We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location in Ollantaytambo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Ollantaytambo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Hostel is located at train station. Very comfortable beds, big rooms with charm. The towels were big and plush. Staff was friendly and helpful. We had a party of 10 that ate at the restaurant and everyone loved it . This was a great value and would recommend. It can be noisy, so bring a set of earplugs....

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Cinnamoncyndi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,630)
There are newer reviews for El Albergue Ollantaytambo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

914 - 920 of 1,630 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

An unsual location right on the train platform shouldn't deter you from staying here. The rooms are reasonable size, clean and tidy. Showers can go from hot to cold without notice, which seems typical for South America.
Breakfast is average, however dinner was outstanding.
Staff are polite and helpful.
All in all a good family hotel. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Healzontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

This beautiful B&B in the quaint "Living Inca City" of Ollantaytambo proved to be the perfect headquarters for our Sacred Valley adventures. We stayed three nights in Room 16 prior to our MP visit and one night on our way back from MP in Room 11.

Location- Perfect spot for exploring Ollantaytambo, which is really fun to explore on your own. Definitely preferred over Urubamba- which we drove through a few times and definitely would not have felt comfortable walking around. It was so wonderful to step right off the train on our way back from MP and step back into the hotel! Although the B&B is a few minutes from the main plaza, we love the separation and didn't mind paying the 3 soles (~$1) for a tuk-tuk to take us to town, which was a fun experience in itself.

The Rooms- The Superior Balcony Room 16 had an amazing view of the mountains/glaciers and was very quiet, private and romantic. Room 11 was a ground-level garden room, which we stayed in for just a night to pass through from MP to Cuzco. This room did get some train noise, which didn't bother us at all. In hindsight, I should have gotten Room 16 again, as it is worth the slightly premium price. The decor in both rooms was rustic, yet modern and accented by original artwork from the B&B's owner. Both were very clean and featured fresh flowers from the extensive garden. A few negative reviews focus on the water in the showers- it is important to note that Ollantaytambo does not have the luxury of more modern electricity and plumbing as hotels in Cuzco and instead relies on solar power to heat the shower water. Slightly inconsistent water temperature definitely did not affect our perfect stay.

Customer Service- Natalia and Sergio both speak good English and provided great customer service during our stay. Prior to our arrival, they were very responsive by email. I took advantage of their offer to arrange airport transportation, which gave me great peace-of-mind. A driver was waiting at the airport in very nice attire with a sign with our name and a clean/comfortable/modern car to begin our journey.

Food- Although I plan to right a separate review of the restaurant, let me state here that we are big foodies and thoroughly enjoyed their restaurant for four dinners, four breakfasts and two lunches. The menu items utilizing their fresh, organic vegetables were by far the highlight. The complimentary breakfast was just perfect each morning!

In closing, do not have any doubts on booking with El Albergue. It exceeded my expectations and provided many happy memories of our Sacred Valley vacation.

Room Tip: Like everyone says- Room 15 & 16 are the best view and are very quiet.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank NBLAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We recently stayed at the El Albergue Hotel on a trip to see MP and the Sacred Valley. The hotel was beautiful and we loved our room. We had an upstairs room at the back of the property (Number 16) that was large, very comfortable and spotlessly clean! The staff went WAY out of their way to be sure that we had everything that we needed and more. The restaurant food was excellent. The service was great and they even delivered to our room one night! The staff at the front desk made the stay unique! They were warm and friendly from the start of our reservation in the months leading up to our trip, to the last day as we checked out. Yiiiipppppeeee to NATALIA and SERGIO!!!!! I would highly recommend this hotel for your stay in the Sacred Valley. It is perfectly situated, beautiful, and a comfortable place to call home.

Room Tip: We loved our room at the back of the property. A short stroll through the beautiful gardens and ver...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gill56Martinsburg_WV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed here for two nights and absolutely loved it! This hotel is very easy to get to and easy to hop on the train. My wife and I walked everywhere we went in Ollantaytambo and never had an problems. We never had to show the gate guard at the train station anything from the hotel to show were were staying at El Albergue but then again we speak spanish.

Some of the things I loved:
1) GREAT food. We ate dinner here twice and had the included breakfast each morning. Pretty much everything they serve is grown on their farm so you are getting very fresh and organic food. You must try the alpaca for dinner. It is absolutely amazing. The food was reasonably priced as well.
2) Comfortable beds and a very clean room. No TV in the room was a plus for me. Stayed in room 4 which had a view the trains coming and going. I did not really have a problema with the noise but some may. The other rooms might have a better view of the garden but may cost more.
3) Very friendly staff who would go out of their way to please you.

I am sure there are many more positive things I can say but these were the bigs ones for me.

The only really negative thing I have to say is the WIFI was really bad. Not that this was a big issue as it is stronger near the reception but was pretty much nonexistant in our room. This seems to be pretty typical in other places we have stayed in Peru though so no big deal.

Highly reccomend this hotel and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mvkicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Stayed here because we wanted to be near the train station to catch our train to Agua Calientes. The hotel IS IN the train station. Get a card from the front desk after you check in, as you need to show the train security guard something to get through the gate into the station area every time you come back from being out. Hotel/station is located at the bottom of a long steep street into town. You can walk/hike it or take one of the many tuk-tuks that are available to take you to the main plaza in town ( 3-4 minute fun ride, 1 sole per person each way). Breakfast in the hotel dining room is very simple (eggs, fruit, yogourt, juice, coffee, tea). Dinner is simple (a limited menu), and inexpensive. There are not a lot of other options to eat in town - this is a very small town, at the end of the road - train or walking only from here to Agua Calientes. Even with this hotel in the train station (and trains start early and run all day until late at night) you barely hear trains coming or going.

Room Tip: Standard rooms are in the older part of the hotel - they are almost hostal like, but quite cute and...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rbthodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

The B&B is at the train station, so getting to the train early in the morning is no problem at all! The room we had on the second floor had a kind of old feel to it. The beds were extremely uncomfortable, very lumpy. The noise from the train is quite loud. The floors are wooden, and every time you take a step or move in bed, there is a loud creaking. I felt sorry for whoever was staying under us! The shower was either extremely hot or extremely cold and seemed to run out of hot water rather quickly. WiFi in the room did not work. We had to go downstairs and sit to get access. We did eat in the restaurant and the food was very good! The staff was friendly and helpful. After reading the reviews on here, we were quite disappointed!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jkw2765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ollantaytambo
0.1 mi away
Pakaritampu Hotel
Pakaritampu Hotel
#5 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
635 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hostal Iskay
Hostal Iskay
#2 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
257 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Casa del Abuelo
La Casa del Abuelo
#4 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Samanapaq
Hotel Samanapaq
#6 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
376 reviews
0.6 mi away
Intitambo Hotel
Intitambo Hotel
#3 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
185 reviews
18.9 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#2 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
1,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Albergue Ollantaytambo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Albergue Ollantaytambo

Address: Ollantaytambo Train Station, Ollantaytambo 080108, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Ollantaytambo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ollantaytambo
#1 Family Hotel in Ollantaytambo
#2 Green Hotel in Ollantaytambo
Price Range: $95 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — El Albergue Ollantaytambo 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Ollantaytambo train station, El Albergue is only one train stop away from Machu Picchu and not far from many interesting attractions. El Albergue dates back to 1925 and maintains the charm and elegance of the early 20th century while offering modern day requirements such as free high speed internet and in-room telephones. Owned by artist Wendy Weeks, this hotel has beautiful gardens, delicious food and special attention to decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your El Albergue Ollantaytambo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Albergue Ollantaytambo Hotel Ollantaytambo
El Albergue Ollantaytambo Peru - Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing