We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with hot showers”
Review of Tunupa Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tunupa Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great hotel with hot showers”
Reviewed May 10, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for several nights and couldn't have better things to say. The rooms were incredibly clean, the beds warm enough for chilly nights, and the staff was very accommodating and friendly. We even left our luggage here for 2 days while we went to macchu picchu/ aguas calientes with no problems. There were also 24/7 hot showers which was not the case anywhere else we stayed.

Its also close to the train station and has great views of the surrounding mountains. Obviously I definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Erew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    74
    26
    5
    1
See reviews for
29
77
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Haven, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2012

I have stayed here multiple times with groups of students. The staff is great, breakfast was good, and the WIFI works well. The rooms have always been really clean and the showers hot. There is also an amazing view of Mount Veronica as well. It is by the train station so that helps with Machu Picchu trips. There is also secure parking for motorcycles if you need it.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mauroj100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2012

This hotel was a wonderful find. It is a newer hotel, so hasn't had time to build up the fan base it truly deserves. First of all, the staff is very friendly and helpful, and enough English is spoken to serve those staying there very well. Next, the rooms are spectacularly clean and comfortable. They feature comfortable beds with enough blankets and quilts to make you never want to get up, a large shower stall, a space heater, if you need it, and our room had a gorgeous view of the mountains. There is easy parking, if you are driving, as we were, and a friendly little dog hangs out nearby to greet you.

It is less than a five minute walk to the train station. In fact, it is the third closest hotel to the station and right next door to the second closest. It takes about 5 minutes to walk to town. The fact that it is right in e middle of the train station and town is a great benefit!

Breakfast is included in your stay. It consists of bread, butter, jam, scrambled eggs, orange juice, fresh fruit and coffee or a variety of teas.

Our stay for 2 nights during March came to a total of $100 (US). We couldn't have been more pleased! Give Tunupa Lodge a try. I think you we love it.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebDaigle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augsburg, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

I stayed at the Tunupa Lodge in Ollantaytambo for about 2 weeks. This newly build place offers clean and comfortable rooms of which most face the ruins in town. I stayed in room 206 in which I woke up with the first sun rays in the Sacred Valley right next to Mount Victory. What a view!

This hotel is a family run place and everyone was making my stay unforgettable. Please don't hesitate to suggest insights and make comments. Everyone listens to you and is ready to accommodate in the best way possible.

Thank you so much Eber, Conzuela and Colina!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sebastian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Split, Croatia
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2011

this place is so nice and calm! rooms are great, nice bathrooms, hot showers. very friendly reception staff, internet. amazing view with good sunbathing in front of the house. good location. highly recommended.

Room Tip: room with a view on the snowy mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ljubica1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ollantaytambo hotels
0.1 mi away
Pakaritampu Hotel
Pakaritampu Hotel
#4 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
619 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Casa del Abuelo
La Casa del Abuelo
#5 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
397 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
#1 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
1,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sol
Hotel Sol
#11 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
450 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Samanapaq
Hotel Samanapaq
#6 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
365 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostal Iskay
Hostal Iskay
#2 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tunupa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tunupa Lodge

Property: Tunupa Lodge
Address: Av. Ferrocarril N 50, Ollantaytambo, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Ollantaytambo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Ollantaytambo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Tunupa Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Tunupa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tunupa Lodge Ollantaytambo, Peru - Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing