We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely find, beautiful garden in courtyard”
Review of Hostal El Tambo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal El Tambo
Ranked #9 of 29 Ollantaytambo B&B and Inns
Brooklyn, New York
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A lovely find, beautiful garden in courtyard”
Reviewed January 1, 2012

I loved this place. We arrived in Ollantaytambo and planned to walk around the blocks surrounding the main plaza to find a cute place to stay…I was intent on finding a spot with a beautiful courtyard (which I had heard was common in this area). About a block from the plaza we came across a big bright blue door in a tall stone wall (Hostal El Tambo) and decided to check it out….glad we did. Behind the door was a huge flower-filled courtyard that was sunny, peaceful, had a hammock and a table/chairs, and also had incredible views of the nearby mountains and Incan ruins. We stayed on the second floor in a rustic room with a matrimonial bed. Rooms are basic, a little musty (from the wool blankets I think), and with great views.

All rooms used a shared bathroom, which was downstairs in the courtyard. Normally I am not a fan of shared bathrooms, but there weren’t many guests there at the time we were so it wasn’t a big deal, plus the bathrooms were clean (and hot showers too) so it was fine. The family that owns the place is super sweet and nice…it really felt like we were staying at someone’s house and not an impersonal hostel. No kitchen to use, but breakfast is included. It is also directly across the street from Ganso Bar, a cool bar with a funky vibe and good crowd that was a very convenient option at night.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brandori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    21
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
7
24
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2011

This is a lovely, simple hostel for the backpacker passing through. Beds were clean and firm, lots of blankets if we needed. Owner is friendly, lives on site, and has a sweet puppy.

My only complaint is that the bathrooms are communal by gender and separate. So you need to walk across a dirty courtyard to do anything in the bathroom. When at the mirror or sink, there is no privacy, it is open to the courtyard.

My two suggestions:
1) Add a small, swinging privacy door at the entrance to the mens and women's bathroom areas for more privacy.

2) Add small shelves or counters in the bathrooms. Right now there is nowhere to set anything down. Floors are dirty (open to the outdoors) and so it's a bit of a problem. A simple wooden shelf doesn't cost much and would make a big difference.

Other than that, its a great place to stay to save money and be comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rrunaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arequipa, Peru
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

We were greeted by the super-friendly and helpful owner and his new puppy. This hostal is very bare-bones, but a perfect choice.

The rooms are clean, simple, and comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank andreirublev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Stayed one night here. It's right on the main road -- close to everything. The staff is excellent. The room was clean and accommodating. They have a beautiful roof deck that has a great view.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank UDFlyer98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ollantaytambo hotels
0.1 mi away
Hostel Andenes
Hostel Andenes
#9 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
180 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Casa del Abuelo
La Casa del Abuelo
#5 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
397 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal Iskay
Hostal Iskay
#2 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa de Wow!!!
Casa de Wow!!!
#4 of 29 in Ollantaytambo
238 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pacha Kusi Hostel + More
Pacha Kusi Hostel + More
#5 of 29 in Ollantaytambo
64 reviews
0.2 mi away
Janaxpacha Hostel
Janaxpacha Hostel
#1 of 49 in Ollantaytambo
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal El Tambo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal El Tambo

Property: Hostal El Tambo
Address: Calle del Horno | S/n, Ollantaytambo 34121, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Ollantaytambo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Ollantaytambo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A clean, fun, economical hostel located in the center of the living Incan town of Ollantaytambo ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hostal El Tambo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal El Tambo Ollantaytambo, Peru - Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing