We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very picturesque hotel - definitely recommend”
Review of Pakaritampu Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pakaritampu Hotel
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Ollantaytambo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Lovely hotel in stunning surroundings....an oasis on the way to Machu Picchu. The rooms are a good size although the bathroom was a little tired-looking and the door wouldn't shut. However, the bed was comfortable and for weary travellers, that's what really counts. The restaurant and bar area were nicely decorated... There is a happy hour in the bar so I recommend making the most of that rather than paying for drinks in the restaurant which is a tad on the expensive side. However, breakfast was a buffet style with plenty of choice. Definitely recommend to anyone thinking of staying in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank short_scuba_diver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (652)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

320 - 326 of 652 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2013

This hotel was recommended to us as an alternative to spending the night in Aguas Calientes. And we are glad we listened. The views are simply incredible, and you are surrounded by the calm serenity of the beautiful Andean mountains. The rooms, restaurant, bar and other common areas are also at a high standard. Highly recommended if you want to take a break on your journey from Cusco to Aguas Calientes.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank htsang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

It is a nice hotel with beautiful surroundings. We got a room with great view looking over the mountain. Woke up in the morning hearing the birds chirping and fresh breeze, it just made a good start for our day. and they have got a beautiful garden with colorful flowers. It's simply WONDERFUL!

Room was simple, clean and cozy enough with bathroom attached. Breakfast was great. Walking distance to the main square, a motor taxi will take only 2 soles per trip. Would really love to spend more nights here if time permit.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LKChan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We spend a pleasant two nights here acclimatising and preparing for our Macchu Pichu trek. Our rooms were airy large and comfortable, bathrooms clean and hot, magnificent gardens , good breakfast and professional but slightly reserved staff. Almost a five star rating; nearly but not quite in the league of Inkaterra lodge in Agua Calientes the town at the foot of Macchu Pichu

it is worth considering spending more time in the Sacred Valley and less time in Cusco. We enjoyed the tours and day treks to nearby passes.....really helps with altitude preparedness.

It is an excellent base from which to spend the night before commencing the Macchu Pichu trek the following day.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Parwan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

This hotel gets good reviews and at night when we arrived it was hard to get a feel for the place. The rooms were just ok
not light and airy in fact dark and not very welcoming.Dinner in the restaurant was only average. The reception staff were not overly friendly when we checked in and less so when we checked out. In the morning light it was obvious the hotel was nestled in a lovely part of the Sacred Valley and it was only 100 metres to the station to get the train to Machu Picchu so that was good. Breakfast was not sensational so sorry to all those who have rated this place highly but we couldn't find a lot of reasons to do so. There just wasn't anything other than the garden and setting that could lift this hotel above average.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Allan.G49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Rooms in the Pakaritampu are within chalet-style buildings (multiple rooms per unit) scattered through the grounds. The grounds are lovely, with beautiful flowers everywhere, and llamas wandering around, keeping the grass trimmed and providing their own bit of local colour. The setting is even lovelier when contrasted with the drama of the mountains all around.

The rooms are large, comfortable, and clean, with good, large beds.

There is a separate restaurant block, with a nice lounge with a log fire, and a comfortable bar area upstairs. Guests can either eat in the restaurant or have a bar meal. Food is good, and there is a good choice.

Service is friendly and reasonably efficient - except in the bar, where the barman had trouble handling several customers concurrently, and frequently had to go downstairs to get something.

The hotel is well located on the way from Cusco to Macchu Picchu, and is 3 minutes walk from the railway station. There is also a major Inca site within walking distance.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M1DXB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Stayed here with my husband on our tour of South America. It is a lovely hotel, lots of natural wood, and a cosy log fire in the lounge.
Our room was large, with a big bed, and spare blankets if we were cold. The bed was a little hard for us, but that's just personal preference.
The bathroom too was large and well equipped, and there was a small sitting area and small balcony overlooking the gardens, which are beautiful. Llamas keep the grass trimmed, and Humming Birds fly around the flowers, great photo opportunities.
Breakfast and dinner were delicious, and 5am breakfast was great for catching the train to Machu Picchu. the station is just 5 mins down the road, 5mins in the other direction into town, shops, restaurants, and of course the ruins.
We had a day tour to Maras and Moray, both well worth seeing.
All in all a great place to stay.
Didn't try the WiFi as we'd left the laptop in Cusco with the bulk of our luggage.
Staff were all very friendly and helpful, with a good command of English.

Room Tip: All seem good, with lovely views of the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kings1617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ollantaytambo hotels
0.1 mi away
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
#1 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
1,720 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hostal Iskay
Hostal Iskay
#2 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
276 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Casa del Abuelo
La Casa del Abuelo
#3 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Del Pilar Ollantaytambo Hotel
Del Pilar Ollantaytambo Hotel
#15 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
9 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Samanapaq
Hotel Samanapaq
#6 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
394 reviews
0.5 mi away
Intitambo Hotel
Intitambo Hotel
#5 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pakaritampu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pakaritampu Hotel

Address: Ave. Ferrocarril 852, Ollantaytambo, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Ollantaytambo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ollantaytambo
#3 Family Hotel in Ollantaytambo
Price Range: $178 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pakaritampu Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The name "Pakaritampu" derives from the Quechua words "pakari" which means "dawn" and "tampu" wich means "home"..Pakaritampu Hotel is located in the Sacred Valley in the village of Ollantaytambo to 2minutes from the train station with direct connection to Machupicchu. The town of Ollantaytambo is the starting point of the Inca Trail, a beautiful place thatoffers various tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Pakaritampu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pakaritampu Hotel Ollantaytambo, Peru - Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing