We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Ollantaytambo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

This is excellent place to stay in Sacred Valley before and after visit of Machu Picchu. Room was clean and comfortable.Staff is very helpful. If you need transportation from Cuzco or tickets for MP they arrange that too. Eduardo, 22 years old driver took me to all locations of Sacred Valley for reasonable price. Very professional and always smiling attitude. Thank you Virginia. Food in the restaurant was amazing. It was a really enjoyable experience.

Room Tip: Room number 15 was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller4everer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,577 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,056
    381
    83
    44
    13
See reviews for
371
777
81
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

I was very pleasantly surprised about how nice this hotel is. I was a little concerned about staying here because it is at the train station. I don't mean near the train station, I mean at the train station! The front door is the train station platform. Trains start passing by at 5:00 am and I was sure I would be woken up by them. Maybe I was very tired, but I did not hear a thing till I was supposed to wake up at 8:00 am. The rooms are nice sized and the courtyard pleasant. I tried the sauna and it was a nice way to sweat off some weight. I also ate dinner here. I looked around town and I thought the El Albergue restaurant seemed like the best place to eat. It was not fancy but the food was well prepared and tasty. This hotel is not a 5 star luxury hotel but it was a nice place to spend a night.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Middle_Aged_Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
notdeadyet1
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

I was hesitant to book El Albergue because of its location at the train station, but it was as quiet and peaceful as hoped. The staff were attentive and helpful from the moment of arrival, allowing we weary travelers to check-in early to our rooms. The rooms were basic but clean and comfortable. The courtyard was absolutely stunning, with chairs and hammocks and shade and a pervasive sweet smell of flowers. The location was perfect, as it was just a stroll out of the main part of town, close enough to be in the middle of everything in a matter of minutes, but enough distance that you felt removed and relaxed. The bar and restaurant were amazing (a great introduction to Pisco Sours), not cheap but worth the money. I couldn't recommend this place highly enough, it turned a stopover in Ollantaytambo into one of the highlights of our trip.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank notdeadyet1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

By now you have read the reviews highly regarding this hotel. I can only add my voice to the many wonderful things that folks have said about El Albergue Ollantaytambo. I chose this hotel after reading these very reviews and I am so happy that I did. My wife and I made a trip to Peru specifically to visit Machu Picchu for our wedding anniversary and spent two nights here. We took the train from here to MP. From the start, Natalia at the hotel was helpful in every aspect of arranging our stay. She had a van waiting for us when we arrived in Cusco, and we were delighted by the driver and his wife. Because it is a little complicated to buy the entry tickets for the park outside of Peru, Natalia arranged to get them at a small additional price which I was happy to pay! Imagine traveling all that way and not getting in. The hotel could be an end destination in itself! Very romantic setting in the restaurant with the live Andean harp music. Wonderful rooms, great staff, great food (including the Pachamanca lunch - highly recommended!). Don't miss this one!

Room Tip: We stayed upstairs in the back and slept like babies!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wrld2C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, CA
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We spent four days at El Albergue and are very pleased with the experience.

Highlights: Pachamanca lunch, help provided by Natalia, and Breakfasts + Dinner at the hotel's restaurant.

The garden is beautiful, the bucolic setting is restful, and the town itself is very clean and charming. If you love trains, you will be in heaven.

The quality of service and food is very high. We have great memories of time spent there.

Room Tip: Room 16 has view of the glacier (Mt Veronica) at the front and the corn field on one side. Also had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeemCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 4, 2012

The garden and decor of the hotel is very pleasing. Fun place to stay with friends and family. Rooms are decent size but very clean. Bathrooms could have been a bit bigger. Cafe El Mayu is part of this hotel, so food was excellent. The view out of their large windows is very beautiful - with green mountains and river right below and train tracks in the front.

Train station is right outside the cafe. Made it very convenient for us to get on the train to Machu Pichu.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ppichai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 3, 2012

El Albergue felt like a mini resort. Once you walk through the doors, you're welcomed by friendly staff and you immediately forget that right outside the doors is a train station. The layout of the hotel is beautiful, with amazing gardens throughout, and a running stream. It really is very peaceful. Our room was towards the back and was really large and roomy, with all the necessary amenities. The bathroom was nice and the beds were comfortable. We really enjoyed just being on the property as you can tell and feel how well taken care of it is. The kitchen stuff was amazingly friendly and was always happy to store anything for us in their (milk for our daughter, etc.). The food was fresh and delicious. We definately recommend staying here over places in Cusco or Aguas Callientes. The train ride to Machu Picchu was perfect, about an hour and 45 minutes each way, and it was so easy to just walk out the door and jump on the train.

The train noise wasn't too bad, especially if you plan to be up early to catch the train to Machu Picchu. I recommend staying towards the back to avoid any train noise. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms toward the back are more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dannya76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ollantaytambo
0.4 mi away
La Casa del Abuelo
La Casa del Abuelo
#5 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
397 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pakaritampu Hotel
Pakaritampu Hotel
#4 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
619 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hostal Iskay
Hostal Iskay
#2 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Samanapaq
Hotel Samanapaq
#6 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
365 reviews
0.6 mi away
Intitambo Hotel
Intitambo Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
168 reviews
18.9 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#2 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Albergue Ollantaytambo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Albergue Ollantaytambo

Property: El Albergue Ollantaytambo
Address: Ollantaytambo Train Station, Ollantaytambo 080108, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Ollantaytambo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ollantaytambo
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ollantaytambo
#2 Green Hotel in Ollantaytambo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — El Albergue Ollantaytambo 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Ollantaytambo train station, El Albergue is only one train stop away from Machu Picchu and not far from many interesting attractions. El Albergue dates back to 1925 and maintains the charm and elegance of the early 20th century while offering modern day requirements such as free high speed internet and in-room telephones. Owned by artist Wendy Weeks, this hotel has beautiful gardens, delicious food and special attention to decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your El Albergue Ollantaytambo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Albergue Ollantaytambo Hotel Ollantaytambo
El Albergue Ollantaytambo Peru - Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing