We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Peaceful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Ollantaytambo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed December 14, 2010

This is one of those perfect hotels. I requested a room in the back and was in one of the upgraded rooms. It was absolutely beautiful. Large, comfortable beds with down comforters. They had place a vase of orange orchids on the desk. Wi-Fi was excellent. I choose this hotel based upon TripAdvisor reviews and was very pleased. Oh, I met the dogs.. so very friendly. It came with breakfast in the restaurant and the quinoa pancakes were terrific. The staff was helpful and arranged a car, driver and tour guide to take me throughout the valley. This is an excellent hotel choice for a stay in the Sacred Valley.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenfromCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,625)
There are newer reviews for El Albergue Ollantaytambo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,230 - 1,236 of 1,625 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2010

The rooms were clean and beds were plush. The restaurant was great and accomodating. The view from our room was beautiful snow capped mountains.
The convenience of arriving late at night from Aguas Caliente and having your hotel right there at the train station was very welcome.Would stay there again .

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ginnycollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2010

I have stayed at El Albergue a number of times when visiting Peru with friends and family. The new superior rooms (see photo) are lovely and set around a beautiful garden. There is plenty of space for children to play outside and there are chairs outside the suites so you can enjoy the garden. The common area (see photo) is cozy. The restaurant serves delicious, fresh food and the coffee drinks at Cafe Mayu are not to be missed.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Powda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2010

room 16 with view on nevado veronica, ask Joaquin for tours aroudn Ollantaytambo, lots to see. take some time to enjoy the hotel an dview you have from the hotel

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thomastidow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2010

Fantastic hotel. We spent one night here on the way to Machu Pichu. Fabulous room and the location is amazing, right on the train station platform, so we just got up in the morning and got on the train. No problem with noise, the trains don't run at night! We had the hotel driver pick us up from Cusco, and then on our return drive us to Pisac.

I would go back definitely, and stay two nights so I could check out the town and the ruins more, and hang out in the hotel gardens!

Sergio was particularly helpful with the reservation, and making sure everything was ok.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdventureGirlTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2010

We spent two nights at El Albergue during Sept 2010. We had used the airport pickup service offered by the hotel to get to Ollantaytambo from Cusco. We highly recommend this service, especially if you are arriving in Cusco after a sleepless night at Lima airport!

The restaurant serves great food (a few good vegetarian options), and the breakfast, though simple, is good enough to get you going. We never had any issues with noise in the room even though the hotel is located right on the railway tracks. We left our luggage for two nights at the hotel while we went to MP...that was convenient.Ollantaytambo ruins and the main square are about a 10min uphill walk. It is very easy to hire cabs to tour the surrounding areas in Sacred Valley.

Overall, a nice, friendly hotel to use as a base while visiting SV/MP.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trojansoldier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2010

I cannot say enough great things about El Albergue. We had planned on getting there for dinner at 8:20 PM after our long day hiking Machu Picchu. However, PeruRail had other plans. We didn’t get there until after 9PM, but they kept the restaurant open for us so we could have dinner. The restaurant was incredible romantic and beautiful, and they had delicious food. Our room was quite large, and the bed and comforter were very plush and soft. After dinner, Luke, the manager, made me a eucalyptus sauna. This was an old school sauna – wood burning, and small, but really cool. The garden area, and really all of El Albergue, were charming and well manicured. I could have stayed there for many more days. But what really made it, was the staff. Luke, Sergio, and everyone else was so accomadating, they really did make us feel like we were a guest in a friend’s home. On a side note, we also got a box lunch to go, and it was incredible! Everything in it was delicious. El Albergue alone is a reason to stay in Ollyataytambo.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYTinabop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ollantaytambo
0.1 mi away
Pakaritampu Hotel
Pakaritampu Hotel
#5 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
633 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hostal Iskay
Hostal Iskay
#2 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
256 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Casa del Abuelo
La Casa del Abuelo
#4 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Samanapaq
Hotel Samanapaq
#6 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
374 reviews
0.6 mi away
Intitambo Hotel
Intitambo Hotel
#3 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
183 reviews
18.9 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#2 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Albergue Ollantaytambo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Albergue Ollantaytambo

Address: Ollantaytambo Train Station, Ollantaytambo 080108, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Ollantaytambo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ollantaytambo
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ollantaytambo
#2 Green Hotel in Ollantaytambo
Price Range: $104 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — El Albergue Ollantaytambo 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Ollantaytambo train station, El Albergue is only one train stop away from Machu Picchu and not far from many interesting attractions. El Albergue dates back to 1925 and maintains the charm and elegance of the early 20th century while offering modern day requirements such as free high speed internet and in-room telephones. Owned by artist Wendy Weeks, this hotel has beautiful gardens, delicious food and special attention to decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your El Albergue Ollantaytambo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Albergue Ollantaytambo Hotel Ollantaytambo
El Albergue Ollantaytambo Peru - Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing