We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing location in little town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Ollantaytambo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“amazing location in little town”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

you can walk right off the train directly into the check in counter here!

As a solo traveler I was a bit miffed that I had to book a room with three beds on the second level. It was fun for a bit as I looked out from the balcony at the trains and passengers on PeruRail going to/from Machu Picchu, but as the night wore on it got a bit unbearable. The diesel fumes from the trains (which stay at the station for 15-20 minutes each) seeped into the room and it was quite noisy, even into the evening around 9-10pm! I asked the hotel for a transfer near the back of the hotel and it was much better. Unless you must (have three people) and don't mind breathing diesel fumes for hours on end, stay away from the upper deck room facing the train track!

The breakfast was okay but portions were a bit small.

The hotel then set me up with a car service to tour the Ollantaytambo ruins, Moray, Salineras and Pisac en route to my flight out of Cusco the following day.

Room Tip: As tempting as it might be, avoid the room facing the train track unless you love train noises and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelL_HK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,024
    367
    82
    43
    13
See reviews for
354
757
79
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
207 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We paid the little extra and booked a Superior Room US$133.00 which was in the back wing of the hotel with fantastic views to the mountains.

The main hotel building use to be the train station and is right on the train platform which makes it great when you board the train to Machu Picchu, no standing behind the gate with all the crowd.

Our room was large with cathedral cielings, bed comfortable, WiFi worked well, fresh flowers in the room but the water pressure in the shower was not great and the water temperature fluctuated a little.

As the hotel is right on the train line there is train noise which can be loud so if you are a light sleeper take ear plugs.

Their restaurant is fantastic with excellent meals at very reasonable prices. Try the Alpaca Steak it is delicious.

We would recommend this hotel to our family and friends and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a Superior Room and request these rooms in this order 16, 15 or 12 which are all o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

right on the train station.....never had this opportunity before !!! And you expect very little.....till u walk in and you find the most quaint romantic and absolutely lovely cottages with wooden stairs and old fashioned wooden beds and everything so quaint in this hotel. We just loved this place. The first few hours we were excited to hear the trains.....and then it was quiet as.....their restaurant is really nice.....yummy pancakes and maple syrup and great smelling fried eggs and toast. I just wish i had a few more days here. Staff very very friendly and wonderful. And again thanks to ECS travel peru who booked us here..........literaly Hop skip and Jump and we were in our train to MP..........

Room Tip: We loved the rooms at the very back.......the sit out upstairs had some lovely trees with some exoti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sumukund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
95 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

This was a great hotel to explore Ollantaytambo and to visit Machu Picchu. The hotel is beside the train station so no need for half hour early arrival at the station. And it was great to step of the train after two long days of exploring Machu Picchu and walk right to our room for a hot shower and soft bed.

Also it is a very easy walk to the Ollantaytambo ruins and then the main square in the village great place for a glass of wine or a beer and to people watch after hiking the ruins!!

The hotel rooms are rustic but very comfortable - they suit the setting perfectly. (but could use a little more light for evening) The grounds are very prety and a wonderful place to relax with a glass of wine on a nice day. Some rooms have balconies with great view of Valley. We were in as room at the back and not bothered at all by train noices. Breakfasts were great and the restaurant is the best in town, with fresh, organic foods and opportunity to taste well prepared Peruvian dishes.

Staff was friendly and helpful both in arranging our stay and in meeting our needs while in the Sacred Valley, and they stored our luggage while we did overnight trip to Machu Picchu. We used the hotel service to arrange our pickup at the Cusco airport - a friendly and safe driver.

Room Tip: Room at the back with balcony for relaxing if you are there for more than overnight stay. Also quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We are looking for a place to stay after a day at MP. Can't get any closer than right on train platform.

Very basic accommodation but clean and with plenty of hot water. We did not hear the train at all. May be we are too tired after MP. The staff is very helpful. We left our luggage here on our way to MP and come back to stay the next night. Breakfast is included and made to order.

You have to try the dinner here. It is simply great food. The music is great as well.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveToTravelDaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fontana, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Very convenient location, right by the train. We were worried that it would be noisy but it wasn't at all. The grounds were beautiful and peaceful. It was a nice stop ion our way to Machu Picchu. They had everything we needed for our trip, we were even able to buy box lunches for the train ride.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DuffyAlison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We had a lovely 3 night stay in Ollantaytambo. Natalia and Sergio at the front desk were very responsive to email and just as friendly and kind in person. The food at the restaurant was really good and I also highly recommend trying the Pachamanca lunch on their farm.

If you like trains, you should get a room overlooking the platform. It was very cool watching them come and go, but you might need some earplugs to sleep if you like to go to bed early. The rooms facing the garden seem very peaceful and if I were to go back, I would try staying in one of those.

Room Tip: If you like trains, go for room 3 (triple)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bekki J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ollantaytambo hotels
0.4 mi away
La Casa del Abuelo
La Casa del Abuelo
#5 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Samanapaq
Hotel Samanapaq
#6 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pakaritampu Hotel
Pakaritampu Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Intitambo Hotel
Intitambo Hotel
#4 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sol
Hotel Sol
#10 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hostal Iskay
Hostal Iskay
#2 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Albergue Ollantaytambo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Albergue Ollantaytambo

Property: El Albergue Ollantaytambo
Address: Ollantaytambo Train Station, Ollantaytambo 080108, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Ollantaytambo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ollantaytambo
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ollantaytambo
#2 Green Hotel in Ollantaytambo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — El Albergue Ollantaytambo 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Ollantaytambo train station, El Albergue is only one train stop away from Machu Picchu and not far from many interesting attractions. El Albergue dates back to 1925 and maintains the charm and elegance of the early 20th century while offering modern day requirements such as free high speed internet and in-room telephones. Owned by artist Wendy Weeks, this hotel has beautiful gardens, delicious food and special attention to decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and HRS so you can book your El Albergue Ollantaytambo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Albergue Ollantaytambo Hotel Ollantaytambo
El Albergue Ollantaytambo Peru - Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing