We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Sol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Sol
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Ollantaytambo
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at Hotel Sol during our Peru vacation in mid December 2011. Our family of 2 adults and one daughter aged 11 stayed in room 201 which was a large comfortable room with 2 beds. It overlooked a raging river and the ruins of Ollaytaytambo. The location couldn't have been better. It was in town so there were many restaurant choices and easy to see the other sites. The staff was excellent and very accommodating. We had to leave early one day so they packed a boxed breakfast since we were going to miss the sit down meal. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LR438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    131
    63
    20
    7
See reviews for
103
176
34
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Farmington, CT
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2011

Very convenient to the town square. Very
friendly and accommodating staff. Extremely good value for your money.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver island
Level Contributor
60 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2011

We stayed 4 nights in 204, which is the best room, since it has the largest balcony, has a double bed rather than 2 or 3 singles, and Ollanta is a good place to acclimatize to prepare for the higher elevation at Cusco. When not at Machu Pichu, the local ruins at Ollanta are great to explore, and there are very nice hikes to do up above the ruins on both sides of the valley. The staff at the hotel are super nice, and the location overlooking the small stream and the ruins is superb. It is just about 3 blocks from the train station, all uphill. Once acclimatized after a couple of days, the hill is nothing. First day or 2, you'll notice it. Nice restaurants in town.......just go with tripadvisor ratings.

Room Tip: Second floor balconies have the ultimate view of the stream and the ruins
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arturo36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2011

This B&B was hands down our favorite property of all places we stayed at in Peru. Having just arrived from a noisy hotel in Puno, the soothing sounds of the river were refreshing. The room was basic but had everything we needed. We had a nice view of the ruins from Room 204 and could have sat in the balcony for hours just reading and relaxing. The hot water took a few minutes to surface but we were warned of this issue and prepared for it. Breakfast was served in a nice area with glass walls all around. I wish we had stayed another night here and would heartily recommend it to anyone traveling to Ollantaytambo.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tripper28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, CA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2011

We stayed in this hotel a couple nights while visiting Ollantay. Our adult son also stayed in a separate room. We decided to stay at this hotel based on Trip Advisor reviews.

The good - The hotel is in a great location - a very short walk to the main plaza and a short walk to the ruins. The lobby and the common areas are very nice. Breakfast is included in the price. We stayed in a superior ruins view room (Room 204, I believe). This room was simply furnished and had a balcony with a couple lounge chairs so you could sit and look at the ruins/listen to the river below. The staff is very pleasant and helpful. The rooms are reasonably priced.

The bad - It kind of pains me to complain about this hotel because I really wanted to like it, but there were several things about it that weren't great.
-First, there was no mattress pad on the bed - just a sheet on top of a mattress which I find uncomfortable. I asked for a mattress pad, but they were unable to locate one so I ended up putting one of our blankets between the mattress and the sheet.
-Second, our son was put in a room with two beds - when he pulled back the sheets on one of the beds, there was a large sticky spot the size of a salad plate. I told the front desk about it and they quickly changed the sheets on both beds, apologized profusely and took 50% off the price of his room that night. I thought this was more than fair of them.
-Third, noise - I felt bad whenever I walked around our room because the floor squeeked pretty bad. Our son was on the first floor and said that the person in the room above woke him up at 5 am by walking around, packing suitcases, etc. I would recommend anyone staying here stay on an upper floor.
-Fourth, there were a number of small inconveniences such as no drinking glasses in the room, no TV, no alarm clock, very firm bed, WiFi that only works intermittently and a shower that took at least 10 minutes to get warm-ish water.
-Finally, the breakfast - They cook you eggs to order, but the only other things to eat was a little fruit, some kinda stale bread, a glass of juice and coffee. Of all the breakfasts I've had in Peruvian hotels, this was probably the most skimpy.

I would stay here again. However, I was a little disappointed after reading all the glowing reviews on TripAdvisor about the hotel.

Room Tip: Stay on the second floor. I highly recommend a room with a view of the ruins - preferably with a ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sweetflowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

We made last minute accommodations and enjoyed a great night's sleep. The staff was excellent, the room was nice, and breakfast was great.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2011

We stayed two nights in the Hotel Sol. We walked in and the rate was lower than booking on the internet. The hotel was comfortable, the view was magnificent - overlooking the ruins and the service was very good. Sergio - on the front desk - was very helpful.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ollantaytambo hotels
0.5 mi away
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
#1 of 19 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,492 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Samanapaq
Hotel Samanapaq
#6 of 19 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Casa del Abuelo
La Casa del Abuelo
#3 of 19 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Intitambo Hotel
Intitambo Hotel
#5 of 19 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal Iskay
Hostal Iskay
#2 of 19 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pakaritampu
Pakaritampu
#4 of 19 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sol

Property: Hotel Sol
Address: Calle Ventiderio, Ollantaytambo 12345, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Ollantaytambo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Ollantaytambo
#4 Family Hotel in Ollantaytambo
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ollantaytambo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sol 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently opened and newly built, Hotel Sol is an elegant boutique hotel in the center of Ollantaytambo, facing the ruins and directly alongside the Patacancha river. Ample sunny common areas, large rooms with modern baths, restaurant and wine bar, and impeccable customer service are the highlights of this perfectly located hotel. Free travel planning and advice for Machu Picchu included, we hope to see you soon ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sol Ollantaytambo, Peru - Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing