We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Favourite of ALL in Peru!”
Review of Casa de Wow!!!

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa de Wow!!!
Ranked #5 of 33 Ollantaytambo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Wow is right! Not only is Ollantaytambo our Favourite place in Peru, Casa de Wow was the nicest hostel we encountered the whole trip! The town has it's own Ancient Energetic Charm as the invaders didn't find it and 'civilize it' like they did with the rest of the country. Not only that, Wow being a descendant of the local Ancient Lineages makes for a true Peruvian experience not found anywhere else. They also supplied us with a trusted taxi driver to take us up into the mountains on the road less traveled to meet and experience life there first hand.
Highly Recommended!!!
Don and Jarka

Room Tip: Don't forget to check out the roof top view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WeRTrvlrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (246)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 246 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2014

We stayed at Casa de Wow for two nights and WOW!!! What a nice experience! Visiting Ollantaytambo was a pleasure and I will certainly go back to the town as well as to Casa de Wow.
Firstly, we met Roberto on the street while trying to find the place and he stopped doing was he was doing to accompany us to his house. A lovely man with a big heart. He does not speak English very much however, with the little bit of our Spanish we were able to communicate and make ourselves understood. We did not have a chance to meet Winn but we met Hugo who works at the house and speaks very good English. Upon arrival we were given a sheet with a town map and recommendations for places to eat, shop, go visit, etc. That was really much appreciated! We tried a few of the recommended places and they were all very good recommendations.
Secondly, the place itself is located on a pedestrian street facing the Ollantaytambo ruins! Perfect location unbelievebly beautiful and quiet at night. The house is very unique, nice and clean. From our room, we had a great view on the ruins. There is also a place on the roof which provides a 360 degree view on the area. Make sure Roberto explains to you the area and the meaning of the great mountains surrounding the place. Breakfast was nice and included coffee, bread, eggs and jam.
Thirdly, Ollantaytambo is a great town. Make sure you plan a few days while in the Sacred Valley. We only spent two days but I would definitely spend a few more.
I HIGHLY RECOMMEND staying at Casa de Wow and visiting Ollantaytambo! We will be back and will stay there again!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank Majivin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

The house itself is beautifully situated, the rooms are small but pleasant, the kitchen and common areas comodious.
My reservations are these....
I returned from Machu Picchu to find the door locked and had another guest not been present to let me in, I don't know what I would have done that night. (I in turn then let in another group of guests an hour later.)
Secondly, the person whom I believe to be the owner smelled of alcohol on two occasions and made me feel slightly uncomfortable.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lukalli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

three of us stayed here for one night- this was probably may favourite place of our whole trip in South America! Lovely quiet are with views over river and ruins, and the hostel had so much character. The novelty of the beds was great, all handmade from tree trunks. Breakfast was the usual bread and jam but we got eggs as well which is something we didn't always get so was a bonus!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ceri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

This place was definitely a great start for my husband's and my trip in Peru. The rooms are comfortable and cozy, giving a feel of the area. Wow hand made the beds in all of the rooms and there was a lot of decorations that set the tone (e.g. dream catchers). We had a room with a private bathroom. This is not a 5 star hotel, but more along the lines of a fantastic hostel at a great price. There were great views from the top out of a widow's peak - you could see the ruins of Ollantaytambo. We ended up staying here for two nights instead of the one night we originally planned.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

This place is magical! It was easily my favorite place to stay during my 6 week trip in Peru. I'll never forget laying in bed looking out my window and seeing a star filled night above the Ollantaytambo ruins with the sounds of water rushing by.

The owners are super nice and will cook you breakfast in the morning!

Room Tip: Get the single room if you can. It's the best room in the house with the best views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

First thing you have to know: casa de wow! is not a three star hotel, and the price is accordingly low and very affordable. Bathrooms are shared, and there is one bathroom for each floor (3-4 rooms). But this is such a fantastic place. The rooms are really artistic and cozy. The owner is incredible friendly, and very helpful – it might be very handy if you speak Spanish, his English is very basic. The breakfast is great. And if you have a front side room, you will have a nice view on the Ollanta ruins! The only negative point for me were the thin curtains, combined by street lightning in front of our room, making it difficult to sleep with a lot of light. I doubt you can find better in this price range, so if you travel on a budget don’t hesitate and sleep here!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geographtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ollantaytambo hotels
0.2 mi away
La Casa del Abuelo
La Casa del Abuelo
#3 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
419 reviews
0.6 mi away
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
#1 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
1,719 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal Iskay
Hostal Iskay
#2 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Intitambo Hotel
Intitambo Hotel
#5 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
199 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pacha Kusi Hostel + More
Pacha Kusi Hostel + More
#4 of 33 in Ollantaytambo
68 reviews
0.2 mi away
Janaxpacha Hostel
Janaxpacha Hostel
#1 of 53 in Ollantaytambo
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de Wow!!!? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Wow!!!

Address: Calle Patacalle, Ollantaytambo 08471, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Ollantaytambo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Ollantaytambo
Price Range: $16 - $40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best of Both Worlds is what you get at Casa de Wow!!! Created by Winn and Wow - a North American woman (Atlanta, GA & Asheville, NC) and a South American man (Ollantaytambo) - one might call Casa de Wow!!! a cultural bridge providing its guests with a unique and enriching experience. The comfort and luxuries of the North are combined with the relaxed down-to-earth atmosphere of Peru, in particular the tranquility of Ollantaytambo and the creativity of Wow, who is an incredible artist (thus the nickname).So come join us..... and relax, as you sit atop our eucalyptus benches listening to the running waters of the Inkan aqueducts while you marvel at the stunning view of the ancient Inkan monuments. The location of our Casa is ideally situated on a cobblestone pedestrian street in the "old town" section of Ollantaytambo, just five minutes from the Plaza and all attractions. In the morning, enjoy a tasty breakfast including local organic jams. During the day, we'd be happy to help you organize unique excursions to magical local sites that are off the beaten path. In the evening, enjoy a cup of warm tea from our kitchen, watch a DVD in our cozy living room or gaze at the stars from our rooftop nook. Finally, retire to our beautiful and traditional Wow-crafted beds for a good night's sleep. Once you've stayed with us you will know why we're called "Casa de Wow!!!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Casa de Wow!!! reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De Wow!!! Hotel Ollantaytambo
Casa De Wow!!! Ollantaytambo, Peru - Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing