We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for families”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Ollantaytambo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chino Hills, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great for families”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We just returned from our trip to Peru. The service at El Albergue was outstanding. With the help of Natalia who answered all my emails in advance and Sergio who dealt with us there our trip could not have been better. As most have said don't worry about the train station location. It never bothered us. The food there is great! The cleanliness of the rooms were great! No TV meant a lot of great family time playing cards or talking. We took our two boys 9 and 13. Instead of staying in Cusco we opted to stay in Ollantay. Could not have made a better choice. Sergio set the boys up for a horseback riding trip which was as my wife said so beautiful and professional.
If you can do the Pachamanga lunch at the farm. So delicious! Thank you El Alberbergue!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ryan909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,057
    381
    83
    44
    13
See reviews for
371
778
81
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

This is our second visit here. We love the location it is right at the train station which means no rush to catch your train. It is so convenient. The hotel doesn't look like much from the front but as you walk inside you will be pleasantly surprised by the beautiful gardens that are throughout the property. The beds are comfortable, the rooms nice and clean. WIFI is available but not as good as other places eg. from the room you couldn't stream video without disconnects. Breakfast was good, available at 6:00am. Some of the staff were fabulous, and others either were very shy or had a little bit of an attitude. (a smile would be nice!)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CC-CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

We were lucky enough to get room 15. The room itself is of a very high standard, the bed is incredibly comfortable with quality duvet and pillows. From your bed you can hear the lovely sound of the river and the trains whistling as they come in and out of the station.

The room was large and spacious, cool during the day and warm and cosy at night.
The balcony view is stunning, surrounded by mountains, garden in the foreground and glacier in the distance.

The hotel is the station house, beautifully restored and couldn't be better if you are using the train. Everyone else has to queue outside the station where as hotel guests walk straight on to the platform.

Dinner was nice and the restaurant really lovely and romantic.

They packed us a breakfast bag to take on the train as we were leaving at 5am.

All in all a thoroughly beautiful hotel with efficient friendly.

The only disappointment is that we could not staying longer.



Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Torihorses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

The room is rustic but clean. The linens are clean and comparable to a five star hotel. The complimentary breakfast is very good with two eggs, fresh fruits, pancakes and toasted bread.

The staff are all very friendly and accommodating, especially, Natalia, the receptionist, who speaks very good English.

The location is the most convenient since it right beside or shall I say on the train station. Try to visit the garden and small farm at the back where you will find unique trees and flowers.

To complete your satisfying experience be specific on what you need on your stay. The staff will always try their best to please any guest.

I. Medina

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IMedina60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Just spent 3 days at El Alberque. Great location great room and comfortable beds. Sergio at the front desk was a great help. I got off the train after a 4 day trek on the Incan Trail and was exhausted . I had a reservation that began on Tuesday and showed up a day early on Monday. Sergio was able to find me a room even though I was a day early . He also arranged transport throughout the Sacred Valley and was a huge help throughout my stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We spent two nights in Ollantaytambo to acclimatize before the Inca Trail. A sweet little B&B with helpful staff. Water available to refill our bottles, great breakfast in the restaurant and relaxing garden at the rear. Very conveniently located - right next to the train station! Only a 10 minute walk to the main square.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisamckernan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Great room with heated bathroom floor. Best linens out of all the places we stayed. Restaurant food and service were both great. Hotel allows you to refill your water bottle for 1 sole. Beautiful flower garden! Train to Machu Pichu conveniently located out the front entrance.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 306KarenS306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ollantaytambo
0.4 mi away
La Casa del Abuelo
La Casa del Abuelo
#4 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
397 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pakaritampu Hotel
Pakaritampu Hotel
#5 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
620 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hostal Iskay
Hostal Iskay
#2 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Samanapaq
Hotel Samanapaq
#6 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
366 reviews
0.6 mi away
Intitambo Hotel
Intitambo Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
168 reviews
18.9 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#2 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Albergue Ollantaytambo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Albergue Ollantaytambo

Property: El Albergue Ollantaytambo
Address: Ollantaytambo Train Station, Ollantaytambo 080108, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Ollantaytambo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ollantaytambo
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ollantaytambo
#2 Green Hotel in Ollantaytambo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — El Albergue Ollantaytambo 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Ollantaytambo train station, El Albergue is only one train stop away from Machu Picchu and not far from many interesting attractions. El Albergue dates back to 1925 and maintains the charm and elegance of the early 20th century while offering modern day requirements such as free high speed internet and in-room telephones. Owned by artist Wendy Weeks, this hotel has beautiful gardens, delicious food and special attention to decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your El Albergue Ollantaytambo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Albergue Ollantaytambo Hotel Ollantaytambo
El Albergue Ollantaytambo Peru - Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing