We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing unexpected hotel in a railway station”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Ollantaytambo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 17, 2013

WE spent 2 nights in El Albergue and enjoyed every minute of it. We had a garden room with was just beautiful and very quiet. The room was very well decorated, with good wifi, good bathroom and excellent beds. We slept great. There was no tv however we did not miss it. There was a room safe available. At night it can be cold. We loved the garden and the views and sit in front of our room on the patio. Service was efficient. The restaurant of the hotel was excellent and good value.The location is perfect for the train to Machu Picchu early morning. Well recommended and good value for money. Ollantaytambo is also a beautiful place with wonderful ruins.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dtjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,630)
There are newer reviews for El Albergue Ollantaytambo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

863 - 869 of 1,630 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2013

We spent 3 fantastic nights at El Albergue (part of a three week trip to Southern Peru) and this was one of the most comfortable and pleasant stays of our trip (and it was an amazing trip).

The service - One word for the service we received not only during our stay but also in the time spent planning (and asking lots of questions) - Outstanding! We felt comfortable to ask any questions of the staff, and they all went out of their way to make sure our questions were answered to our satisfaction. Peru as a whole has very high service standards, and this hotel was in our opinion top notch with how they treat their guests. .

The rooms - When we checked in we were initially given a great room (double, good size, with a balcony), but afer our return from exploring Ollantaytabo a bit, we were told we were actually to have a superior room with a private balcony - I would never have complained, but the room we were moved to was truly lovely, with a beautiful private balcony. It is labelled a "rustic" hotel, so if you are looking for a super modern decor, this may not be for you. We loved the old beams, and the history of the rooms and rest of the buildings. There are heaters provided if you are cold (as we were there at the end of August it was still chilly in the evenings). The beds are very comfortable and everything is very clean. The hot water tended to end just a bit before we were ready to finish our showers, but we adapted.

The location - Fantastic location to explore the Sacred Valley, and was for us also a home base for our Machi Picchu visit. An easy 10 minute walk to the main square as well as the fortress ruins and grainaries. Despite being at a train station, it was a quite, tranquil location...the sound of the train was quite soothing.

The value - We felt that the value of the room and the services far exceeded the price we paid. It is a very well-managed, traveller-considerate hotel. We appreciated the respect the owners and staff have for the environment in general, as well as the unique social and ecological concerns of the Sacred Valley and Ollantaytambo.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JennandMitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We had a superior balcony room with a queen + twin bed configuration, both very comfy with nice bed linens. The room was large and clean. Strong Wi-Fi. There was no heat in the room other than the small electric radiator on wheels that served the bathroom nicely. The bathroom was fine but sometimes the other water disappears leaving you with scalding or freezing water coming out of the shower for a few moments; this is dangerous and uncomfortable. Really enjoyed the views to the mountains and checking out all the blooming plants and the hummingbirds from the balcony. Breakfast was OK but the restaurant prepared wonderful meals at dinner for a very reasonable price. Our balcony room was at the back looking at a terrace with peach trees, and we could hear distant noise from the adjacent train station but it was never loud or bothersome. This hotel is incredibly convenient for those taking the train to Machu Picchu since the station and the hotel are right together.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MargaretEllen1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights at El Abergue. We found the hotel good although it is kind of a 'back to basics' hotel.

It was cold when we were there in August and the wooden door has a gap at the bottom so the cold air came into the room. The wooden floors retain the cold. There was a small oil heater in the room which we used all the time but it took a while to heat up the room.

There is no tv. While we don't watch much tv while on holidays, we do turn it on to catch up with the news occasionally.

The shower doesn't drain very well but the temperature was fine.

It is right on the train platform but the noise didn't affect our sleep whatsoever. It is the best place to stay in Ollantaytambo for a visit to Machu Picchu.

The restaurant was fantastic. The breakfasts were so-so but the lunches and dinners were absolutely delicious. We had their fresh pasta a few times during our stay because it was so good!

The staff were all pleasant, especially the waiter, he is a lovely man. But one of the front desk guys forgot to put our lunch box order in so we had to spend an arm and a leg on lunch at the MP kiosk.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cathotravelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We had booked two nights here and decided to only stay one. The bed and breakfast itself was quite charming but it is located literally right on the train station which can be a bit noisy at night. The restaurant within is actually outstanding. I think this was our best meal on the entire trip.

The room was fine, clean, but somewhat plain. There was no tv which isn't a huge problem but in this day and age it's hard to not see the news at least even when on vacation. The bathroom was clean though there was definitely an issue with the shower drain as we both basically showered in a few inches of water which was far from ideal. Wifi was spotty at best in the room even after confirming the password a few times.

The bed was actually our biggest issue. It was so uncomfortable that we both woke up with back pain. We were really happy at that point to only stay one night.

However, the hotel staff was very courteous throughout.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing away from the train.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Our family of four, including 11 and 14 yr old, stayed in a garden view room with a magnificent view of the high Andes from the many shuttered windows in our room as well as chairs on our outdoor terrace. The gardens themselves were a feast for the eyes and irrigated using the classic Incan canals. The food at the restaurant was fresh, much from their own farm and beautifully prepared. We ate most of our meals here over four days, and our total bill for meals and a room for four with a queen and two full twin beds was very modest. The desk arranged a very pleasant tour of the Sacred Valley for the day with a personal car and driver, very reasonably priced, as well as a delicious outdoor lunch at their farm. A terrific example of how small independently run hotels can be truly more luxurious than 5-star luxury hotels-- better food, personal service, breakfasts served outdoors in an quiet interior garden as if in a fine home, beautifully decorated, details like a wood-fired sauna prepare for guests individually by the front desk.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexi92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We had the 2nd floor garden room, vaulted ceilings with exposed wood beams. Extra bed was an actual bed, not just a roll away cot. Bathroom pleasant with heated floor. Seats outside our room had beautiful view of mountains and Southern night sky. Breakfast included pancakes and made to order eggs. Staff very helpful and friendly. We did the farm tour / lunch and ate probably our best food of the trip cooked before us in pit and served in a little outdoor shelter overlooking farm, and amazing experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RD1441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ollantaytambo
0.1 mi away
Pakaritampu Hotel
Pakaritampu Hotel
#5 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
635 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hostal Iskay
Hostal Iskay
#2 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
258 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Casa del Abuelo
La Casa del Abuelo
#4 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Samanapaq
Hotel Samanapaq
#6 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
376 reviews
0.6 mi away
Intitambo Hotel
Intitambo Hotel
#3 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
185 reviews
18.9 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#2 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Albergue Ollantaytambo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Albergue Ollantaytambo

Address: Ollantaytambo Train Station, Ollantaytambo 080108, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Ollantaytambo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ollantaytambo
#1 Family Hotel in Ollantaytambo
#2 Green Hotel in Ollantaytambo
Price Range: $95 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — El Albergue Ollantaytambo 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Ollantaytambo train station, El Albergue is only one train stop away from Machu Picchu and not far from many interesting attractions. El Albergue dates back to 1925 and maintains the charm and elegance of the early 20th century while offering modern day requirements such as free high speed internet and in-room telephones. Owned by artist Wendy Weeks, this hotel has beautiful gardens, delicious food and special attention to decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your El Albergue Ollantaytambo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Albergue Ollantaytambo Hotel Ollantaytambo
El Albergue Ollantaytambo Peru - Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing