We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Pakaritampu Hotel(Ollantaytambo)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Las Orquideas(Ollantaytambo)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ccapac Inka Ollanta(Ollantaytambo)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sol Natura Hotel(Ollantaytambo)
View Hotel
Samana Inn Hotel(Ollantaytambo)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Munay Tika(Ollantaytambo)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dona Catta Inn(Ollantaytambo)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hostel Andenes(Ollantaytambo)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,793)
Filter reviews
1,793 results
Traveler rating
1,220
420
91
47
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,220
420
91
47
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsorganic farmtrain platformpachamanca lunchtrain noisesacred valleyeucalyptus saunaalpaca steakgreat restaurantbrowniebalcony roomconvenient locationtaking the trainin towntrip to machu picchubeautiful gardenpancakesearly train
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,345 - 1,350 of 1,793 reviews
Reviewed April 5, 2011

What a great place from reception to checking out the service was sensational we ate the restaurant
the food was beautiful they have their  own organic  herb garden they make their own pasta I was gone for all money the location right on the train platform could not have been handier - Sergio you are a great manager 

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chillimudcrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2011

My friend and I were travelling through Peru to celebrate our 50th birthdays. Out of the 8 hotels we stayed in, El Albergue was our favorite. The gardens are beautiful, the rooms are spacious and the service was friendly and accommodating. Sergio, who mans the front desk, was an absolute pleasure. Sergio has a wonderful sense of humor and a warm, welcoming way about him. Thanks, Sergio, from the "rich ladies"!

Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
Thank patriciainperu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2011

This hotel is literally right by the train station, so missing your train to Machu Picchu won't be a problem. :) The hotel is so unique. The rooms are huge and the views are beautiful. We had a room at the front of the hotel, right by the train tracks and the river. The only down-side were the fumes and the noise of the trains if you wanted the window open. And really, it wasn't that big of a deal. I loved to listen to the river and the occasional train and chatter of people excited to go to Machu Picchu. This hotel has it all. The service is second to none, the café outside has the BEST coffee in Peru. (and the cookies and brownies were addictive.) We didn't eat at the restaurant, but reading other reviews, I am sorry we didn't. You can't go wrong with this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redaries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2011

We stayed 3 nights at this hotel. Had a room with balcony. Spacious, attractive rooms, good value, good, cooked to order breakfast included. Helpful staff showed us some good hikes. This is a good starting point for your trip to Machu Picchu. Take the train from here early in the morning and be back for dinner that evening. Ollantaytembo is a great Sacred Valley town.

Room Tip: We had room 12, with a balcony.
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BradMinneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2011

My 7 year old daughter and I get a little misty-eyed when talking about our special Mother-Daughter 4 days at El Albergue while our boys were on the Inca Trail. We will never forget our beautiful visit there.

Our review will mostly mirror others with an "excellent" rating, so we'll try to add some color commentary:

1) We were a little nervous as our driver ($15 arranged by El Albergue to pick us up in Cusco) parked at the train station parking lot, and we had to walk with our bags through everyone at the train station. But the minute we walked in the door, we stepped into a beautiful and serene world.

2) We had the 2nd floor room in the back of the property - I think the best room. To get there, you walk through the beautiful blooming garden. The large swinging shutters opened in one direction to the snow-capped mountains in the distance, another direction to the corn field out back, and the third to the tall green hill with Ollantaytambo ruins in the distance. At night, the shutters blocked out all light - conducive to an excellent sleep. The bathroom has heated floors - awesome. As my daughter emailed her grandma back home on our smart phone (Wifi works even in this far room. One negative is they don't have a computer to use, though they'll let you the office computer if needed), we were giddy and giggly under the comfy comforters looking out at the gorgeous views.

3) Jose-Manuel is a new office manager and was very friendly and helpful. He personally walked us out to the back trail that led up to the main town. We took the trail and 20 minute walk up every day because of feeling it was a little Incan secret, its countryside serenity and to avoid the busier commercial street to town.

4) At first we thought breakfast was kind of paltry, and it took us a day to catch on that you can actually order anything from Chef Juan. Once we were better informed, Chef Juan made wonderful eggs and even more wonderful pancakes. I heard others marveling at his French Toast too. Chef Juan is amazing.

5) We ate dinner here every night because we did not want to return to town. With the excellent variety, we could've had a different dinner every night, but we were too in love with 2 of our dishes. My daughter ordered fettuccini three nights in a row. I had 2 nights of Alpaca - amazingly tender and flavorful. (I'm sure the elderberry sauce was wonderful, but I'm a big chimichurri fan, and Chef Juan graciously let me switch sauces.) Jose-Manuel would come by each evening and warmly walk through to see how everyone was doing before he went home to his family . The onsite owner's Peruvian-born son Joaquim would often walk through around midday as well for a friendly check-in.

6) The brownies, the brownies, the brownies! Order the brownies from Cafe Mayu at the train station, and enjoy them on your verandah, take them with you to Machu Picchu, order extras for your return home. If you somehow have read through the reviews and don't choose El Albergue, at a minimum get the brownies!

7) Just to be able to say there was 1 weakness - it took a little longer than expected to check out. Hardly worth mentioning other than to not let Joaquim's head get too big. ;)

8) A few Ollanta notes...we were really impressed with Awamaki (www.awamaki.org) and recommend their weaving tour up to Patacancha or the woodworking session with Senor Julio. They also have a fair-trade shop next to the market. I do not recommend horseback riding at Sota Tours and next time would book any other sightseeing or activities through El Albergue for best results.

Room Tip: 2nd floor in the far back
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carleton_Alumna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews