We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful, tranquil hotel in idyllic setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pakaritampu Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pakaritampu Hotel
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Ollantaytambo
Carlsbad, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful, tranquil hotel in idyllic setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

We opened our window and three llamas were peacefully grazing nearby. The Andes were just beyond. What an amazing way to begin our Peruvian adventure. This hotel is truly beautiful - inside and out. The room was very comfortable and clean. The food was delicious both for dinner and breakfast and the staff was very friendly. A wonderful hotel in a charming location!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frances S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    217
    42
    4
    2
See reviews for
97
293
25
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

One of the prettiest hotels we stayed in during two weeks in the country; beautiful gardens full of flowers and birds. The rooms are clustered in chalet style houses within the grounds with the bar, lounge and dining room in a separate unit. Within 5 minutes walk of the station and the village centre, where there are other places to eat, the hotel is well located.

Room Tip: Most rooms have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gratco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troutville, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

Our train to Aguas Calientes was cancelled due to a rockslide, so our options were to return (2hrs) to Cusco and get up at 5am to get the bus back (2 hrs) the next day. That sounded dreadful, so we (2 women and a five-year old) decided to take our chances in Ollantaytambo- and what a delight this hotel proved to be! We walked through the magnificently carved wooden doors into an oasis of color, scents, and wonderful service. Perfectly manicured lawns, flowers, hummingbirds and even llamas for our 5 year old to help feed! Room was large, clean and reasonably priced and the dinner was delicious. Such a welcome and unexpected bit of happiness! We were well rested to begin our trip to Machu Picchu, and will definitely return. A 3 minute walk to the train was much better than 4 hrs on the bus!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BarbFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay area
Level Contributor
40 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and it was comfortable stay. Nice quiet property with beautiful gardens. Good breakfast and it starts early at 5 AM. Convenient location for a day trip to Machu Picchu. Everything is within 5-15 minute walking distanace from the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank l0vetotravel15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
131 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

We enjoyed staying at this hotel booked for us by our travel agency. The grounds are lovely and it is a five-minute walk to the main part of town, so it is convenient, but quiet. There is also the fun benefit of having llamas walking around on part of the grounds. They also gave complimentary water. The breakfast was very nice and we wound up eating dinner at the hotel one night and the service was good and the food was excellent. I also thought that the décor was nice and enjoyed the rainfall/overhead showerhead. The bed was king-size, which was great. The downsides were that the bed was very hard as were the wood floors and there were at least 5 spiders and a few ants in the room. There was also no heater in the room. Also, the hotel prepared lunches for us for our Machu Picchu hike, which our travel agency hadn’t mentioned and while that was nice, it would have been nice to have discussed what was in the lunch with the hotel. Though we left at 5:45 AM, they prepared hot food that leaked chicken juice into the bag; a sandwich would have been easier to transport and less messy and would have been meant to eat cold. Despite those points, I enjoyed this hotel and would gladly stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rtoblin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for one night after a day of touring the Sacred Valley of the Incas and Ollantaytambo. The following morning, I took the train to Aguas Calientes to see Machu Picchu.

For one night, the hotel was a very comfortable stay. It was literally a 5-minute or less walk to the train station, which makes it so convenient for travelers.

The room was very spacious, and I was pleased with the cleanliness.

The only minor downside is the Wi-Fi was weak in my room, so I went to the lobby to get online.

Overall, I thought the hotel was a good choice at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

Wonderful location with colourful gardens, space and ease of access to town and railway station. Breakfast is good with plenty of options and the lounge area, with open fire was a lovely retreat.
Our bedroom had windows to the garden - most do - and it was a lovely place for 2 nights to explore a great town and its Inca ruins.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jokim05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ollantaytambo hotels
0.1 mi away
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
#1 of 19 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,513 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Casa del Abuelo
La Casa del Abuelo
#4 of 19 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Samanapaq
Hotel Samanapaq
#6 of 19 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Intitambo Hotel
Intitambo Hotel
#5 of 19 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sol
Hotel Sol
#9 of 19 in Ollantaytambo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hostal Iskay
Hostal Iskay
#2 of 19 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pakaritampu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pakaritampu Hotel

Property: Pakaritampu Hotel
Address: Ave. Ferrocarril 852, Ollantaytambo, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Ollantaytambo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ollantaytambo
#3 Family Hotel in Ollantaytambo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pakaritampu Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The name "Pakaritampu" derives from the Quechua words "pakari" which means "dawn" and "tampu" wich means "home"..Pakaritampu Hotel is located in the Sacred Valley in the village of Ollantaytambo to 2minutes from the train station with direct connection to Machupicchu. The town of Ollantaytambo is the starting point of the Inca Trail, a beautiful place thatoffers various tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Pakaritampu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pakaritampu Hotel Ollantaytambo, Peru - Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing