We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coffee Tree

Coffee Tree
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Scenic view
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Seating, Waitstaff
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
“great!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

The Coffee Tree is a perfect place to watch the goings on in the main plaza in Ollantaytambo. We went twice during our stay, and both times had a lovely experience. The cappuccinos are delicious with a little added chocolate on the top, and the apple cake was also great.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EGH2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    66
    28
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect location, tasty food and reliable wifi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

Coffee tree has some delicious food, I particularly enjoyed the bacon, avo and tomato sandwich and the views of the plaza are lovely! Their lemonade is some of the best in Ollantaytambo. The owner, Alex was always friendly but wasn't around for me to pay the bill for ages. Having said that food was pretty quick and popping in to coffee tree has always been a pleasant experience.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David5578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good coffee in a great location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

The Coffee Tree offers a great place to view the plaza either outside or upstairs while sipping good coffee. We chose the latter option, and, while the seats and table were wedged tightly into the bay window providing a somewhat uncomfortable position, we made the best of our people watching and photo op time at the end of the day when the plaza is abuzz with all sorts of people and activities. The friendly waiter/barista had to climb the stairs twice to bring each of our brimming cups of hot liquid to us, all the while keeping a smile on his face. We didn’t eat while there, but during our many walks around the plaza the food others were eating looked pretty tasty.

I recommend the Coffee Tree for its staff, coffee and viewing location.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radcliffe on Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

Went three times, sitting outside with beers in the afternoons, but upstairs once early lunchtime. Can't speak for the coffee but the sandwiches were well filled and using homemade bread. On this occasion it was fiesta time, celebrating the anniversary of Ollantaytambo. There was a procession with costumes brass bands and even a cow going through the square for at least 4 hours. We had a great view! The traffic police were rubbish but it was great fun watching them try to unscramble the mess of huge trucks, buses, mini buses cars etc that they managed to create. Alex, the young barman, was charming, testing his English and my Spanish. Recommended as a lovely simple stop!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ddickinscoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Take a breath!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

This is THE place to sit back and drink it all in...from the heady experience of being in the Sacred Valley, through the aroma of perfectly prepared coffee (REAL milk, fair price, served however you ask for) to the friendly chatter with the staff. Sit upstairs and seclude yourself or outside and make new friends with the locals, the choices are all yours here.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melody S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coffee Tree also viewed

Ollantaytambo, Sacred Valley
Ollantaytambo, Sacred Valley
 
Ollantaytambo, Sacred Valley
 

Been to Coffee Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing