We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Favorite B&B during our 3 week trip” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Albergue Ollantaytambo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Ollantaytambo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Los Altos Hills, CA
Level Contributor
72 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Favorite B&B during our 3 week trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

We recently spend about 18 days traveling through Argentina and Peru, and El Albergue was my favorite hotel. We had room 16, an upstairs corner room, and it was so lovely, with a great view of the mountains. The inn was just beautiful with a spectacular garden. The bar and restaurant were both excellent, and the location, right in the train station, was super convenient for taking the train to MP. It was our first stop in Peru, and really removed a lot of the stress of visiting MP. Ollantaytambo was a lovely town and definitely worth a day or two.

My only quibble is the hotel price in dollars, and the exchange rate they used was very unfavorable when we had to pay in soles (we ran out of $USD while in Argentina). So, bring enough dollars to pay for your room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,001
    357
    77
    41
    13
See reviews for
341
737
79
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (389)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

We had planned to stay at this hotel but they were fully booked. They did however graciously store our bags for the day and the manager Sergio went out of his way to find a driver for us to see the local sights and we were not even staying there. It's a beautiful small hotel and one can only imagine how the service would be if you we're trying there!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Johnross7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

This is a lovely hotel in an old house that has been beautifully restored and decorated, with the unique character respected. Though the hotel is at the train station, the noise of the incoming and outgoing trains was not a problem in my back room overlooking the lovely back yard. The bed was possibly the most comfortable hotel bed I've ever had--large, with a firm mattress, and a pillowy duvet.

There is a problem with gnats, perhaps due to the location by the river. The first night they were everywhere, but I think other guests complained and the hotel may have fumigated or used some sort of insect spray. For whatever reason, the problem was much less the second night.

There is an excellent restaurant on site. Since the hotel is a 15-minute walk from the center of town this is very convenient.

A special thank you to Sergio at the front desk who was very welcoming and helpful and to Natalia who helped me book a driver for a private tour.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rizadoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Great location and the restaurant was great, and the people and service wonderful, but just not crazy about the hotel. Old rooms, old open doors and windows, cold, gnats...not the best. Maybe we are spoiled (we are) but this could have and should have been better.

Room Tip: Make sure you upgrade to the larger rooms, the small rooms are tiny...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank followingjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, NJ
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

Ollantattambo is a lovely town with many beautiful ruins and places to explore. The El Albergue hotel is only a 10 minute walk from the main square and is unique in that it is located at the train station which makes it very convenient to catch the trains. Even though the hotel is right at the station, the set-up is quaint and pleasant. We spent 2 nights on our way to Machu Picchu in a comfortable room that opened into a serene garden. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. The food at the restaurant was excellent, good value for the money and service was outstanding. Our plan was to go to Machu Pichhu and then stay another night at El Albergue hotel on our return. However, we had to cut short our trip as I developed elevation sickness. Natalie assisted in canceling some of our existing reservations and arranged for medical care. We do not have enough words to express our deep appreciation for Natalie – she was comforting, responsive and made every effort to help us through this difficult time. The memory of this wonderful hotel, its staff and especially Natalie will forever remain etched in our psyche.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vijay A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
Level Contributor
119 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Add this voice to the consensus in praise of El Albergue. It certainly is not a luxury hotel, but it's homey, friendly and well run. An earlier review complained that it was cold at night, but at least our room (#16) was warm enough that we got out of bed very early in the morning (we were only there one night) without feeling chilled.

Restaurant is indeed good (and well heated). We didn't check out the other rooms, but it seems that at least in terms of views we lucked out with #16 being the best, with a view from the porch toward the mountains and from the side window out toward a field. #15 also good in terms of that mountain view, but the folks coming up to #16 do pass by it.

We especially appreciated the location right at the train station when we caught the 5 am train to Aguas Calientes. Great to just roll out of bed onto the train platform. Hotel will also fix basic box lunches to munch on the train or after you get to AC, as well as provide early morning coffee. If you do get up and out early, probably best to settle your bill the night before.

Ollantaytambo is a pleasant town, what with the ruins nearby and some decent places to eat, including a one or two right on the river as you walk up from El Albergue to town on a gradual slope for about 10 minutes. Not much beyond that, but a nice place to relax and hang out if you're so inclined. We easily could have spent another night or two there.

Room Tip: We didn't check out the other rooms, but it seems that at least in terms of views we lucked out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Southside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ede, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
132 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

WE spent 2 nights in El Albergue and enjoyed every minute of it. We had a garden room with was just beautiful and very quiet. The room was very well decorated, with good wifi, good bathroom and excellent beds. We slept great. There was no tv however we did not miss it. There was a room safe available. At night it can be cold. We loved the garden and the views and sit in front of our room on the patio. Service was efficient. The restaurant of the hotel was excellent and good value.The location is perfect for the train to Machu Picchu early morning. Well recommended and good value for money. Ollantaytambo is also a beautiful place with wonderful ruins.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dtjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ollantaytambo hotels
0.4 mi away
La Casa del Abuelo
La Casa del Abuelo
#4 of 19 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Samanapaq
Hotel Samanapaq
#6 of 19 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pakaritampu
Pakaritampu
#3 of 19 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hostal Iskay
Hostal Iskay
#2 of 19 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
0.6 mi away
Intitambo Hotel
Intitambo Hotel
#5 of 19 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sol
Hotel Sol
#9 of 19 in Ollantaytambo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Albergue Ollantaytambo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Albergue Ollantaytambo

Property: El Albergue Ollantaytambo
Address: Ollantaytambo Train Station, Ollantaytambo 080108, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Ollantaytambo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ollantaytambo
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ollantaytambo
#2 Green Hotel in Ollantaytambo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — El Albergue Ollantaytambo 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Ollantaytambo train station, El Albergue is only one train stop away from Machu Picchu and not far from many interesting attractions. El Albergue dates back to 1925 and maintains the charm and elegance of the early 20th century while offering modern day requirements such as free high speed internet and in-room telephones. Owned by artist Wendy Weeks, this hotel has beautiful gardens, delicious food and special attention to decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your El Albergue Ollantaytambo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Albergue Ollantaytambo Hotel Ollantaytambo
El Albergue Ollantaytambo Peru - Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing