We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful and Charming Spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Ollantaytambo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

If you want a cookie cutter tourist hotel where every room is identical and there are no surprises, this is not your kind of place. El Alberge is a wonderfully unique spot with only 16 rooms around a lush garden with cats and hummingbirds hiding from guests (until the evening when a cat will find you for your warm lap if you are sitting outside.) Our two nights were wonderful. It was my favorite of the half dozen hotels we stayed in around Peru.

It is rustic but very well maintained. Our room was a little chilly at night but there was a portable heater as well as a cozy bed. The restaurant is small with a limited menu but excellent all the same. (Tacu tacu for breakfast. Yum) The coffee shop right on the tracks is a great place for a snack. The staff is gracious and helpful. The main part of town is a 5 minute walk or a super quick and cheap mototaxi ride away. There is a small market just outside the train station gates with plenty of decent food and touristy stuff, as well.

And when it comes time to catch your train, you are literally right there.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank AverageTraveller_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,643)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

776 - 782 of 1,645 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2014

Friendly people. lovely organic Peruvian food. Great for getting on train to Manchu Picchu! Sounds of tooting trains every hour in daytime but not intrusive. Really magical place. And short walk to Inca ruins

Room Tip: Ask for garden room. Must book for evening meal as only small restaurant
See more room tips
Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Stayed here for one night - could have easily stayed longer. Great prices and food. If you plan to catch early train - this is the place to stay. Just walk out your door and board the train. Food is excellent - breakfast, lunch and dinner. Rooms are quiet and clean. Could use a little more water pressure - but it is still acceptable. Our room did not have a tv - which was fine with us. Good internet. If you want to walk to town - it is about 10 minutes - but flat and along the river. Gives you a authentic peru experience.

Room Tip: Get a balcony facing the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twoscratchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

We loved this little hotel! The entire staff was generous and welcoming. Our 2nd floor room overlooked lush gardens and Inca ruins in the distance. The restaurant and cafe meals were very good. The only negative is that the diesel fumes from the trains often waft into the restaurant and cafe. Unless you have extreme sensitivity to these fumes, I wouldn't let that stop you from staying here. Because of a national labor strike during the time we were there, we had to extend our stay two additional nights--how fortunate for us!

Room Tip: Ask for 2nd floor room with balcony/deck overlooking Andes. Breathtaking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aquamarine07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Albergue Ollantaytambo is a lovely small hotel right at the train station that takes you to Aguas Calientes, the town just below Machu Picchu. We stayed for two nights in room 16. Room 16 is a beautiful room on the second floor with large windows overlooking a field, the hotel garden and vistas to the mountains. A large balcony wraps around the room were you can sit and enjoy the view.
The hotel is simple, comfortable, impeccably clean and maintained with love and care. They offer a delicious a la carte breakfast included in the price. At night, the restaurant folds out table cloths and candles to become a fine dinning establishment. The food is fresh, very well prepared and inspired by what is available in their organic farm.
The hotel offers many services for a fee: overnight wash and fold, private guides to Machu Picchu and taxi services from Cusco to the hotel.
Natalia and Sergio secured a private taxi as well as an excellent guide to Machu Picchu. The taxi picked us up in Cusco, took us through Maras, el Salinero, Moray and the Sacred Valley. On our return trip to Cusco we enjoyed more beautiful sites through the Sacred Valley. Our driver, Diomenes, was absolutely fantastic! He takes a lot of pride in his work and knows the best spots to view the Valley and its history.

Room Tip: Pay the extra money for a room in the second floor with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lulhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

We bookended our trek on the Inca Trail with stays at El Albergue. While there was a small glitch with our reservation, Christian and Sergio went over the top to help to make things right. The hotel was clean, spacious and the beds were very comfortable. The outdoor seating ares were great to enjoy their gardens and the views. They stored our bags for us while we were on the trek which made things very convenient. It was nice to stay in Ollantaytambo before the trek to have at least a couple more hours of sleep before the tour company picked us up. Members of our group were picked up in Cusco at 4:30 am while we got picked up at 6:30. The breakfast menu was excellent and we loved dinner too, especially since their veggies are grown organically on their own farm. Small perks like free wifi and the ability to fill your water bottle from a large cooler for a small fee were great. I would highly recommend the hotel.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Yvonne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights during our trip to Machu Picchu. The hotel itself has quite a history, and the buildings are quite old and interesting. The room we stayed in had creaky wood floors (didn't bother me, but maybe the manager in the office below!) and nice old windows and doors. The bathroom was quite good considering the age of the building.

There were paths through a garden leading to other rooms, full of flowers, plants and birds. Given its proximity to the train station (6 Feet out the front door) the train noise didn't bother us. When we got up early to catch the train, we basically had to go out the front door and we were there.

The hotel staff were wonderful and helpful, especially Sergio. They even purchased our tickets to Machu Picchu for us since we could not get the website to work properly from home.
The adjoining restaurant was some of the best food I have had in South America. The coffee shop makes a mean macchiato and has a proper machine. Good wine too. They prepared a box lunch for our trip up to Machu Picchu hat was enough food for the two of us.

I highly recommend this hotel and would not hesitate to stay there again. Convenient, charming and a great value.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank kedaabby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ollantaytambo
0.1 mi away
Pakaritampu Hotel
Pakaritampu Hotel
#5 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
641 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Casa del Abuelo
La Casa del Abuelo
#4 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
412 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hostal Iskay
Hostal Iskay
#2 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Samanapaq
Hotel Samanapaq
#6 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
384 reviews
0.6 mi away
Intitambo Hotel
Intitambo Hotel
#3 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
191 reviews
18.9 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#2 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
1,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Albergue Ollantaytambo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Albergue Ollantaytambo

Address: Ollantaytambo Train Station, Ollantaytambo 080108, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Ollantaytambo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ollantaytambo
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ollantaytambo
#2 Green Hotel in Ollantaytambo
Price Range: $94 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — El Albergue Ollantaytambo 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Ollantaytambo train station, El Albergue is only one train stop away from Machu Picchu and not far from many interesting attractions. El Albergue dates back to 1925 and maintains the charm and elegance of the early 20th century while offering modern day requirements such as free high speed internet and in-room telephones. Owned by artist Wendy Weeks, this hotel has beautiful gardens, delicious food and special attention to decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your El Albergue Ollantaytambo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Albergue Ollantaytambo Hotel Ollantaytambo
El Albergue Ollantaytambo Peru - Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing