We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“El Albergue Ollantaytambo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Ollantaytambo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 5, 2009

Our travel research before our Perú trip told my wife and I about Ollantaytambo, a unique Inca town continuously inhabited since the 15th century, At 9,000 feet elevation, Ollantaytambo was an appealing base for our week in the Sacred Valley. Since childhood, I have had a special interest in the Inca world. At El Albergue, we found everything we could have wanted for an adventurous visit!
The hotel featured colonial dark wood beams and wood floors. The balcony outside our room looked down upon a lovely walled garden planted with exuberant white calla lilies and a venerable palm tree. On clear mornings, we beheld sparkling glaciers on distant Andean peaks.
Joaquin Randall Weeks, who owns and runs El Albergue and speaks fluent English and Spanish, was constantly available to answer our questions with inexhaustible friendliness. He presided over an atmosphere that was both relaxed and energizing! We dined in the hotel’s restaurant, Café Mayu, for breakfast and dinner each day. We tasted all the dishes that fit our vegetarian diet, and especially enjoyed the stuffed Andean pepper, and the cookies and brownies were wickedly delicious.
Joaquin hired a wonderful guide for us, a native of Ollantaytambo, who took us to the fascinating stone streets and walls of the town, and then the magnificent high Inca fortress of Pisac and its famous market.
On the last day of our visit, we took the vista dome train ride to breathtaking Machu Picchu. We literally walked out of our hotel through the charming 1920s railway station and into our train car for the magnificent ride down the Urubamba River gorge!
As we flew back to Lima, my wife and I both felt we had discovered a fascinating hotel and world where we felt at home. We hope we can visit El Albergue again and soon!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IncaVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,666)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,369 - 1,375 of 1,667 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2009

Paradise in Ollantaytambo! The staff and cleanliness was superb! The location was secure, just inside of the gates for Peru Rail. However, the location is a couple of blocks from the main square. Nonetheless, the tuk tuk taxis are abundant and willing to take you to the main square for as little as 2 soles or about .66 cents.

The rooms are spacious and the food at the restaurant is awesome! They have the best alpaca and cocoa tea by far! It is a great location to have some drinks and snacks while you wait for your train ride on Peru Rail to Aguas Calientes. If you have a couple of days to chill, the hammocks in the back are a great spot for reading your favorite book or relaxing in the comfortable climate.

Downtown has a lot of great shops and restaurants. In the evening, the Quechua Blues Bar is a kind place to chill.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MindyHuskey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2009

We spent two nights at the Albergue. Our room was quite rustic, but adequate. The bathroom very small and difficult for two people. The view of the trains and having a drink at the station as trains came and went was entertaining. The dining room was adequate. It was too cool when we were there to enjoy the hammocks or be outside in the evening for any length of time. The staff was nice. All in all an OK stay. We checked out the Hotel Pakaritampu next door for a drink and dinner. Although it looks nicer from the outside, it seemed like a hotel for large groups and not as cozy as the Albergue. Having said that, if it is too cool to be outside, there is room for about one large person to sit in the library area. Makes it difficult for four people to have a place to chat.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 100db
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2009

Peru can be a little overwhelming. Specially if like us, you are in a bit of a rush to get from one set of wonderful archaeological sites to the next. It's a big country with a lot of regional variation and it really deserves a long and slow visit. The Albergue was perfect to make us slow down and appreciate where we were - even if only for 2 nights.

From the Albergue's garden you can see the ruins of Ollantaytambo and the glaciers and snow covered peaks that form that last barrier from the highlands to the Amazon. The furniture, art and architecture are timeless and elegant. We asked, it's all produced by local craftsmen from local materials. The building itself is a recently renovated 1920's station hotel. You get the feeling that you are stepping into an earlier time when travel was very different.

The restaurant was great and is open to the general public. The home made pasta is a simple and tasty choice. The trout and the alpaca are great dishes, the soups comforting and delicious, the coffee was the best i had in Peru. The butter is amazing!! The decor and ambiance were lovely. I recommend a drink on the platform before dinner - watch the people go by as the light changes on the hills...

For any traveler, the Albergue is a unique experience worth having. It's a small hotel and it may not be easy to get a room. It's the furthest thing from the mass produced tourist experience that has become common throughout the world.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hcotl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2009

My wife and I spent the last night of our 12-day trip in Ollantaytambo, at El Albergue based on all of the rave reviews the property had received. About two months before our stay, we requested to book the suite. We received no response to our first two emails, and finally after a third attempt we were advised that the suite was booked. We asked to book the next best room for our stay and within a couple of days were confirmed a room for $74/night. Prior to leaving the US, we sent an email, as requested, reconfirming the details of our stay. The day of our arrival --- we were thrilled, great location, quick and easy check-in (even though we were early), nice hot coca tea ... and then we were led to our room. This room is best described as an outhouse with an addition ... and a double bed (?). We were expecting simple, clean accommodations and instead found them to be dingy, dirty, cold and buggy, I suppose the upside is that we were only charged $58/night. The dinner offering was home made pasta with one of four types of sauces.... oh, wait, make that three - they're out of anchovies! A little more limited than we had anticipated. I highly recommend checking out Hotel Pakaritampu if you're looking for decent digs in Ollantaytambo. If you're set on Albergue, insist on the suite or another second level room - NOT #8!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunnysocal17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2009

We spent two nights at the El Albergue in Ollanta and wished we could have stayed a week just sitting on the back balcony of our room enjoying the views, the birdsong, good coffee and food, and the occasional train horn! This is one of our favourite all-time places to stay.

The Albergue is the old train station for Ollantaytambo and has been lovingly converted into a beautiful small, personal B&B by Joaquin and his mother, Wendy. The room we stayed in looked out onto the train station (perfect for watching the world go by, and for stumbling out of bed at 5:15 to catch the 5:37 train to Machu Picchu from outside the front door), but was well double-glazed to cut out the noise (though admittedly not every train horn - that's part of the charm). The room had great firm beds, elegant simple locally-sourced decoration, original photos and artwork, a writing desk, and gave onto a balcony with view of the hills, fresh flowers and a beautiful garden.

Downstairs we could sit in a hammock or a chair, or order a coffee or pisco sour on the train platform, or eat dinner with the excellent food at the restaurant (the best alpaca steaks, soups and homemade pasta). Joaquin and his colleagues made us feel extremely welcome, and the whole hotel had a friendly feel - but not lackadaisical, everything works and attention to every detail is spot on. We were using the hotel as a base to go up to Machu Picchu (for which its perfect - for when you leave in the morning or evening, but also when you stumble back weary late in the day and can get straight off the train and into the bar or a shower!) but would have been glad to make it a base for a week of relaxation in and around Ollanta. One additional bonus - they do great packed lunches for when you go up to MP.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JB236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2009

The service I received at El Albergue was truly outstanding. The hotel staff really go out of their way to make you feel comfortable and at home. There's a real sense of hospitality and community at the hotel, so much so that the term 'hotel' almost doesn't seem right. The staff is extremely accommodating and will probably be able to satisfy your every whim. When I stayed at the El Albergue for one night, I was able to use the private sauna, which was wonderful. They even had eucalyptus leaves ready for us in the sauna. Everything at the El Albergue is carefully thought through. Everything from the design of the rooms, to the aesthetics of the dishes at the restaurant, to the packed lunches you can get for just a few soles. The brownies and cookies from Café Mayu are the best I've ever tasted--you honestly will not leave satisfied until you've tried some. The location of El Albergue only adds to its appeal. It is located right next to the train station at Ollantaytambo, which makes it a perfect place to stay before you head on out of the valley by train. If your train leaves early in the morning, staying at El Albergue means not having to wake up extra early just to make sure you don't miss your train. All you need to do is be ready half an hour before your train leaves, and you will be able to have a leisurely breakfast indoors or outdoors, with food from either the restaurant or café. What I liked most about El Albergue is that it's a hidden treasure. The place is very modestly decorated yet it still retains a great amount of charm. Nothing flashy or over-the-top. Staying at El Albergue will make you realize what true first class service is. I would recommend El Albergue to any visitor of Ollanta, even if he/she stays at El Albergue for just one night. The amount you pay to stay there will be well worth it.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jopotato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ollantaytambo
0.1 mi away
Pakaritampu Hotel
Pakaritampu Hotel
#4 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
644 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hostal Iskay
Hostal Iskay
#2 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
269 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Casa del Abuelo
La Casa del Abuelo
#3 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Intitambo Hotel
Intitambo Hotel
#5 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
194 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Samanapaq
Hotel Samanapaq
#6 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
391 reviews
10.8 mi away
Tambo del Inka, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Valle Sagrado
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Albergue Ollantaytambo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Albergue Ollantaytambo

Address: Ollantaytambo Train Station, Ollantaytambo 080108, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Ollantaytambo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ollantaytambo
#1 Family Hotel in Ollantaytambo
#2 Green Hotel in Ollantaytambo
Price Range: $66 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — El Albergue Ollantaytambo 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Ollantaytambo train station, El Albergue is only one train stop away from Machu Picchu and not far from many interesting attractions. El Albergue dates back to 1925 and maintains the charm and elegance of the early 20th century while offering modern day requirements such as free high speed internet and in-room telephones. Owned by artist Wendy Weeks, this hotel has beautiful gardens, delicious food and special attention to decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your El Albergue Ollantaytambo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Albergue Ollantaytambo Hotel Ollantaytambo
El Albergue Ollantaytambo Peru - Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing