We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful Setting”
Review of Pakaritampu Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pakaritampu Hotel
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Ollantaytambo
Western Australia
Level Contributor
152 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Peaceful Setting”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

This hotel was booked for a two night stay by our guide. The hotel is very stylish looking from outside and modern and clean inside. There was always someone on the desk who could speak english. The rooms are large enough, we had three single beds in ours. The beds are a bit hard for my liking but not a major issue. The water was hot and the bathroom modern and spacious. There is a safe in the room with a key, not a combination. Satellite tv is provided as well. WIFI is available in the price, not extra and is a bit slow but it gets the job done. Breakfast is complimentary and is a pleasant little spread of toast, homemade jams, cereals, yogurts, sugar free fresh squeezed juices, coffee and tea, eggs, sausage, salami, ham and cheeses.

Service is friendly and efficient and they went out of their way to help me solve an issue I had, not with the hotel but tracking down a lost phone.

The real selling point of the hotel is the beautiful gardens. Lush lawns, with a large variety of plants and trees, cabana's to relax at and an awesome outdoor bbq set up. There are 3 resident Alpaca in the yards who are let out to 'mow' the lawns.

Combine the gardens with the stunning vista of the surrounding andes and the setting elevates this hotel to great heights.

We love this hotel, we love the relaxing ambience and would return again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Redaussie8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    218
    43
    4
    2
See reviews for
98
296
25
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
101 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

We stayed here on our visit to Ollantaytambo on our way to Machu Picchu and wished for another night. The gardens are lovely, well maintained, full of flowers and birds. The room was large and comfortable, with flip flops, a very good Wi-Fi connection and great views. it is close to both the ruins and minutes from the train to Machu Picchu. We had a very nice dinner in the dining room and breakfast had a good variety of fruits, yogurt, breads and eggs. This hotel deserves a higher rating and we would return.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lawm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

The hotel is within a short (3 minutes) walking distance to the train station for Machu Picchu (MP). It has awesome views of the Andes Moutains because it is nestled in the middle of the Sacret Valley. The hotel has perfectly operating Wi-Fi with a strong signal and no interruptions. There were flip flops in the room with paper inserts (perfect for me without slippers), two complimentary bottles of water, a small can of Pringles and a large stick of Nestle's Choclate. All of these amenities are above and beyond the call of duty. The room was clean and comfortable. The bedding was clean and clean smelling. You can't go wrong by staying here. The hotel allowed me to check my baggage until I returned from MP.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank coled7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hailsh
Level Contributor
89 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

This was a great base to tour from - Macchu Pichu and other Inca sites. The hotel is well-kept with lovely rooms in individual building with great views all round and within easy access to the railway station and the centre of town.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tessamum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We were very impressed with this hotel while we were based at Ollantaytambo. It has a lovely setting with spacious grounds and attractive gardens frequented by hummingbirds. There are lovely views of the surrounding mountains from the grounds. With several blocks of accommodation set out over a reasonable area, it feels smaller and more private than it really is. All the main attractions of Ollantaytambo are within easy walking distance. It is also very conveniently situated to catch the train for Machu Picchu. We could have happily stayed several more nights and would love to visit again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ypsilanti, Michigan
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We stayed 3 nights while touring the Sacred Valley and Machu Picchu. As others have mentioned, this was the best place to get the train to Agnes Calientas and go on to Machu Picchu. The train station is across the street and a 3-5 minute walk.
The grounds of this hotel were spectacular. Flowers blooming in every direction. From the window in our room, we watched hummingbirds flit from one flower to another. One of the best hotel grounds that I have stayed at.
Our room, #31, had a problem with hot water. It would come and go which was frustrating when one was trying to shower. Lack of internet was a problem only because they advertise that they have it, and it didn't work for us at all. Breakfast was boring - dry cereals, dry breads, cheeses, some meat of unknown origin. The jams were good.
The staff did not speak English well and I don't speak Spanish so that made communication about the water difficult.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Quiltlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Stayed there for two nights In January. Gorgeous landscaping and a two minute walk to train station which is great because we tool an early train to Machu Piccu. Breakfast opens at 5:30 am which is perfect before the train to Machu Piccu. There is nothing wrong with this hotel-rooms are clean, hot water plentiful, and the grounds are superb. For those who complain about not having wi-fi, well they have it but who cares. You are not there for wi-fi. You are there to see the sacred Valley and have a shorter train ride to Machu Piccu. Just a great place. Ross

Room Tip: my tip is to enjoy the beauty of the hotel and the landscaping-just awsome
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nabatoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ollantaytambo hotels
0.1 mi away
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
#1 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,529 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Casa del Abuelo
La Casa del Abuelo
#5 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Samanapaq
Hotel Samanapaq
#6 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Intitambo Hotel
Intitambo Hotel
#4 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sol
Hotel Sol
#10 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hostal Iskay
Hostal Iskay
#2 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pakaritampu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pakaritampu Hotel

Property: Pakaritampu Hotel
Address: Ave. Ferrocarril 852, Ollantaytambo, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Ollantaytambo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ollantaytambo
#3 Family Hotel in Ollantaytambo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pakaritampu Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The name "Pakaritampu" derives from the Quechua words "pakari" which means "dawn" and "tampu" wich means "home"..Pakaritampu Hotel is located in the Sacred Valley in the village of Ollantaytambo to 2minutes from the train station with direct connection to Machupicchu. The town of Ollantaytambo is the starting point of the Inca Trail, a beautiful place thatoffers various tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Pakaritampu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pakaritampu Hotel Ollantaytambo, Peru - Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing