We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in our Peru vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Ollantaytambo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Princeton, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Hotel in our Peru vacation”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We had the 2nd floor garden room, vaulted ceilings with exposed wood beams. Extra bed was an actual bed, not just a roll away cot. Bathroom pleasant with heated floor. Seats outside our room had beautiful view of mountains and Southern night sky. Breakfast included pancakes and made to order eggs. Staff very helpful and friendly. We did the farm tour / lunch and ate probably our best food of the trip cooked before us in pit and served in a little outdoor shelter overlooking farm, and amazing experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RD1441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,577 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,056
    381
    83
    44
    13
See reviews for
371
777
81
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed September 1, 2013

The rooms, views, garden and people were all fantastic and it's a great place to stay while visiting Machu Picchu. The staff was extremely helpful with planning our visits to the sights in the Sacred Valley. The restaurant in the hotel was excellent, the best in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fredwolf11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Oak, Mi.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at El Albergue. We stay in one of the superior king rooms off the garden. The room was spacious, the beds comfortable and the water hot. Maybe a little too hot. Be careful. It is at the train station which puts it a 15 minute walk to downtown, but you dont have to show up early for the train to MP. Also, we didn't mind being away from all the car/bus traffic. The food at the restaurant was very good! I would definetly return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveYouTLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Lovely hotel from the outside. Checked in, a slightly archaic check in system, however we went out to explore the nearby village and ruins. It's located on the station platform, great if you are taking a train to go to Machu Picchu. We ate in the adjoining restaurant which was pleasant. Rooms were basic but clean, a little chilly so needed additional blankets. Not TV's in the room. Informed the reception we needed a packed breakfast for the early departure next day. The check out was a calamity. The reception was manned by a very junior member of staff, the computer wasn't on and he wasn't aware he needed to make breakfast. He literally threw a few things in a bag when we asked for it. Also, the hotel set their own soles/dollar rate, so it's quoted in dollars but you pay in soles using their rate which is higher than the pegged rate! Noisy place to stay as though trains stop at 11 pm, a train revved on the platform until 1230. Bring ear plugs!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElizabethWallace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsey, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Beautiful location, with beautiful mountain views. Staff very friendly, except inflexible hotel policy of not allowing a roll away bed in a room with ample space for one is very unaccommodating. As the hotel is right next to the train station, there was considerable noise, even during the night time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester WA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 10, 2013

The Albergue provided us with the most enjoyable overall experience of our three weeks in Peru. The room was so comfortable and pretty. We felt safe and welcome. The sauna was relaxing and refreshing. The staff helped us considerably, storing luggage, answering questions and providing information. The grounds and gardens are beautiful. We enjoyed the breakfasts and the coffee. I highly recommend staying at the Albergue.

Room Tip: WE loved the balcony rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lesraft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

A very friendly hotel in a great location with a fine restaurant, this hotel tries hard to please. With one exception. It lacks heat. Technically, it has little oil filled radiators in the rooms, but we found that ours only put out enough heat for the bathroom, barely. Granted the depth of winter in July only produced temperatures down to about 30 degrees fahrenheit when we were there, but it was cold enough to make coming out from under the comfortable down duvets downright undesirable. Bring your best fur-lined jammies if you plan to stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glennn999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ollantaytambo
0.4 mi away
La Casa del Abuelo
La Casa del Abuelo
#5 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
397 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pakaritampu Hotel
Pakaritampu Hotel
#4 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
619 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hostal Iskay
Hostal Iskay
#2 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Samanapaq
Hotel Samanapaq
#6 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
365 reviews
0.6 mi away
Intitambo Hotel
Intitambo Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
168 reviews
18.9 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#2 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Albergue Ollantaytambo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Albergue Ollantaytambo

Property: El Albergue Ollantaytambo
Address: Ollantaytambo Train Station, Ollantaytambo 080108, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Ollantaytambo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ollantaytambo
#1 Family Hotel in Ollantaytambo
#2 Green Hotel in Ollantaytambo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — El Albergue Ollantaytambo 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Ollantaytambo train station, El Albergue is only one train stop away from Machu Picchu and not far from many interesting attractions. El Albergue dates back to 1925 and maintains the charm and elegance of the early 20th century while offering modern day requirements such as free high speed internet and in-room telephones. Owned by artist Wendy Weeks, this hotel has beautiful gardens, delicious food and special attention to decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your El Albergue Ollantaytambo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Albergue Ollantaytambo Hotel Ollantaytambo
El Albergue Ollantaytambo Peru - Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing