We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of Hotel Sol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Sol
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Ollantaytambo
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We decided to stay one night in Ollantaytambo after staying in Urubamba for a few nights (we wanted to see the town and local ruins). The cab ride from Urubamba took about 20 minutes and cost us 50 soles (we booked from the hotel). The road is paved until you get to Ollanta and then it is cobblestones.
We had planned on staying at El Amberque and had booked the room through Kayak. However when we got there they didn't have our reservation and were fully booked. The hotel manager was apologetic and helped us find another hotel in the town; Hotel Sol. This hotel is basic but charming. The staff was very friendly and the location, I think, is actually much better since it is a 2 minute walk to the ruins and a 1 minute walk to the Plaza. Lots of restaurants around too. We stayed in room 203 and had a view of the ruins and the river (you can hear the river at night in the room). The room is fairly basic as with the bathroom. There were no controls for heat in the room (at least I didn't see any), but we were comfortable. The floors are wood, walls are plaster and we were right outside an adjoining courtyard that accesses the different rooms. So I was little concerned the hotel might be noisy. Wasn't an issue at all. Slept great. Also the room included breakfast.
Overall this hotel was great. Good location, charming, friendly staff, good price; I would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: I would recommend getting a room with a view of the ruins and river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lavagtan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (465)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

234 - 240 of 465 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2012

We had booked a B&B in advance. However, the place did not have running water and we had to look for another place to stay, last minute. We found Hotel Sol on our way to a restaurant and fortunately they had a room available for us. The staff is very professional and extremely helpful so we could finally enjoy our stay in Ollantaytambo. The location very convenient; more importantly (after our experience with a small B&B) the hotel has tons of (hot) water and the breakfast is really good. The room was very basic, but clean and comfortable and with ok WiFi connection.

Room Tip: The room closest to the lobby on the ground floor has ok internet connection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeMaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

The room was nice, comfortable bed, but the shower made me mad! In 2 days I didn't manage to have a decent shower as the water would either get too hot or too cold - not happy about this, of course.

Breakfast was simple but good - the dinning room where it's served has a nice view to the ruins and river. Staff was correct.

WIFI only worked in the lobby, although it was supposed to work in the rooms.

Our second day there was no electricity for several hours, but I guess that's not their fault. Still, medium places like this should have a back up generator or something.

The location couldn't be better! The rest was OK. 

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zararock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Nice little bed and breakfast in the heart of Ollantaytambo. The staff was friendly and attentive. Our room (204) overlooked the Temple/Fortress Ruins and river. Breakfast was available each morning. They also had a self serve assortment of teas available all day. The hotel had a beautiful open atrium from which one could enjoy the fresh air and beautiful mountain views.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moo129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Stayed here for one night. Hotel was decent and clean but very basic. Booked 2 rooms for 2 couples well in advance but one of our rooms had 2 doubles when we got there. Tried changing but i was told they only had one room with a single bed. Internet was painfully slow and would only work if i came to the reception area. i would also recommend ear plugs for light sleepers as there is considerable noise due to very retro windows. They did pack as breakfast as we were leaving the hotel very early so that was very nice of them. I think for $80 per night it was a little overpriced.
Wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toishome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed 3 nights with our 3 children (11, 11 and 8 years old) in early September 2012. First, the town is a great base to visit Machu Picchu, just 90 minutes away by train, much nicer than the over-priced touristic trap of Aguas Calientes and far more convenient than doing the tiring 1 day trip from Cusco (which we did 2 years ago). The Hotel is simple but clean and functional. Location is great, 50 m from the central square (although it can be a bit noisy because of the traffic). The service standard is very good, in particular the personnel at the reception desk are great. They were always quick in solving any issue and gave us very good recommendations for dinner and for visiting the area. We occupied two rooms (107 and 108) on the ground floor, accessible through a small and nice patio. This limited the amount of light entering the rooms, but on the other hand they were quiet. The rooms were simple but spacious, in particular the bathroom and the shower. Plenty of hot water day and night. The rooms were very clean. WIFI-Internet worked fine most of the time (it was down for some time but it was probably due to the unreliability of internet providers in this part of Peru). The only thing that we thought needs improvement was the breakfast. We had the opportunity to chat with the new owner (since 1 year ago) and we were impressed by his commitment for improvement and the service standard that he has achieved. We can definitely recommend Hotel Sol Ollantay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JorgeRRR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Sol for three nights following a hunch that Ollaytantambo would be a nicer option than Aguas Calientes - and our gamble paid off as we were thrilled with the quaint village atmosphere of the town.

Hotel Sol provided us with an equally charming welcome, leading us to our room with a view of the river and ruins. Our room was neat & clean (if slightly basic), the only foible being the water wasn't fantastically hot, but the toasty warm bed made up for this! The location was perfect-10 minute walk to the train, 2 mins up the road/across the bridge to restaurants & 10 minutes to the ruins.

Would recommend this hotel for anyone who wants a welcoming experience but is also on a budget as the rooms were really well priced.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charlottenash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ollantaytambo hotels
0.1 mi away
La Casa del Abuelo
La Casa del Abuelo
#4 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
412 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Samanapaq
Hotel Samanapaq
#6 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
384 reviews
0.1 mi away
Intitambo Hotel
Intitambo Hotel
#3 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
#1 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
1,643 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal Iskay
Hostal Iskay
#2 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
264 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pakaritampu Hotel
Pakaritampu Hotel
#5 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sol

Address: Calle Ventiderio, Ollantaytambo 12345, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Ollantaytambo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Ollantaytambo
#4 Family Hotel in Ollantaytambo
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ollantaytambo
Price Range: $55 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sol 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently opened and newly built, Hotel Sol is an elegant boutique hotel in the center of Ollantaytambo, facing the ruins and directly alongside the Patacancha river. Ample sunny common areas, large rooms with modern baths, restaurant and wine bar, and impeccable customer service are the highlights of this perfectly located hotel. Free travel planning and advice for Machu Picchu included, we hope to see you soon ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sol Ollantaytambo, Peru - Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing