We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great coffee”

La Esquina Cafe-Bakery
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $6
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Central America
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great coffee”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We ate here a couple of times while in Ollantaytambo and the food was very good. It was our café of choice for coffee and the menu offered a great variety - suitable for the meat eaters, vegetarians and fussy kids!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank mkileytupy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    97
    34
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A great place to eat”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

This little restaurant in the town square is a great place to eat. Everything, from the soups to the meat skewers (I can't remember what the dish was called) to the giant chocolate chip cookies, was wonderful. I wish we would have eaten here more than once. Great variety on the menu and all of it was delicious.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
121 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Great spot for lunch”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

The set lunch is tasty - fresh lemonade, soup, chicken stew and warm brownie. We also got sandwiches to go on the day we left Ollantaytambo; they were great as well. What puts lunch over the top here is the really warm welcome and service from Ryder. We made two visits to Ollantaytambo a month apart and Ryder welcomed us back on our second visit like long-lost friends.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank MathYVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Friendly service and decent food perfect for a quick lunch.”
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

My friends and I volunteered for over a month in Ollantaytambo and popped in to La Esquina for lunch. Following our warm intro from Ryder we visited often. The lemonades are nice (3 different varieties), set menu is 15S/, warm cookies and empanadas a useful takeaway idea if you are on the go. The best part was the atmosphere, there are always a few people there and as mentioned, you are made to feel very welcome. Wi-fi is generally okay but does not always work.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David5578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanocouver,BC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“BEST COFFEE IN OLLANTAYTAMBO”
Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

Rydder (sp?) made me a delicious " dry" cappuccino and served us really good sandwiches under the watchful eye of his daughter Amy.

He also arranged a taxi tour to Pisaq.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Toutman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Esquina Cafe-Bakery also viewed

Ollantaytambo, Sacred Valley
Ollantaytambo, Sacred Valley
 

Been to La Esquina Cafe-Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing