We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”
Review of Pakaritampu Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pakaritampu Hotel
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Ollantaytambo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 26, 2014

We really enjoyed our 2 night stay here. It is very convenient for the train station, ruins, shops and restaurants. The gardens are lovely and the rooms very comfortable - ours, (classed as 'Superior'), had a large double bed and the bathroom had a useful washing line over the bath & shower. There was a good selection of food at breakfast. The hotel also stored our luggage for us for 1 night when we went to Machu Picchu.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mischa60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (648)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

242 - 248 of 648 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night prior to hopping the train to Machu Picchu and it was very nice. Great room, quiet, nice gardens and nice people at the reception desk. The wifi didn’t work in the room but it worked fine in the lobby. It was a short walk to the train and a little bit longer walk to the plaza so we took the mototaxi for 2 soles there and back and it was a fun ride. We ate an appetizer in the dining room (chicken, avocado, bacon and cheese) and I highly recommend eating there. All was good.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sailregmel2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

A fantastic place to stay...highly recommended. Great location easy walking distance from Train Station, beautiful grounds and gardens, comfortable rooms. thoroughly enjoyed every minute here. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the restaurant meals were tasty. Loved the pottery dishes. Waking up to see llamas grazing outside the room made this hotel extra-special.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014

This is one of the better hotels in town but other hotels have fine service at a fraction of the price. Here's the breakdown:

Pros: very near the train station, good service, comfortable, nicely decorated.

Cons: It is further from the main plaza than other hotels and more expensive (two to three times the price) of other hotels for only a slight upgrade in service and comfort.

This hotel seems to attract an older clientele that places a premium on their comfort.
If you are the sort of traveler who does not need as much hand-holding, better deal can be had closer to the main plaza.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank NewerReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

I was very impressed with this place, it's landscape, and the friendly staff! Breakfast was very good and offered a wide variety of food options. The room however, felt like a campground cabin- it was clean but not as comfy as I was hoping based upon how it looked. But I was super excited to see llamas just outside our window in the morning :)

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank JennGray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful gardens, stunning views, wonderful rooms and excellent service. We were there for 2 nights and wished it had been more. This is a garden of Eden and a wonderful place to escape to after the hectic atmosphere of Ollantautambo. There is a lovely sitting area beside the restaurant and a nice bar above that we took our drinks outside and enjoyed sitting in the grassy area. If you don't like it here you won't like it anywhere.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Sandwichguy_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014

We stayed at Pakaritampu for one night after visiting nearby sites in the Sacred Valley. The Temple of the Sun is within walking distance, as is the small town market. The PeruRail station is a block away, if you're catching the train to Agua Calientes and Macchu Picchu. But Pakaritampu was worth a visit on it's own. The resort is situated nicely, and has multiple buildings with rooms surrounded by beautifully landscaped grounds, including several llamas/alpacas, gorgeous views of the surrounding high Andes, including a glacier. We went up to the small bar overlooking the large dining room and enjoyed several drinks while the dining room cleared out a little, then enjoyed a nice meal with friendly service. The room was decorated in interesting local style, and the menu was more than adequate. We enjoyed our stay, and would recommend it to anyone touring in the Sacred Valley of the Incas area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MatureTravelers778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ollantaytambo hotels
0.1 mi away
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
#1 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
1,680 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hostal Iskay
Hostal Iskay
#2 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
274 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Samanapaq
Hotel Samanapaq
#6 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Casa del Abuelo
La Casa del Abuelo
#3 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
421 reviews
5.3 mi away
Del Pilar Ollantaytambo Hotel
Del Pilar Ollantaytambo Hotel
#15 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
7 reviews
0.5 mi away
Intitambo Hotel
Intitambo Hotel
#5 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pakaritampu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pakaritampu Hotel

Address: Ave. Ferrocarril 852, Ollantaytambo, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Ollantaytambo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ollantaytambo
#3 Family Hotel in Ollantaytambo
Price Range: $177 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pakaritampu Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The name "Pakaritampu" derives from the Quechua words "pakari" which means "dawn" and "tampu" wich means "home"..Pakaritampu Hotel is located in the Sacred Valley in the village of Ollantaytambo to 2minutes from the train station with direct connection to Machupicchu. The town of Ollantaytambo is the starting point of the Inca Trail, a beautiful place thatoffers various tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Pakaritampu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pakaritampu Hotel Ollantaytambo, Peru - Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing