We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”
Review of Pakaritampu Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pakaritampu Hotel
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Ollantaytambo
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Aust
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed January 1, 2012

We stayed in a triple share room in early Dec. A pleasant hotel in a good location close to the station, no air con but the weather was pleasant so this was not an issue for us. It may be a problem during winter.
A mere 2 minutes walk to the station and the trains to MP so very convenient.
Overall a good place to stay in if you do decide to stay in Ollantaytambo.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank austraveller007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    225
    45
    5
    3
See reviews for
106
303
26
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2011

This is very near the train station. Lovely grounds and negotiable prices near time of stay (we arrived late evening and got a great rate). Nice breakfast. The closest to luxury available in Ollantaytambo. They even had space heaters since it was unusually cold. Great service too.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Drtracie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san jose
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2011

We stayed here for two nights. It's one of the prettiest properties we have stayed at in terms of landscape and location. Beautiful flowers on the property grounds and gorgeous mountain views. The rooms are not luxurious but comfortable and functional. Overall a very pleasant stay.

Pros

Beautiful hotel grounds with alpacas grazing on the property.
Close to the train station. Two minute walk.
Room 35 faces the very quiet side of the property. Superior king room.
Rooms are big , have flat screen tv, free wifi.
Clean bathrooms with tub and shower
Excellent buffet breakfast included in the room cost.

Cons

No air conditioning but we visited end of nov and it was very comfortable.
Like most places in Peru, it's not allowed to flush paper down the toilet.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank navs p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2011

Daughter and I stayed here two nights with a trek to Machu Picchu in between. This is hotel has lovely gardens and tastefully appointed rooms. The rooms are good size and have flat screen TV. As with most hotels, other than 5 star, there is no heater in the room, but the bedding is warm and comfortable. The location is great, just 5 minutes walk to the train station and 10 minutes to the central town square and the entrance to the ruins, which are fantastic. There are also two computers in the lobby. Wonderful place to stay!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank honeylaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2011

My parents, a friend and myself, we stayed one night in this hotel. The hotel was located about 3 minutes to Ollantaytambo Station. There were several cafes and restaurants around at walking distance. The hotel had a lovely garden and a beautiful view of montains. The room was pretty spacious and clean.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelover_sp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2011

Staff are so helpful! Rooms are big, bathroom a little run down but great location near station for early train to macchu picchu! Also very close to ruins!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wisemonkeysabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

Recently did a Peru tour and stayed in six different hotels and by far - this was my favorite location. Beautiful views and hotel site and energy. There is something special about walking about a location and having llamas roaming alongside with you. There is a nice lounge area with peru books and fireplace and wifi. The restaurant on site was one of the best places we ate the whole trip with fair prices and good service. Also a 3 minute walk to the train station assuming you are on your way to or from Manchu Pichu. I was sick on one of the days and the restaurant staff helped me figure out what I could eat and insisted I go back to the room and they would bring it to me and refused any tip when they did so.

Room Tip: there is a small stream at the back - I personally love to wake up to that sound of running water so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KarenB_007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ollantaytambo
0.1 mi away
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
#1 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
1,596 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Samanapaq
Hotel Samanapaq
#6 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
367 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Casa del Abuelo
La Casa del Abuelo
#4 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hostal Iskay
Hostal Iskay
#2 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
245 reviews
19.0 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#2 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
1,023 reviews
0.5 mi away
Intitambo Hotel
Intitambo Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pakaritampu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pakaritampu Hotel

Property: Pakaritampu Hotel
Address: Ave. Ferrocarril 852, Ollantaytambo, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Ollantaytambo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ollantaytambo
#3 Family Hotel in Ollantaytambo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pakaritampu Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The name "Pakaritampu" derives from the Quechua words "pakari" which means "dawn" and "tampu" wich means "home"..Pakaritampu Hotel is located in the Sacred Valley in the village of Ollantaytambo to 2minutes from the train station with direct connection to Machupicchu. The town of Ollantaytambo is the starting point of the Inca Trail, a beautiful place thatoffers various tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Pakaritampu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pakaritampu Hotel Ollantaytambo, Peru - Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing