We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place to Stay in the Sacred Valley”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Ollantaytambo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Best Place to Stay in the Sacred Valley”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

This small hotel is located next to the train station but don't let that fool you. We were quite happy to spend three nights there with plenty of local hiking, many Inca ruins to view and a spectacular restaurant. Fresh eggs in the morning straight from their farm next door, fresh pasta made daily and a lovely helpful staff.

Room Tip: We were in room 17 and it had wonderful views of the snow capped mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lu B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,057
    381
    83
    44
    13
See reviews for
371
778
81
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We arrived at El Albergue after dark and left on the 8:50 train the next morning, and I wished we'd had more time to stay at explore. It is perfectly located for catching a morning train to Machu Picchu, and the restaurants, grounds and rooms are lovely. The place has a lot of character in addition to have a terrific location.

Definitely don't be put off by the location on the train tracks and give this one a try!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoveOut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Left a place that was a big disappointment and stayed here instead. Loved everything; comfortable, lovely, big room. Awesome views! Fab restaurant, wonderful staff. And for heading by PeruRail to Machu-Picchu, no more convenient place in the world, since it is IN the station. Stay here, you will like it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatS1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miraflores, Lima, Peru
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 27, 2013

The beautiful strong experience, we feel more than welcome from the first moment. We celebrate my boyfriend's birthday and it was really nice moment. The staff became our friends and became complicit from the outset of surprises and our comfort at all times. Good people, good food, good place!!!. Nick and me were very grateful for all.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MajoArana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Unique location and convenient for train to MP - hotel is actually in the train station. Charming room - quaint, big, high ceiling, comfortable and surprisingly quiet at night. The door lock need to be replaced though. Reasonably reliable hot shower. Service staff was helpful in making arrangement for my private tour/transfer back to Cusco. I like this hotel - small, quaint and the price is right. Excellent restaurant on site so no reason to eat anywhere else. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lcw-indietraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Very nice quirky hotel right at the railway station, so great for transport. Nice room with a view over the lovely garden. The staff were friendly and helpful. It was such a nice surprise to find they have a sauna. Overall GREAT.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KeithDP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We selected this hotel based on Tripadvisor reviews. We were very happy. We had room 15, which was spacious and had a nice view. There is a garden area, which our son loved. The food is good, especially at the cafe that faces the tracks. The breakfasts were good too. They have a garden next door that supplies their food and you can get a walkthrough. We enjoyed the location, but it is a 15 minute walk (slightly uphill) each time you walk to town.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelAlotCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ollantaytambo
0.4 mi away
La Casa del Abuelo
La Casa del Abuelo
#4 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
397 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pakaritampu Hotel
Pakaritampu Hotel
#5 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
620 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hostal Iskay
Hostal Iskay
#2 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Samanapaq
Hotel Samanapaq
#6 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
366 reviews
0.6 mi away
Intitambo Hotel
Intitambo Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
168 reviews
18.9 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#2 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Albergue Ollantaytambo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Albergue Ollantaytambo

Property: El Albergue Ollantaytambo
Address: Ollantaytambo Train Station, Ollantaytambo 080108, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Ollantaytambo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ollantaytambo
#1 Family Hotel in Ollantaytambo
#2 Green Hotel in Ollantaytambo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — El Albergue Ollantaytambo 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Ollantaytambo train station, El Albergue is only one train stop away from Machu Picchu and not far from many interesting attractions. El Albergue dates back to 1925 and maintains the charm and elegance of the early 20th century while offering modern day requirements such as free high speed internet and in-room telephones. Owned by artist Wendy Weeks, this hotel has beautiful gardens, delicious food and special attention to decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your El Albergue Ollantaytambo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Albergue Ollantaytambo Hotel Ollantaytambo
El Albergue Ollantaytambo Peru - Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing