such a trip blabla.. A little bit too patronizing in my opinion, as we are grown up travelers who just wanted some information, not her opinion. Maybe this trip would prevent her from having our train details, her main interest apparently. Later, other hotel employees confirmed that it was indeed possible to do such a trip and offered a driver for us.

Everything else was fine (excepting that they did not have wi-fi!!, a service common in the humbliest hotels we have stayed in in Peru). Unfortunately, in the evening the light went off due to an electrical problem in town. The hotel has its own generator so electricity was fine, BUT the water pump did not have enough power to get to our rooms so in the morning we were out of water (not even in the toilet) for quite a while until they fixed the problem.
Finally please see attached (photo 2) a picture of a "friendly" note found in the back of our door.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank curraMadrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2009

We were so excited when we first pulled up into this hotel. It's absolutely beautiful! Yes, the hotel is simple but the rooms are clean and spacious and it has a bit of a cottage feel to it. THe main building has a common area with a big fireplace and a large TV room where you can grab a drink or a coffee/tea and hang out. Breakfast was simple but sufficient. It's a 10 minute walk into town and a 5 minute walk to the train station- which is convenient as people normally stay in this town to catch the train to Macchu Pichu anyway. The gardens are amazing - flowers, trees...and even alpacas. If you get a chance to stay at this hotel, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travellingcdg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2009

I stayed here with my partner for 3 nights when we used Ollanta as a based to explore the Sacred Valley and Machu Picchu. The hotel grounds are really lovely and beautifully tended and the rooms simple but clean. So why the so-so review? You just can't help feeling that the hotel wishes it were more than it is or that it was in different place. There's a sterility to the hotel and a coolness on the part of the staff that reminds one of a large chain hotel. We also found the lack or responsiveness quite irritating -- I had written to inquire about availability and never received a response. After writing several more times, we finally received a reply and eventually secured a reservation with the help of someone in Lima. Subsequent requests for information on tours to Machu Picchu went completely unanswered and we ended up making these arrangements through the wonderful hotel at which we stayed in Cusco. (Torre Dorada -- review to come.) The hotel also does not provide drinking water in the room; I'm pretty sure it's the most expensive hotel in Ollanta and I found this lack of a common necessity and convenience (which was provided in every other place we stayed in Peru) annoying. It seems inconsistent with the hotel's aspiration to position itself as semi-luxury property.

The breakfast buffet was quite nice and the coffee was good. However, we did not dine in the restaurant at night. We had originally planned to, but the dining room looks like, well, a breakfast/lunch room. The prices for dinner are the highest in Ollanta and there is no ambiance. We loved the place we ate the first night (Mayupata) and returned for the great food, pisco sours, and atmosphere of the restaurant, which is situated on the river and candle-lit for dinner.

As for Ollanta, we thought it made a good base for exploring the valley, but the town itself is not much to look at. The ruins are impressive but we did not sense the charm of this city touted by several guidebooks. We would have stayed in Aguas Calientes the night before Machu Picchu if we had it to do over.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank espaustx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ollantaytambo hotels
0.1 mi away
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
#1 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
1,718 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hostal Iskay
Hostal Iskay
#2 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
276 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Casa del Abuelo
La Casa del Abuelo
#3 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Del Pilar Ollantaytambo Hotel
Del Pilar Ollantaytambo Hotel
#15 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
9 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Samanapaq
Hotel Samanapaq
#6 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
394 reviews
0.5 mi away
Intitambo Hotel
Intitambo Hotel
#5 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pakaritampu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pakaritampu Hotel

Address: Ave. Ferrocarril 852, Ollantaytambo, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Ollantaytambo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ollantaytambo
#3 Family Hotel in Ollantaytambo
Price Range: $178 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pakaritampu Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The name "Pakaritampu" derives from the Quechua words "pakari" which means "dawn" and "tampu" wich means "home"..Pakaritampu Hotel is located in the Sacred Valley in the village of Ollantaytambo to 2minutes from the train station with direct connection to Machupicchu. The town of Ollantaytambo is the starting point of the Inca Trail, a beautiful place thatoffers various tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Pakaritampu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pakaritampu Hotel Ollantaytambo, Peru - Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing